Moments of Nostalgia

22 Sep

Something about cooler temps, blustery evenings, leaves blowing across the sidewalk… it all makes me nostalgic.

The sounds of the marching band drift through the air on Thursday and Friday nights as they play at halftime and when touchdowns are scored.
Was it really 12 years ago that I was part of that band? That I was marching on the field, playing my flute, enjoying my high school days? We traveled via bus, won competitions, had end of the season parties at my parents house. I look at my flute now and it seems so foreign to me. I wonder if I can get out any notes…

There are signs posted for the big Homecoming game and dance, girls are all abuzz at the mall looking for the perfect dress.
Is it possible that I haven’t been to a formal dance since 2001? The thrill of  your crush asking you to the dance, finding the dress, the big reveal when your date picks you up, getting your hair and make-up done, looking forward to the after party. I recently stumbled upon an album with high school photos. We really did make such a big deal out of Homecoming, didn’t we!?

{ via }

The stores are filling up with Halloween costumes and candy, the children in the neighborhood are chatting about what superhero/princess/concept they will be in less than two months.
It seems like ages ago that I was dressed up as a ballet dancer or going to Halloween scavenger hunt parties with friends. I miss the giggling as we ran down the streets, fighting the sleep that was inevitable because we absolutely had to fill up our pillow case full of candy.

The Mizzou Mascot is all over the place this time of year with many people in STL traveling to Mizzou for football games. The roar of the crowd. The excitement of tailgating. People flooding the streets after the game in celebration (or perhaps defeat).
How can it be that it has been six years since I graduated from undergrad? From living with some of my best friends, enjoying the full-time student days, figuring out where I wanted to go in this world? Thank goondess I am able to go back every once in awhile.

No matter how nostalgic I am, I always look forward to the new memories I’ll be making this fall and so far it looks like there will be a lot of them: fall farm party, graduate school graduation, weddings, football games and roadtrips just to name a few.

What are you nostalgic about this time of year?

19 Responses to “Moments of Nostalgia”

  1. Kyla Roma September 22, 2010 at 7:20 am #

    Okay, now I’m nostalgic for your university experience rather than my own! lol

    The fall doesn’t really make me nostalgic but it does make me want to get all warm and bundled, and to bake and catch up with old friends :)

  2. jen September 22, 2010 at 7:26 am #

    i also think about undergrad and miss my friends terribly this time of year (in fact its our ten year reunion in october) and i will not be able to make it back to michigan…

  3. mandy September 22, 2010 at 7:53 am #

    I always get a tad bit nostalgic for things too this time of year. For many of the same things you do — Friday night football games when I was in high school, the care-free days of college, the excitement of picking out a homecoming dress. Over the weekend I took my 13 year old cousin shopping for a dress, I’m glad that I get to have a little hand in helping her make memories that she’ll someday look back on.

  4. Emily Jane September 22, 2010 at 8:37 am #

    Fall doesn’t make me too nostalgic – likely because it doesn’t really last all that long here in Winnipeg, and it’s over before you know it :) I am a little nostalgic for my old Halloween costumes, sometimes – I remember working retail and having costume contests, and having to take the bus all dressed up in wigs, leaves, and makeup. I remember serving customers who’d always laugh and leave with their day a little bit brighter for having been part of a place with such high spirits. But that doesn’t mean my Hallowe’en memories are over – there’ll always be new costumes. Speaking of which, I need to get mine started!! :)

  5. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks September 22, 2010 at 9:05 am #

    Every time I see a Mizzou flag around here, I think of you and our neighbors, all graduates of that fine school. Maybe we’ll have to get you together with them sometime to watch some football. =)

    I’m not sure that Fall makes me nostalgic, necessarily. But, I definitely love the warmth of the Fall sun, the crispness of the Fall air and the excuse to finally open up windows after a long summer of being closed in.

  6. Andrea September 22, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    I completely understand your autumn nostalgia. I hated high school, but the marching band was the exception. All of my best memories are with the band. I seriously perk up a little when anyone mentions ‘marching band’. Plus, Halloween, the best holiday ever? Yeah, autumn is amazing.

  7. Margarita September 22, 2010 at 10:34 am #

    Your college years sound like so much fun! It seems ages ago that I did any of that sort of stuff as well, but it’s true, there is so much to look forward to – remember that you’re making memories every moment you’re alive :)

  8. phampants September 22, 2010 at 11:44 am #

    Dang it! Now you make me miss homecoming and college football games.

    Thankfully, I’m not as nostalgic as I use to be. What I’m having issues with now is my constant thirst for adventure. I’m bored out of my mind. I want something new, different, excited and most of all, the unknown.

  9. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns September 22, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    The time of year that makes me most nostalgic is Christmas… And then the time around commencement ceremonies in the spring… Homecoming was never a big deal in my hometown – i.e. people wore jeans to the dance (yes, I lived in podunk, ND). So I don’t have the memories of that time of my life that others do. But prom? That brings back memories – and seems like it was forever ago. Sometimes I have the desire to try on my prom dresses when I go home, which sounds super silly…

    I never used to like Halloween, but now I do now that I have nephews. I started asking them waht they are going to be months ago. I think A is going to be Darth Vader (he’s super into Star Wars) and M is going to be Batman. not sure about the other 2. Halloween falls on a weekend this year so I will probably try to go trick or treating w/ them! Can’t wait!

  10. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair September 22, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    I get nostalgic about my youth this time of year too. Back to school, new friends, birthday parties, halloween, hockey starting etc. All the smells, colours and temperatures remind me of when I was a kid :-)

  11. Habbala September 22, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    I get nostalgic for Ryan. Happened last year too. I get all needing-of-cuddles. And, even if I don’t even KIND of want Ryan– I miss cuddles.

  12. Stephany September 22, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

    I get so nostalgic for elementary school! I didn’t even realize how easy and nice that time of my life was, but fall just reminds me of the freshness of new clothes and the newness of a brand-new school year. I miss being in a school environment like that.

  13. Suburban Sweetheart September 22, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    Love this, Nora. I feel just the same way, & I’m about to head back to my hometown, where I suspect the feelings of nostalgia will only grow stronger.

  14. Jessica September 22, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

    What a great post, ugh makes me miss college in fall. I’m nostalgic for playing in the leaves and walking on the sidewalk, kicking them with my feet. Love!

  15. Cait September 23, 2010 at 2:26 am #

    Fall is definitely one of the most nostalgic times for me. I remember mostly school-related things, like walking to my elementary school and middle school in this weather, drill team and yearbook meetings in high school, and heaps of lovely memories from college with my friends.

  16. terra September 23, 2010 at 7:59 am #

    I hadn’t thought about high school homecoming in forever but now I’m remembering…things were much simpler back then and it was so much fun.

  17. Becky September 23, 2010 at 8:38 am #

    This totally made me nostalgic for marching band too!!!

  18. Mel September 23, 2010 at 12:09 pm #

    Don’t laugh, but I’m nostalgic about high school football games. And cheerleading. :) Yes, I was once a cheerleader. :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Altus Photo Design's Blog - September 25, 2010

    […] Moments of Nostalgia (walkingwithnora.com) […]

Leave a Reply

