Grace in Small Things: The Revival

9 Sep

A long, long time ago I did a weekly post on Grace in Small Things so I wouldn’t overlook all the good in my life. Today I feel like bringing it back.

* A note left on my desk by a client telling me to have a great day. (Things have been a little stressful at the office as of late.)

* Hot chocolate which especially hits the spot when the office you work in feels like a meat freezer.

* Spending a night at Barnes & Noble plowing through my school reading and maybe treating myself to a (cheap) book as a reward. Studying at home is well and good but a few days into the week and I just need a change of scenery. Bonus for cute guys who work at Barnes & Noble.

* Jack cuddles. Enough said.

* Treating myself to 30 minutes of “fun reading” time each evening before bed time. It’s easy for me to get overloaded with school and work stuff after hours so setting this time aside is super important to me.

* e-mails from old friends.

* My facebook wall feed which lately is one giant “I had a baby!” announcement. The sweet baby faces and the joy in my friends’ eyes is sure to bring a smile to my face every single time.

Tell me what some of your Grace in Small Things are these days?

18 Responses to “Grace in Small Things: The Revival”

  1. Becky September 9, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    Oh LOVE this! I’m thankful for the grace of working with extraordinary people – two different co-workers brought me something from their trips last week, and Ben’s boss is proving more and more to be an amazing, compassionate and fun woman! I couldn’t be happier about that!

  2. Tabitha September 9, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    Ooh, hot chocolate sounds so good right now. I had a fruit smoothie for breakfast, and it froze me to the CORE. I’ve been shivering for two hours! :-P Also love that you revived GiST! I think those were the first things I ever read on your blog, and probably made me keep coming back in the very beginning!

  3. Stephany September 9, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    I covet fun reading time as well. Lately, I’ve been turning everything off and getting ready for bed around 9pm, which gives me a good 20-30 minutes to read and relax before shutting off the lights. Love it!

  4. jen September 9, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    the touch of fall in the air!

  5. Elizabeth September 9, 2010 at 6:23 pm #

    Is it ridiculous that it’s 95 degrees here, but hot chocolate sounds amazing?

    I’m thrilled to be feeling the baby on a regular basis and to have heard the heartbeat again this morning AND for Monday to come so I can FINALLY find out what he/she is!

  6. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair September 9, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    My grace in small things was definitely today! I was overwhelmed by BBM’s, texts, emails, facebook posts, tweets, phone calls etc to wish me a happy birthday and over half of the people who contacted me were amazing people I have met through blogging! I love that I have SO MANY amazing people in my life, a bunch of them that I’ve never even met :-)

  7. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns September 9, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

    1. Drinking my first pumpking spice latte.
    2. Hugs from my nephews and hearing them say they love me/miss me.
    3. Running around Lake Harriet when the water is like glass and the sun is setting.

    There really are so many things to appreciate and be thankful for! I love these posts because they force me to stop and think about the little things in life that I appreciate!

  8. Maddy September 9, 2010 at 9:19 pm #

    When the hubby prepares warm waffles with a touch of butter and syrup in every nook! Lol! I know that’s very specific, but man are those waffles delicious!

  9. oh September 9, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    having you invite me to walk the dogs together each night is one small (huge) thing – !!!

  10. Jessica September 9, 2010 at 10:27 pm #

    i love that you’re doing the 30 minutes of non-school, work, etc. reading before bed. I’m trying to do that too and I feel so more relaxed before I go to bed. And, the client who left you that note is super sweet. What a great client!

  11. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks September 10, 2010 at 8:08 am #

    Thank you for resurrecting this series. And funny enough, I feel like I have a similar Facebook feed … =)

  12. Emily Jane September 10, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

    I love this series. It can do wonders to take the time to appreciate things, especially when days or weeks can be kinda crummy. I’m glad you make sure to schedule you-time as well as obligations – I know I have the tendency to do and do and do and never find time for something just for me, like your 30 minutes of reading. I think you’ve inspired me to try that next week – I have a Harry Potter series to finish, after all!

  13. mandy September 10, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

    I always enjoyed this series, I’m glad that you’re bringing it back. Its always so important to appreciate the small things. =)

  14. Ashley September 10, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

    I love your 30 minutes of fun reading time. I should start doing that one. I had so much time to read over the summer and suddenly I have none. And yet there are two books sitting in my bedroom that I’m dying to read.

  15. Kyla Roma September 11, 2010 at 8:48 am #

    I love this series, hot sweet drinks in a cold office are perfection- I’m convinced! :)

    My grace in small things is seeing this city through new eyes, it’s a really cool experience to be showing around someone who’s never been here!

  16. E.P. September 12, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    I love that you’re reviving this. I should do that, too.

    And notes from clients or co-workers? They make every day a little better. So does hot chocolate or hot coffee in a freezing office.

  17. Suburban Sweetheart September 12, 2010 at 8:47 pm #

    Snail mail letters from friends. Vintage jewelry stores. A good brunch. “Vampire Diaries.” Country roads.

  18. RL September 15, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    Grace in small things?: The look of the MO sky when summer overlays with autumn, the slow drop of the leaves of late summer into my swimming pool, the new feathers on the young male cardinals, hearing an old Cat Stevens song for the 1st time in many years- ” Look at me: I am old, but I’m happy”. The wag of my ancient beagle’s tail when I go into the cheese compartment of my fridge….the unflagging beauty of my wife of 30 years and the sprint glint in my 26 year old daughter’s eyes as she finds her unique voice on this crazy planet. Rave over…..

Leave a Reply

