Grace in Small Things: Week One

17 Sep

Since I revived this series last week and several people said they are glad I did so, I’ll be doing this on Fridays almost every week.

(Also, today is love the lovely Becky’s birthday. Leave her some birthday love today!)

* Chatting with my good friend Lisa. Whether it’s BBM or emails, it’s so great to have a friend who gets me. I may have been tempted to pack up and move to Minneapolis when she told me last night that she wished we were roommates or at least lived closer to each other. (Edite to add: So I talk to numerous fabulous ladies every day and they make my life infinitely better. Seriously. Habbala. Ashley. Mandy. Just to name a few. You know who you are. If we chat and you make me smile, you’re on this list.)

* I gave Jack a new toy on Tuesday night which meant two hours of playing fetch until he settled in for the night with the toy tucked under his chin. I suppose he was afraid that my parents 17 year old beagle might try to steal it from him.

* Receiving some awesome comments from my professor on  my most recent case study. Sometimes I sell myself short, I think, when it comes to all that I’ve learned in the last few years but nailing a paper with positive comments from an otherwise snarky professor? I’ll take it.

* Parenthood started this week. Enough said.

* A microderm abrasion facial. I’ve been getting facials for almost a year now and I’m in love with them. This past week my technician gave me a special deal on microderm and seriously my skin has never looked so good. The entire process was relaxing, the collagen mask at the end smelled divine and I’ve been “glowing,” all week.

* 10k training is going well and I’m halfway thru the program so this makes me happy. The knees are holding up ok, my endurance has improved and I love being in the gym six days a week again.

* Planning mini-trips to see friends and taking the entire Thanksgiving week off from work. I can’t wait.

Where did you find grace this past week?

10 Responses to “Grace in Small Things: Week One”

  1. Becky September 17, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    Love these posts! Ahhhhhhh Parenthood! I’ve found grace in the fact that I truly am going to have a birthday weekend experience, and I feel so blessed that I have all these wonderful people in my life that love me and want to celebrate in so many different ways. Also, grace in the fact that while we are still on a tight budget we’ve had a couple small expenses come up and it’s nice knowing it’s not the end of the world when that happens anymore.

    So glad your knees are doing well!

  2. Stephany September 17, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    I’ve been experienced some “grace in big things” this week (i.e., my grandma being cancer-free) but as for small things, I would have to say my job. I work with some really great girls and we have a lot of fun together! Plus, the kids are pretty darn cute.

  3. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair September 17, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    OK, clearly I need to check out this Parenthood show that everyone is RAVING about. Like I need another show to get addicted too, though! Ha!

    BBMing with you RIGHT NOW is my grace in small things today :-) XO

  4. Suburban Sweetheart September 17, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    Friends who care about me enough to send me job openings they come across as I look. Free packing boxes in the receiving room of my apartment. Peppermint tea with honey. My new iPhone that’s not always at risk of dying. My boyfriend’s Coast Guard boat coming into port today!

  5. SillyJaime | Jaime 2.0 September 17, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

    I’ve never had a facial, but I’ve always wanted one. Literally like always. I’ve never had the chance.

  6. Elizabeth September 17, 2010 at 9:09 pm #

    I was SO HAPPY to watch Parenthood again–I missed that show! The Geek and I cleared up a lot of smoggy air between us, and it was absolutely wonderful and so needed.

  7. Brittney September 18, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    I only have had one MA facial before and I loved it, but it was part of a package for fixing my nose and I have no idea what it cost on its own… and now I’m bitters and want one. Are they like $75? $150? Pardon my nosey bwahahaha. I also did the chemical peel and it was.. eh. Alright. A bit drying. I liked the neat dermabrasion tool far more.

  8. mandy September 19, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

    Talking to you is always a highlight of my week. Miss you muchly, love! Also, I’m so glad that Parenthood is back!

  9. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns September 21, 2010 at 10:42 am #

    Aww, thanks for the shout out! I am so touched! And this post didn’t show up in my reader until yesterday?? Weird, huh?

    I always love these posts, too. It’s a good exercise to focus on the things in life we love/appreciate. :)

    Happy Adam Braverman Day!

  10. Megan September 22, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    Yay, Parenthood! :D

    I’m finding Grace in finishing my astronomy lab and abnormal psych discussion early. A little less stress this week is a welcome change. :)

Leave a Reply

