The Weekend: Cupcakes, Specs, Rain & Cookies

20 Sep

This past weekend was one of those great ones.

On Friday I headed over to Jen’s house to embark on our girls’ night out  for ten which she won from Dove. We received complimentary car service (aka a huge limo) and then Jen was given money to spoil us for the evening! I think we spent it pretty well: cupcakes from The Cup (I got the Tuxedo and Buttercream which I noshed on over the weekend), dinner at a fabulous local tapas restaurant, Mosaic where I fell in love with infused cheddar cheese, mini rib burgers and potatoe croquettes, and hours of girl talk, laughing, jokes and pictures. As if all that wasn’t great enough, we all received three lovely smelling deodorants courtesy of Dove of course, after the night was over. It was great to meet more of Jen’s friends (I knew about half the group already from various past parties) and enjoy a truly luxurious night on the town. (Bonus: getting to see Jen’s son, now two months old, and take a picture with him and all of the girls in front of the limo. Cutest thing ever.)  Below: Liz, me, Jen, hanging out in the limo.

 

For whatever reason on Saturday morning I woke up with a start at 7:30am and couldn’t fall back asleep so I decide to go into uber productive mode: wrote a paper, took the dogs around the block, and was ready to go for the day all before 9:30am. I picked out my new glasses, did a little gratuitous shopping at H&M and Express, and then jaunted over to my Gram’s with two Starbucks Double Chocolaty Chip Drinks for two hours of girl time. We talked boys, computers, school, memories, goals. Quite possibly the best two hours I’ve spent with my Gram in awhile. The fatigue started setting in around this time so I headed home for some quality time with my Netflix movies, the couch, the dogs and my books. I watched Griffin & Phoenix which is a heartbreakingly beautiful movie; I really did love it. However, I do not recommend watching it unless you want to cry. Like, a lot. Then, and I can’t believe I’m admitting this on my blog, I watched Mary Poppins to cheer myself up. Took the dogs on some walks, read a ton, and then enjoyed the crazy thunderstorms that rolled into town.

For those who are interested, a pic of my new glasses (they are dark brown with caramel on the outer rims). I’m pretty much in love with them:

And then on Sunday? Lots of naps with the dogs at my feet, more reading, peppered with school work of course, news that a good friend is moving out of St. Louis which prompted the quintessential “what am I doing with MY life thought process?”, baked some oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, and went for a run. Throw in a present from my parents (a really awesome scarf), a surprise phone call from my brother and it was the perfect lazy Sunday.

This past weekend was a perfect blend of fun, friends, and time to myself. With the next six weeks being a little crazy with trips to see family and friends, finals, and weddings it was just what I needed!

How was your weekend? What’s your ideal weekend look like?

25 Responses to “The Weekend: Cupcakes, Specs, Rain & Cookies”

  1. mandy September 20, 2010 at 8:04 am #

    Sounds like a fabulous weekend, friend! Glad that your visit with your Gram went well. I spent a little time with mine as well on Saturday, it didn’t end with an argument so we’ll call it a win. =) I went to a concert with friends, slept in on Saturday morning, baked some cookies, took a nap, relaxed, sent out some resumes, and caught up on some reading. It was great! Miss you! Good luck these next few weeks!!

  2. phampants September 20, 2010 at 9:22 am #

    I always wanted to ride in a limo. Why? Because Michael Jordan did back in the day. That’s the only reason. Lame? I think so. But then again, you can’t call MJ lame.

  3. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair September 20, 2010 at 9:29 am #

    I love those glasses – they look so great on you!

    I think your weekend sounds pretty much perfect: a nice balance of friends, relaxation, family-time and schoolwork. My perfect weekend would be very similar. Lately my weekends haven’t been feeling very balanced though. I think its that whole running for 3+ hours on Sunday mornings…

  4. E September 20, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    New glasses are maybe one of the best things ever. Love yours!

  5. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks September 20, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    My ideal weekend is just like the one you just had. A smattering of fun nights out, exercise, special time with family and cuddling on the couch!

