On Being a Big Sister

1 Sep

 

Today my brother is 22.

That means that 22 years ago I was staring at him while he slept, holding him while I sat on the couch, and doing my best to be a doting big sister at the ripe age of five years old.

That also means that 22 years ago one of my best friends entered into my life; it has taken us quite a few fights, straight up conversations and bonding time to get where we are but I wouldn’t change any of it for the world.

Being a big sister has taught me patience, to be a good role model, how to screen girlfriend-want-to-bes for my brother, all about tattoos and piercings, that I’d go to the ends of the earth for my sibling, how to be a good babysitter, that New Year’s Eve will forever be associated with watching Grease and eating pizza (a ritual of ours for years, even though my brother doesn’t remember), that the Mary Martin version of Peter Pan is the best forever and always. It’s taught me unconditional love, allowed me to understand (kind of) the way men think and that no matter what, brothers are always there for you, even when you least expect it.

This weekend he’ll be coming home and though I have no idea what the plan is yet, I know we’ll have laughs, beers, classic brother/sister time, he’ll teach me something new just like he does every time he comes home, and I’ll bug him incessantly by asking for a hug every time he walks into the room.

I love you, CR!

******
I’m looking for one more present for my brother for his birthday so if you have any suggestions, let me know! Feel free to share stories about your siblings with me too.

22 Responses to “On Being a Big Sister”

  1. Becky September 1, 2010 at 6:07 am #

    What a sweet sweet post! Happy Birthday to your brother!!! :)

  2. mandy September 1, 2010 at 8:04 am #

    Happy Birthday to your brother!! I am so glad that you have a close relationship with your sibling. I adore my brother the same way you adore yours and I’m so thankful to have a brother.

  3. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair September 1, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    Your brother is such a cutie :P

    Have a great weekend with him! I love hearing about your guys relationship!

  4. Kim September 1, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    What a sweet tribute. I’m sure he’ll love this.

  5. Maddy September 1, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    Happy Bday to your brother :) Brothers are so much fun!! Mine is 15 years my junior, so he’s more like my kid, but I wouldn’t have it any other way :)

  6. Kyla Roma September 1, 2010 at 11:00 am #

    Happy birthday to your brother! I think you’re an amazing sister, he’s so lucky to have you!! :)

  7. MASHley September 1, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    ash – happy birthday to your brother. sounds like you have a great weekend ahead. as for presents for brothers….. no idea. i only have a sister.

  8. Megan September 1, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    Aww, my sister’s birthday is today, too! She’s twenty. I love being an older sister. :)

    Happy birthday to your brother!

  9. Habbala September 1, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    So wonderful. I love you and your brother’s relationship a lot. I love how much you love on him. You’re amazing.

  10. Amanda September 1, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    Nora you are so sweet. I don’t have any good gift ideas, but I share similar sentiments towards my younger brother. I’m 5 years older than him as well and I remember being a very “helpful” big sister when he was born. I have a younger sister wedged in there as well, and I’m afraid when she was born and I was only 2, I wasn’t quite as happy about it… irate would probably be a better description.

  11. Alesia September 1, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    He’s adorable. Wait… is 22 too old to be considered adorable?

  12. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks September 1, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    What a great tribute to someone who clearly has great meaning to you. Personally, I think experiences make a great gift (if he isn’t jonsing for something in particular). Dinner at a fabulous restaurant. A concert. A trip to the top of the Arch (best birthday party ever!). =)

  13. Suburban Sweetheart September 1, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    Love this. He’s a lucky guy to have you as a big sister. When I was a kid I loved being an only child, but the older I get, the more I wish I had siblings… Happy birthday to yours!

  14. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns September 1, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    Aw, what a sweet post! I love how close you two are. I think that is one difference of having multiple siblings v. a smaller family. Those with fewer siblings tend to have a strong bond. What a great tribute to C! You guys really resemble each other!

    Today is my oldest brother’s birthday! C is 10 years older than me, so for awhile there, he felt like more of an uncle than a brother since he was already out of the house by the time I was really getting to be independent/have a strong personality/etc. Then he was in Chicago when I was in high school & college when he moved to Chicago and I only really saw him maybe twice a year. But in the last couple of years, we have gotten much closer. So much so that he knew about the Dog Whisperer pretty much before anyone else in my family did. (when things were going well…) I try to go to Chicago to visit them once a year and that has really helped us grow closer. And who knows, maybe some day we’ll be *really* close if I move to Chicago!!!

    Have fun w/ your bro this weekend!! I am always a fan of ‘favorite things’ gifts… Like their favorite candy, beverages, snacks, etc…

  15. E.P. September 1, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

    Such a sweet post, friend! And isn’t having a sibling wonderful? This post makes me think of my sister, too, and it makes me smile. They make wonderful friends.. after you get through the dramatic teenage years.

  16. Lo September 1, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

    That is such a sweet post! I also love the Mary Martin version of Peter Pan… I still remember all of the Easter commercials from when my mom taped it.

  17. Elizabeth September 1, 2010 at 10:30 pm #

    This is wonderfully sweet! I love being a big sister to both of my siblings, even if I’m sometimes at a loss for how to connect with them. There are so many special moments.

  18. Emily Jane September 2, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    Beautiful post, he’s very lucky to have you for a big sister :)

    Happy birthday to your brother – as for a gift, I’d get something he can build a memory from – so he’ll have the physical gifts as well as mental ones, too. Maybe a fancy dinner, a night out somewhere to a show – something like that?

  19. Nicole @LaughOutLoud September 3, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    Aww! I love this! Being a big sister is USUALLY one of my favorite things, I love my brother and sister. Just every once in awhile I wish they would “take care of me” more. haha. ;)

  20. Margarita September 3, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

    Aww, that is so super cute! You have a handsome little brother!

  21. Stephany September 3, 2010 at 8:23 pm #

    Aw, happy birthday to your brother! I have an older one (by just 14 months!) and we really are the best of friends. He’s really helped me out these past few years, after years and years of fighting like cats & dogs! Hehe. :)

  22. CLo September 8, 2010 at 1:21 am #

    Yes, it was a great weekend. Still shocked you went all out on the Tim Kasher package. One of the coolest gifts ever.

    Memorable weekend, too. Just checked my calendar and the weekend you all are visiting is MU’s official “Family Weekend.”

    And dude, what the hell am I supposed to post on your birthday? “Yay, I’ve been a pest to my sister for 22 of her 27 years!”

    Thanks to all you ladies for the nice comments.

    Love.

Leave a Reply

