Lessons Learned on a Girls’ Weekend

3 Sep

Things Learned on a lovely girls’ weekend in Minneapolis…

… the merits of dating older men (they die faster), that it’s possible to move your shoulders in three different directions and look awesome while doing it, and that if you want to hold a chicken, you just have to be confident.

… you are never too old to go to an all children’s bookstore. Ever.

Lisa makes a damn good margarita. Kyla brings the tastiest treats (ketchup potato chips!!). Mandy’s laughter is totally contagious.

… Oreo ice cream is the best invention known to man. That is until you try a cheese curd and Sweet Martha’s Cookies at the State Fair. Then those become the best inventions known to man.

… French Gypsy Calypso Jazz is rather catchy.

… laughing until your sides hurt is one of the many benefits of having friends who truly get you.

… Music Bingo is a fabulous invention and probably my new favorite game.

… two-story Targets are incredibly impressive but sadly they do not have chocolate animal crackers.

… the view from the top of the Guthrie Theater is gorgeous, the Farmer’s Market smells of nature and goodness, and Minneapolis is far more progressive than STL.

… Listening to “Let It Be” performed live under the stars, standing next to three fabulous women, tears are going to fall, possibly from your own eyes. Moments like this remind you that life is really good.

… soaking up the moment and really living is so freeing, so worth it.

… the moment you get home, you’ll want to turn around and do it all over again.

 

22 Responses to “Lessons Learned on a Girls’ Weekend”

  1. Becky September 3, 2010 at 5:54 am #

    Ah, so wish I could have been there. But I think I made a guest appearance with that phone picture? :) So glad you all had such an amazing time!

  2. hannahkaty September 3, 2010 at 7:47 am #

    Love love love this. And I have missed you so. Looks like a great weekend, and Oreo ice cream is undeniably the best.

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

  3. Megan September 3, 2010 at 7:51 am #

    What an amazing trip!

  4. AshleyD September 3, 2010 at 8:00 am #

    I love this so much. Beautiful girls. Totally agree about oreo ice cream… haven’t tried the others, but they’re on my to-try list. :)

  5. ashleyTIA September 3, 2010 at 8:13 am #

    <3 Wow! Looks like so much fun! What a perfect way to relax and reflect on the summer months.

  6. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair September 3, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    I LOVE that Kyla brought you guys ketchup potato chips!!!

    YAY for more fabulous pictures of you ladies :)

  7. Manderz September 3, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    This sounds like such a fabulous weekend. And if you do a repeat next year, I totally want to come!

  8. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks September 3, 2010 at 3:52 pm #

    Cheese curds are so scrumptiously good. Did you know that when they’re super duper fresh, they squeak as you chew them? True!

    Oreo ice cream rocks, and seriously rocks when turned into a milk shake at Potbelly’s … yummy!

    Looks like you had an absolutely lovely weekend with a group of marvelous women. Hooray!

  9. Stephany September 3, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    It looks like such a fun weekend!

    I’ve never seen a two-story Target but I imagine that would be heaven for me. ;)

  10. mandy September 3, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

    I love all these photos! Especially the one of us talking to Becky! And yes, I sort of wanted cheese curds and sweet martha’s cookies for dinner. Love you! I would like to repeat last weekend stat.

  11. Suburban Sweetheart September 3, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    What fun! And ketchup chips are so very Canadian. :)

  12. Aly @ Breathe Gently September 4, 2010 at 8:03 am #

    Looks like a fabulous trip! I always make my Canadian friends bring me ketchup chips – they are brilliant! x

  13. Kyla Roma September 4, 2010 at 9:29 am #

    I love how you captured the weekend Nora, I wish we could do this every weekend <3

  14. Richard September 4, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

    MN is a great town. And you are a great writer. Happy Labor Day. I feel like I know you!

  15. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns September 5, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

    Aw, this was the perfect recap!! You did such a good job of summing up and capturing the magic of the weekend!!

    It was def a priceless weekend!! Can’t wait to see you ladies again!!!!!

  16. Margarita September 6, 2010 at 10:43 am #

    OMG this looks so amazing and fun!! I’m major jealous of all the fun times you guys had!

  17. Jessica September 6, 2010 at 9:37 pm #

    Ha ha, it sounds like you ladies all solved world problems. Hilarious key learnings from the trip. And yes, I would absolutely get back on that plane to head back there too!

  18. Emily Jane September 7, 2010 at 8:14 am #

    Looks like a wonderfully fun time! I just had a blogger girls weekend of my own, and it was tonnes of fun… now why can’t we all live in the same place? :)

  19. ashalah September 7, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    Sounds like a wonderful weekend! I love cheese curds, was introduced to them by one of my Michigan friends who spent a lot of time in Wisconsin. Mmmm…

    I wish we all lived in the same place so we could have these types of meetups all the time (and I could go too!) :)

  20. Mel September 8, 2010 at 12:08 am #

    Looks like so much fun and I love love LOOOVE the pics! Did you edit them (especially the last four) or did they just have that retro/fuzzy/dreamy quality in real life? Either way, I’m a big fan! :o)

  21. Maddy September 8, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    Sounds like an awesome girls weekend!! I’m in desperate need of one of those! And there are some perks to dating older men, but it really depends how much older. I went on a date with a 60yr old once (albeit an ex football player in great shape), but what a mistake! I was embarrassed the entire time! No way would I ever recommend going that “old”!

  22. E.P. September 12, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    That sounds like the absolute BEST weekend! So glad you girls got the chance to go and meet up in Minneapolis!

Leave a Reply

