Monday, Monday

27 Sep

It’s Monday.

Which means that my brain is still on weekend time, struggling to keep up with the corporate world, perhaps even wishing it were still in bed under warm blankets (fall has arrived here in STL). Something that looks a lot like this:

 {via}

This also means that this morning you get some Nora Randomness.

* I had to pay a late fine of $3.15 at the library about a week ago. Three books were only five days overdue. I understand that they were late and it was my fault, but $3.15? It seemed a little steep for an overdue charge.

* No one at my office noticed my new glasses. This seems odd to me as I wear my glasses all the time at the office since they are readers/computer glasses. I guess everyone is really wrapped up in what they are doing on a daily basis which is fine, but I guess I thought they were a huge departure from my old ones.

* Every time I go to visit my brother, I inevitably have a great time. I also inevitably realize that I’m not 21 years old anymore and do not have a problem going to bed before midnight. I learned a lot this weekend too; suffice to say college and the college culture has changed drastically.

* I have one of the best brothers and family anyone could ask for. Hands down.

* I am really proud of my Tigers so far; a huge win yesterday ought to give them the confidence to get through our conference games later in the season.

* Getting one’s nose pierced doesn’t hurt nearly as much as you’d think. It’s also relatively easy to get used to. Here’s a picture for those who are curious:

* The closer I am to being done with school the more excited I get for all my free time. I literally am counting down the days. 14 days.

* Shopping at boutique stores can lead to finding some amazing presents for friends. Bonus for supporting local economies and entreprenuers.

* Free (early) birthday peppermint chip ice cream is the best. Also, I have mixed feelings about my birthday being in two days.

* My 10k is only three Sundays away and I’m getting a little nervous about my ability to run 6.2 miles all at once; I’ve been doing pretty well in my training runs but I’m nervous anyway!

* I purged my book collection yesterday; I decided to part with about 10 books that I know I won’t read again and/or recommend to friends, so why bother keeping them on my shelf? My shelves are exploding with books as it is, so freeing up some space was a great feeling.

Any Monday randomness that you’d like to share?

21 Responses to “Monday, Monday”

  1. ria September 27, 2010 at 7:17 am #

    i never used to be late returning my library books, now i have a $7 fine…it is expensive to be overdue!

  2. Becky September 27, 2010 at 7:58 am #

    Um, feel free to send any extra books my way. :) 14 days! Yes! Love the piercing!

  3. jen September 27, 2010 at 8:08 am #

    people in my office didnt notice i cut four to six inches of hair! i am sure they would notice if i got my nose pierced (which by the way looks great!)

  4. mandy September 27, 2010 at 8:11 am #

    I felt the same way this morning. Its rainy and cool here, my instinct was to burrow down deeper under the covers. The next two weeks will fly by and you’ll be done with school, hooray!! I was late with my library books too and had to pay a steeper fine than I expected (it was $2 something but they were only 4 days late, and there were only 2 books!). Is it too early to be wishing for the next weekend?

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair September 27, 2010 at 8:52 am #

    I LOVE your nose piercing. It really suits you and looks so great on you!

    This weekend went by way too fast for me! Usually I’m not too sad about Monday mornings, but this week I really wanted to crawl back under the covers!

  6. phampants September 27, 2010 at 9:05 am #

    Sounds like a great weekend sans the late fees. And don’t worry about your office not noticing your new glasses. We’re IT guys, we don’t really notice much unless it’s a girl in a skirt. It’s true. Have a great week.

  7. Meg September 27, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    Bed before midnight? I may have gone to bed at 8:30 last night…

  8. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns September 27, 2010 at 11:04 am #

    The nose ring looks awesome!!!

    I also purged some books this summer. I got next to nothing for them where I sold them, but the free shelf space was worth it!

    That’s a steep library fine in my opinion too! Sheesh!

    I def wanted to stay under the covers this morning. I got up at the same time that I did yesterday morning (6 am) but had a WAY tougher time getting up today for some reason.

  9. Maddy September 27, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    Yay on the nose piercing!! I had one many,many years ago, but had to get rid of it for my “corporate America” job! Wish I do it again :) And $3.15 for 3 days sounds a bit excessive to me too!

  10. Habbala September 27, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    Love love love the nose and that you’re done with school in 14 DAYS. That’s crazy.

  11. Suburban Sweetheart September 27, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    Good luck with the 10K – & I love the nose piercing! I got mine done at 18, & again, LATER at 18 (the first one would only pierce it with a ring, which I despised). It hurt like a bitch both times! Maye you’re stronger than me! It made my allergies go crazy; my eyes were welling up for a week.

  12. terra September 27, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

    The nose piercing looks great!

    I have such a hard time purging books. They all seem to hold too much memory for me to get rid of.

  13. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks September 27, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    We purged our bookshelves yesterday, too. And your nose ring looks adorable!

  14. DC Princess September 27, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

    The nose piercing looks rockin!

    Good luck with the 10K, happy almost birthday & YAY FOR 14 DAYS!!

    xoxo

  15. katelin September 27, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

    love the nose ring, such a cute look!

  16. Akirah September 27, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    You will do fine! I ran my 10K yesterday, after only 2 months of training. And somehow I lived! I ran the whole time and I finished. Now I can’t wait to do a half!

  17. Stephany September 27, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

    I absolutely love the nose ring! It’s perfect for you. I really want one, but I really don’t want to draw any more attention to my oversized nose, hehe. :)

    So excited about your 10K! I think you’re going to rock it, but I imagine there are lots of little butterflies to contend with!

  18. Jessica September 27, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

    Nice job on the nose piercing. Looks good! Also, $3.15 for five days does seem steep. I had two books late for almost two weeks and it was $2.35.

  19. Grace September 28, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    I like doing book purges too. Why keep them if they will just sit there? Maybe someone else will find joy in them even if we did not.

  20. Elizabeth September 29, 2010 at 1:25 am #

    I just found out that I have a $66 dollar library fine–we checked out 50 books between the two of us, and completely forgot about the whole concept of actually returning them. Ouch!

  21. Leanne September 30, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    Purging books?! I’m so impressed. I don’t think I’ve ever parted with a book (it’s a problem). For some reason, they are like a security blanket to me. Some day I hope to get there…

Leave a Reply

