Ten on Tuesday: The Travel Edition

14 Sep

1. Favorite way to travel (plane, train, automobile, etc.)
I am sadly not a fan of traveling by plane but I will do it if I must and once I’m in the air I’m ok. I think that if trains were a more viable option in the States, I’d be all about it. Otherwise, I’m always up for a good road trip.

2. Where’s your favorite place to travel to that you’ve been to?
Florida, hands down. Palm trees. Fruity drinks. The ocean. Sand. Far and away my favorite place.

3. Where’s the place that you want to go but have never been?
Italy. Greece. Paris. Alaska. Prince Edward Island. (There’s a family trip to Italy in the works for 2011 and I’m super excited. I may try to steal extra time and go backpacking through France/Switzerland/Spain with my brother before he starts his post-college life.)

4. Do you deal with traffic well?
95% of the time I do. The other 5% I’m like a sailor: cursing, shouting, flipping people off.

5. Ever had an emergency while traveling?
Yes, unfortunately. Spring break when I was in 8th grade, my grandfather passed away suddenly. I was in North Carolina with the family so we drove to Upstate NY for the funeral. It was the worst spring break ever.

Sixth grade camp, which maybe counts as traveling, I broke my ankle in three different places and my parents had to come pick me up in the middle of the night.

6. Do you have a passport? What countries have you been to?
Yes, I do. England twice. Canada twice. That’s all so far, since the islands I’ve been to are US territories/protectorates.

7. Are you’ve light packer or do you pack everything but the kitchen sink?
Depends on where I’m going. If it’s a place I’ve already been, I’m a pretty light packer. However, girls’ trips and new cities/countries I tend to overpack.

8. Do you take the fastest route or the road less traveled?
Going: the fastest route.
Coming home: the road less traveled.

9. Do any activities on the road? (like road games, reading, sleeping, etc. )
I always have books and crossword puzzle books on hand, plus my Nintendo DSi. If I’m on a road trip, I’ll do road games! Oh, and sleeping on long road trips is a given.

10. Use a paper map or GPS?
Google maps! I just got a GPS a few months ago but I try not to use it too much.

15 Responses to “Ten on Tuesday: The Travel Edition”

  1. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks September 14, 2010 at 6:59 am #

    Road trips to Chicago are absolutely the best. It’s even fun to visit this city by plane and train (and someday, the high speed train!). Just saying … =)

  2. Kyla Roma September 14, 2010 at 7:34 am #

    I would love to go on a long train ride just to have that experience, I wish they were more viable too :)

  3. Megan September 14, 2010 at 7:42 am #

    I’m not a huge fan of planes either. (I prefer roadtrips in the car.) The last time I was on a plane was about four years ago when my family went to Vegas for my aunt’s wedding. Before that, I hadn’t flown since my dad was in the army when I was a toddler. Once I get in the air, I’m okay, but there’s anxiety leading up to the point.

    Um, definitely jealous about Italy!

  4. mandy September 14, 2010 at 8:04 am #

    You know I am totally a roadtrip gal myself! Its just such a fun way to travel and see the sights. Growing up we always seemed to take the road less traveled. I was too young to appreciate the scenic view but theres nothing like driving the road less taken. =)

  5. Becky September 14, 2010 at 8:41 am #

    I wish trains were more of an option in the U.S. as well!

  6. phampants September 14, 2010 at 9:04 am #

    LOVE your 5%. =P

    Personally, I LOVE flying. I love European trains, but American trains can suck it. Not a huge fan of driving.

  7. Akirah September 14, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    Sigh. And now I wanna go somewhere. I don’t like flying either…but I like the idea of flying somewhere new. Like, being on the plane creeps me out, but when I think about getting somewhere warm and sunny and awesome, I get really pumped.

  8. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair September 14, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    YES! You MUST steal extra time and go backpacking with your brother! Seriously!

    This was such a fun version of 10 on Tuesday!

  9. Kim September 14, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    Google maps is a complete and utter life saver. Without it, we would have been lost in Queens on the way back to LaGuardia this weekend.

  10. Maddy September 14, 2010 at 10:46 am #

    I Wish I could do more traveling too! But Greece is in the works for June 2011 :) And I really hope you get to backpack with your brother! That sounds like it would be a lot of fun! It’s definitely on my bucket list!

  11. Tabitha September 14, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

    I definitely want to visit Florida someday! It sounds delightful. Oh, and let’s make sure we go on a road trip together so we can play fun car games! :)

  12. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns September 14, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

    Wow, you have had some unfortunate travel emergencies…

    I can’t believe you don’t use your GPS more! I rely on mine so much – which is great as long as I am not in ‘lakes country’. ;) It was def a great Christmas present from my parents.

  13. Elizabeth September 14, 2010 at 11:42 pm #

    Travel is addictive. I’m not a huge fan of roadtrips, but I seem to take an inordinate amount of them! Being there, where ever there is, is so worth the drive usually though.

  14. Grace September 15, 2010 at 1:04 am #

    Trains are fun but for long distance travel I prefer planes. I wish I could get more direct flights though. I also love road trips, especially with friends. Also, Florida is so much fun! It’s my favorite place to visit too.

  15. ria September 15, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

    i don’t know what i did without my phone and google maps! it helps so much when you take a wrong turn! i love road trips :)

Leave a Reply

