My Butterfly

8 Sep

I stumbled upon this quote the other day and the more I thought about it, the more it resonates with me.

I’ve spent the last few months making myself finish graduate school (six weeks and counting), setting positive goals for myself with regards to my health and fitness (thank you 10K training), examined my life, reunited with friends and made new ones and a plethora of other “normal” activities. Nothing crazy. No wondering when certain events will take place. No pressuring myself into things I’m not quite ready for.

When I look at what I’ve done day in and day out it is simply this: I’ve Lived.

In that living, the daily grind, the day-to-day ups and downs, I’ve realized I’m happier than I’ve been in a long time.

I want to bottle up this feeling and store it away for a day where I’m feeling blue. Or better yet, never let it go.

14 Responses to “My Butterfly”

  1. Becky September 8, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    Yes yes yes! Love this!

  2. Habbala September 8, 2010 at 4:44 pm #

    I love you.

  3. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair September 8, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

    This post makes me so happy because I feel the EXACT. SAME. WAY. lately! <3

  4. mandy September 8, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

    Love this. Love you. Love that you’ve been happy. I want to bottle that feeling up too. Sometimes we look so long for one big thing, we fail to realize that the little day to day stuff is what truly makes life great.

  5. Kyla Roma September 9, 2010 at 8:02 am #

    Love, love, love this!

    I think that feeling will only increase when you’re finished school- that you’ve found this while you’re still in the thick of your classes means (IMO) that you’ve probably developed super powers :)

  6. Megan September 9, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    Love this post! I agree with the quote. When I get caught up in actually LIVING my life, I’m so full of happiness.

  7. Matt September 9, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

    I like this. it kind of contradicts my whole “pursuit of happiness” lifestyle but I like it.

    You see, I try to actively pursue my happiness and so far, in life, its worked but there is something to be said about finding happiness in the small things. The things you dont plan for. The things that just happen that you have to be grateful for.

    Longest comment by me ever.

  8. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns September 9, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    My mom once sent me this article about happiness. It basically said – ‘do you want to be more happy? Then stop thinking about it!’ I thought I kept it and I tried to find it last year but I must have thrown it away. It made a good point, though. Sometimes we just have to keep putting one foot in front of the other – and eventually, we will realize that we are actually happy. I remember after my break up with Ryan in 2008, I went through a very difficult time, but one day I was having lunch w/ some girlfriends, and I realized that i was WAY happier than I had been towards the end of the relationship. It was a moment of epiphany and I realized that being single was WAY better than being in an unfulfilling relationship… I love those moments of clarity! I’m sort of muddling through trying to figure things out now, but am hopeful that soon, I will wake up and once again feel like I am so happy with how my life is going…

  9. Ashley September 9, 2010 at 11:19 pm #

    I had this kind of realization several years ago. It was like I was miserable, miserable, miserable, and then one day I looked up and realized I was finally happy. And, it’s strange, because holding onto it isn’t that hard. Even when I go through difficult times, I still have this happiness in me that I didn’t before. Very glad to hear you’re doing well. :)

  10. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks September 10, 2010 at 8:06 am #

    It makes my heart sing to know you’re out there living. Enjoying. Appreciating. Because, if you can’t find fulfillment int he little things, then what are you left with?!

  11. E.P. September 12, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    I love this for you! What an incredible feeling and what an amazing thing to KNOW, really know, you are so happy and you’re making it and you are GOOD. SO happy for you, lovely.

  12. Margarita September 13, 2010 at 12:27 am #

    I adore this quote, it’s wonderful. And it’s very true. Thank you for sharing it :)

  13. suki @ [Super Duper Fantastic] September 13, 2010 at 1:59 am #

    There’s another version of this quote floating around by Nathaniel Hawthorne who was alive around the same time. I’m curious to know who said it first b/c that is one of my favorite quotes. :)

  14. Mel September 15, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    So true – I definitely need to get better at this again… I think I used to feel that way and live that way, but somewhere along the way, the message got confused and I was tempted by the bright colors of the butterfly wings! :o)

Leave a Reply

