Cheers! (aka Tales of Bar Crawl & Lessons Learned)

13 Sep

This past weekend I embarked on a charity bar crawl: Five Bars. Three pitchers per bar, split among seven friends. One hour at each bar.

We dashed in between rain drops to get to the second bar. Thankfully looked to the sky when the sun came out. Played card games (aka drinking games) at one of the bars. Declared that next year we would wear wigs as part of our team uniform. Shared high fives with other teams on the street because they liked our gray shirts. Reminisced about high school, college and birthday parties past. Took a shot (or two) of some new purple vodka, which tastes a lot like children’s medicine.

(Above:  Me and two of my very best friends from high school)

We sang Journey. We ate greasy bar food. We (well, me, since my gal friends were with their husbands) scoped out the cute guys that were on the bar crawl. We sang the Star Spangled Banner at one of the bars in honor of our country and 9/11. I ran into friends from college that I haven’t seen in years and made promises to see them sooner rather than later.

The day ended a bit abruptly with a teammate declaring he was more than ready to go home, at which point I was tasked with grabbing lots of water and bags for the car ride home, “just in case.” Moments later, one of my other teammates manage to spill water all over me, leaving me with a soaked, really cold pair of jeans in the most inopportune spot for the 30 minute car ride home.

A few lessons learned/reminders from Saturday’s event:

* There are so many causes and charities that need support; this was a new event for me and I can’t wait to get involved with more volunteering and charities after October 15th!
* I have amazing friends and as soon as grad school is done I will be spending a lot more time with them. They feel like home to me, even after 13 + years.
* If I want to see cute boys I have to go to Soulard. They are always there, without fail.
* StL is a scarily small world. You’ll always run into someone you know.
* I can drink all day and be totally fine but apparently when I stop drinking there is trouble. Suffice to say I forgot how much I hate hangovers. Thank goodness for water, goldfish crackers and greasy food the next day.

Any bar crawl stories you have to share or lessons learned from your weekend?

19 Responses to “Cheers! (aka Tales of Bar Crawl & Lessons Learned)”

  1. Becky September 13, 2010 at 6:19 am #

    I think it’s awesome that a charity came up with the idea of doing a bar crawl – what a new and different (and fun!) way to raise money!

  2. Jess September 13, 2010 at 6:40 am #

    A bar crawl? For charity? It’s like the best of everything. Drink for other people!! Yay!

    And I hate being hungover too. Which is why I never drink that much anymore. I will remember the hangover forever.

  3. pinkflipflops September 13, 2010 at 8:28 am #

    Sounds like a great Saturday to me!

  4. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair September 13, 2010 at 8:39 am #

    I have never been on a bar or pub crawl!!! I know, right?! I don’t know how I made it through 4 years of college without one but somehow I did!

    Your night sounds super fun!!!

  5. Heather September 13, 2010 at 9:38 am #

    A bar crawl for charity sounds like a fun and interesting way to raise money. You get drunk and charities get money. Win win, I say. Glad you had a good time. Yeah, hangovers are no fun :(

  6. Maddy September 13, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    How cool?! You know, I’ve never been on a pub crawl! I was underage the entire time in college and I just never got around to it since. I think I’m going to insist on one for my bday in October :) Glad you had fun and I’m glad you were able to raise money for a good cause!

  7. phampants September 13, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    3 pitchers per bar per hour? I’m throwing in the towel right now. And here I thought I should be proud by out drinking 3 college students this weekend.

  8. Elizabeth September 13, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

    What a weekend! I don’t know that I can drink that much in one day, ever, but it sounds like a blast!

  9. Jessica September 13, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

    Sounds like a great weekend! Sang Journey and ate greasy bar food? Those are my favorite things to do!

  10. SillyJaime | Jaime 2.0 September 13, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

    I’ve never been on a Pub Crawl, but my friend tried to get me to go on one once.

  11. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns September 13, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

    Wow, that sounds like such a fun time! I LOVED getting your updates throughout the day on Saturday. Sounds like an amazing time!

    I have only been on one bar crawl – it was in Melbourne, Australia, actually. It was a fun way to see the city and meet people. Not sure why I haven’t done one since!

  12. Aimee September 13, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

    Hey – is one of your friends named Kristin and teaches Kindergarten? It’s kind of hard to tell in the picture, but one of your friends sure looks like someone who teaches at my school!

  13. AshleyD September 13, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    I’m glad you had a fun day… even if it led to feeling awful. Maybe only one pitcher next time?

  14. mandy September 13, 2010 at 10:07 pm #

    Nothing like a good bar crawl every once in a while. I haven’t been on one in ages, but I love that it was a way to raise money for a charity.

  15. Suburban Sweetheart September 13, 2010 at 10:49 pm #

    Oof, I cannot day-drink at ALL. But way to go on drinking for charity. Fun!

  16. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks September 14, 2010 at 7:05 am #

    Let me tell you … I thought being in my 30s did a number on my tolerance. Well, apparently getting pregnant really does a number on you. Not that I even drink now. But, take a couple sips of Sweets’ beer and the next morning I’m feeling it. Awesomesauce. Ha.

    Glad you had such a fabulous time … seems to me, it was well worth the hangover. =)

  17. Kyla Roma September 14, 2010 at 7:51 am #

    This sounds like a crazy time out, no wonder you were hurting Nora!

    I think I would be up for more charity events if they were a little more like that & a little less black tie :)

  18. ashalah September 14, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    That sounds like so much fun! I love that it was for charity too :) Great way to get people involved.

  19. Dream in Grey September 14, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    Charity bar crawl is a brilliant idea and fun for loads of different types of people – brilliant (Hi, new reader here)

Leave a Reply