  6. Kyla Roma September 20, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    Your friend’s news was that she’s moving away?? Oh lame! I had a weekend of thinking & wondering too, although not with so much time out with friends. Yours sounds like a beautiful blend :)

    And your glasses are so cute! Well done!

  7. Peter DeWolf September 20, 2010 at 11:14 am #

    I like the glasses.

    My weekend involved watching A LOT of sports.

  8. Suburban Sweetheart September 20, 2010 at 11:36 am #

    Nora. This weekend sounds perfect. I can’t even contain my jealousy. Glad you got to enjoy it – and love the glasses!

    My perfect weekend is… God, I have no idea. There are friends involved, & sleeping in but not too much, & some good food but not too much, & maybe a little bit of hanging out at a coffee shop… or am I just saying that because I’m at a coffee shop right now & it’s lovely?

  9. AshleyD September 20, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    My weekend was fabulous. Lots of time with friends, good food, fun, family time, tv watching, and relaxing.

    I really like those glasses on you. Very cute.

    Also, thanks for being such an awesome friend! :)

  10. sarahdotcom September 20, 2010 at 11:53 am #

    Your weekend sounds lovely, and I adore your glasses. I was up at 6am on Sunday for practice, and by noon had already done so much. It feels nice to be productive in the morning & feel like you have the entire day ahead of you :)

  11. Grace September 20, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    Sounds fun! I love reading when it’s storming out. Lazy Sundays are the very best.

  12. Heather September 20, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    I love having a relaxing day when it’s raning outside. Love the glasses!

  13. Auburnkat September 20, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    Nothing wrong at all with watching Mary Poppins!!! I LOVED that movie growing up!

  14. Tabitha September 20, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

    That sounds like such a delightful weekend! I need to get new glasses soon, and I’ll probably be dailyboothing and/or twitpicking the heck out of some options, since I never can seem to decide.

    My weekend was excellent. It was my nephew’s first birthday, so we got to hang out with him and the rest of my family, and it was simply lovely. :)

  15. Becky September 20, 2010 at 5:25 pm #

    What a great weekend! I too had a good one (haha as I’m sure you know from my BBMs Saturday night!) and I love love LOVE your new glasses!

  16. Caz September 20, 2010 at 8:01 pm #

    I LOVE being productive on weekend mornings. Then I don’t feel guilty relaxing and enjoying the rest of the day. A good mix of social time, relaxation, exercise and productivity is my ideal weekend.

    Also, Mary Poppins is still my favourite movie.

    xoxo

  17. Stephany September 20, 2010 at 8:54 pm #

    Sounds like the perfect weekend! And I love those glasses on you. I am badly in need of new ones!

  18. Jessica September 20, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

    Wow the food at Mosaic sounds amazing! I’m glad you guys had fun. Also, I love your new glasses, they are super stylish. Looks good on you!

  19. Lo September 20, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

    That is awesome about the night out on Dove! How did she win that trip?
    I love lazy weekends – this weekend I mostly worked. But my boyfriend and I did get to go our of fav restaurant with a nice gift card on Friday night.

  20. Cait September 21, 2010 at 5:50 am #

    Any weekend that includes a limo ride, cupcakes, and productivity is definitely awesome. Sounds like a blast!

  21. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns September 21, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    Love the new glasses! They are so sassy & fun! Great choice, my dear!

    That night out on the town sounds fabulous! And I love that the host is a new mom – good for her for getting out of the house for some girl time! You look gorgeous in that photo from the limo!!

  22. ria September 21, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

    cute glasses!

  23. Brittney September 21, 2010 at 6:14 pm #

    Damnnit, Nora! Your life is adorable and I want to live it! lol

  24. Megan September 22, 2010 at 5:49 am #

    I love the lazy Sunday. I’d really like to have my own lazy Sunday sometime soon.

  25. Jennifer B. September 24, 2010 at 11:20 pm #

    Yay! Thanks for coming to my party! I hope you had as much fun as I did!

    And thanks for inviting me to your party which led to me winning the party!

Leave a Reply

