Idle Hands

16 Sep

So there’s the old saying that Idle Hands are the devil’s playground. (Also, Idle Hands is the name of a super ridiculous movie from 1999 which I wound up working into a paper in undergrad for my English Essay writing class because the professor was a total scifi freak. That has nothing to do with this post at all actually…) When my hands/social calendar/personal calendar are idle and empty I just get really bored.

Over the course of the last few weeks several of my friends and family members have asked me just what I intend to do come October 15th (well likely October 12th if I have my way) when school is officially over.

My first reaction? A big, fat nothing. As in come home after work, get in a workout and then literally laze about from couch to bed back to couch with books in hands and DVDs by my side. I will be taking book + movie recommendations when the time comes.

However, that will only fly for the first week or two after school is done. Then I’ll want to be busy again with something. I’m rarely sitting still. I thrive on a busy schedule both socially, professionally, personally. So on the short list (I know, I know, I should give myself some time to relax but I’m a list girl. It’s part of who I am), in no particular order:

* Take tennis lessons again.
* Get involved with the local USO if they’ll have me, or another equally awesome charity.
* Find another 10k to train for preferably in December.
* Organize my recipe magazines + recipe binder and then bake/cook up a storm.
* Send more snail mail!
* Spend one entire Saturday in bed reading a book (I think this will be repeated often throughout the winter months).
* Tackle a few of those 30 before 30 items (which reminds me I have an update to share on that list soon!)

But first I must endure less than 25 days of books, notes, case studies, group work, discussion questions. I can’t quite fathom that I’ll have my M.B.A.  (with honors most likely). When I can fathom it I realize that it’s kind of freakin’ awesome.

(Also for all of my lovely readers and friends who have been here thoughout my life journey so far something for you: There will be a giveaway when school is all said and done (likely the week of October 10th) as a thank you for all your support, encouragement and believing in me when I thought I couldn’t do it. )

What about you friends: after you accomplish a big goal of any kind do you enjoy it for awhile or get on to the next thing?

20 Responses to “Idle Hands”

  1. Dream in Grey September 16, 2010 at 7:00 am #

    I’m nearly done with school too (I have a final exam on 11th October) and i have no idea what i will do with my free time initially but i have already started making plans to learn Italian as my next project

  2. Megan September 16, 2010 at 7:25 am #

    You’re almost there! So exciting! I think I’ll be getting my A.S. in the spring (finally!), so I have several years before I’ll get my Master’s, but seeing it accomplished by others is really inspiring!

  3. jen September 16, 2010 at 7:37 am #

    What a great feeling!!! I will be done with the masters in december and as soon as i turn in the thesis, i think i am going to spend a few days doing exactly nothing! and then start looking for a job that appreciates the masters!

  4. Becky September 16, 2010 at 7:43 am #

    We are SO alike it’s not even funny! Definitely take a week or two to just relax and let yourself be lazy, but that’s my time limit as well – I love lists and get almost a little anxious when I don’t have things scheduled. (For instance, I have one big thing going on every weekend from now through New Years and I couldn’t be happier about it!)

  5. mandy September 16, 2010 at 7:49 am #

    You are rocking out this last class and you definitely deserve to celebrate (and spend a few weeks doing absolutely nothing)! I think I would celebrate for a bit and then get back to doing the things I love — reading, writing, spending time with my friends.

  6. phampants September 16, 2010 at 8:06 am #

    For a sec there, I was like “10k in December? Are you crazy?” Then I realized it’ll probably be in St. Louis and not freezing Chicago. So that was more acceptable. =)

  7. AshleyD September 16, 2010 at 8:07 am #

    I think doing absolutely nothing for a few weeks is the perfect reward for finishing grad school! And then we can start getting suuuuuper excited about NYE!!!

  8. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair September 16, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    I think that absolutely nothing fantasy sounds SO GOOD but the reality for Type-A people like us is that it can actually make us feel anxious. I have been struggling with this lately. I WANT to be crazy-ridiculously-busy but I’m not. And it makes me more unproductive then ever.

    I think I will start filling up my schedule again soon with things like volunteering and social events!

  9. rachieannie September 16, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    So excited for you!! And with honors?? You’re awesome.

  10. Stephany September 16, 2010 at 11:17 am #

    I’m the same way. When I’m deep in the middle of being busy, I long for the easy days of doing nothing and being able to NAP and SLEEP IN! And then the busyness slows down and I take a few weeks to indulge in laziness and doing nothing until I get the itch to do something.

    I can’t wait for the day when all I have is work to worry about – not work and school and internships!

    You are SO CLOSE to finishing! Ahhh!

  11. Peter DeWolf September 16, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    I’m a big fan of snailmail.

  12. Maddy September 16, 2010 at 12:40 pm #

    Wow!! So exciting! I would love to take some time off of life to do whatever! Perhaps travel, dedicate my time to a local charity, pick up yoga again! Sounds like you have many great things ahead of you.

  13. Habbala September 16, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

    You are SO CLOSE TO BEING DONE.

    I am so excited for you.

  14. Kim September 16, 2010 at 3:53 pm #

    It depends. Most of the time, though, I take some time to enjoy it and relax. You’ll need it with school ending. Heck, I need it now. :)

  15. Ashley September 16, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    I have no idea what I’ll do when I’m finished with school, but lucky lucky me, I have another 3-4 years to go. ;) I think you’ve got it right. The relaxation is necessary, but being busy makes me happy too. Good luck on this last month.

  16. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns September 16, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

    I think you will be surprised how easy it is to stay busy… You have known me since I finished grad school (I think?) or just shortly after? Anyways, I feel like I am very busy… Even when I am not marathon training, my schedule fills up. YOu are a social gal w/ lots of friends, and now you will actually be able to proactively plan happy hours and dinner and the like. I actually got to the point where I had things going on like 4-5 nights a week and my friend Heidi teased me and said I needed a social director in my life. I bet that will be you, too. i eventually had to ease back and stop making so many plans.

    I am so excited for you to be done. The freedom of claiming back your weeknight and weekends is a fabulous thing, my dear. Best. Feeling. Ever to not HAVE to read something. Or to not HAVE to meet with a group.

  17. Suburban Sweetheart September 16, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

    You’re so close to being finished! <3

  18. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks September 17, 2010 at 8:03 am #

    One of my big goals as a 20-something was to complete a triathlon and marathon before I turned 30. So, at the age of 29, when I had completed both, I treated myself to a trip to Europe. A girlfriend and I met up with my parents in London (my dad was there for some period of time for work, so he had a flat and we got free housing – score!) and then we moved onto Barcelona, which has become one of my most favorite cities! If I could, I’d do it over again … though, maybe this time, I’d skip the marathon part and go straight to Europe. =)

  19. Brittney September 18, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    Devin Sawa. Lovie.

  20. lo September 18, 2010 at 11:14 pm #

    congrats on being almoat finished with your mba! that is a great accimplishment. i hope you enjoy the time off. i think i need to create a 30 before 30 list. that year is approaching fast for me.

Leave a Reply

