On Turning 27

29 Sep

See those pictures above? Yup, that’s Toddler Nora. Born 27 years ago in New Jersey (oh, yeah, that’s right, I’m a Jersey Girl) in the middle of the night during a thunderstorm which is likely the reason I love rain so darn much.

So today I’m 27 though I’m tempted to call it 26 Part Two, not for any particular reason other than I prefer even numbers.

I don’t have any fabulous words of wisdom to share or fancy reflections from the past year. Instead I’m looking forward with no grand designs or expectations other than to go with the flow, continue to be positive and enjoy whatever new adventures come my way.

And with that, more random photos from various time periods in my life and a birthday request to delurk (if applicable) and ask me any question you want me to answer about anything (school, work, living at home, my dog, past boyfriends, whatever!) in upcoming posts.

 

34 Responses to “On Turning 27”

  1. Becky September 29, 2010 at 6:08 am #

    Happy happy birthday! Love that you shared all these pictures! Hope you have an amazing day and a year full of love laughter and lots of happiness!!!

  2. butterflycharlie September 29, 2010 at 6:17 am #

    Happy birthday!!

  3. ria September 29, 2010 at 7:31 am #

    love the pictures! i hope this year is full of wonderful things :)

  4. Jess September 29, 2010 at 8:03 am #

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    I miss 27. 28 was a good year too. *sigh* 32 just means that when I go through the checkout line in the grocery store the cute kid bagging doesn’t flirt with me anymore. (Of course, that could be because I usually have my three kids with me and am screaming like a banshee with crazy eyes.)

  5. phampants September 29, 2010 at 8:07 am #

    Happy Bday Nora!

  6. mandy September 29, 2010 at 8:14 am #

    Happy Birthday, Love!! I hope that this year brings you so many wonderful momements and memories. I love that you shared all these pictures. As for 26 part 2, do it. Haha, I’ve been 25 for a while now. ;-)

    Love you, girl and I’m so thankful that we’re friends.

  7. Jennifer September 29, 2010 at 8:46 am #

    Wow, your hair was really long at one time! I like it long, although I know it is much more work to have long hair!

    Happy birthday! Hope you have a great day!

  8. Kim September 29, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    Happy Birthday! Here’s hoping that 27 is fabulous for you!

  9. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair September 29, 2010 at 10:16 am #

    Happy Birthday beautiful! I have a feeling 27 is going to be WONDERFUL for you!

  10. Becks September 29, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    Happy birthday!
    I enjoy “lurking,” on your blog. :)

  11. Habbala September 29, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    I have no questions, cause I already know everything. Muah-ha-ha-ha.

    Happy Birthday!

  12. Lauren from Texas September 29, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    Happy Birthday Nora! My question is: What keeps you going when you get really really down? You always seem to have such a positive attitude & I admire that.

  13. Suburban Sweetheart September 29, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

    Happy birthday, Nora! Enjoy, enjoy. Questions:

    1) What age was your favorite?
    2) How did you celebrate your 21st birthday?
    3) What one thing do you hope 27 holds?

  14. jen September 29, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    Happy Happy Birthday!!! Heres to a Fantastic 26 part deux!

  15. Kesselrun September 29, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    Officially delurking to wish you a Happy Happy Birthday! I hope all your wishes come true and you have nothing but happiness!

    Question: How do you prioritize tasks seeing that you’re in grad school And have a job And do tons of fun stuff. Being a Grad student is for me quite the full time job!

  16. michelle September 29, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    cute photos! i think i might borrow your only even numbers idea next year. although, 27 is divisible by 3, which is my favorite number… k i’m gonna go before i go on a weird ramble :) i hope today is rocking so far!

  17. Heather September 29, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    Happy Birthday to you! Hope you have a wonderful day. This year is going to be amazing for you!

  18. Heather September 29, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    Oh, my question: what are your goals for your 27th year?

  19. Ashalah September 29, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    Happy happy birthday!!! I also only like even numbers, subconsciously even! When it was 2009 I was prone to writing out 2008 and when I was 27 I often would say 26. Now that I’m 28 in an even year, I guess I’m a happy camper :)

    I hope you enjoy your day!

  20. SillyJaime September 29, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    Happy birthday. ^^ The pictures of you as a kid are super cute!

  21. nova September 29, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

    Awwww… happy birthday!!! You’re as cute as you’ve always been. ^_^

    Going with the flow… that’s a good way to be. 27 is such a good age. I wish I could go back to that age myself. ;-)

  22. Elizabeth September 29, 2010 at 3:44 pm #

    Happy birthday Nora! The pictures are all incredibly adorable.

    My question! What is your earliest memory, and how old were you when the event took place?

  23. AshleyD September 29, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

    Haaaaaaappy Biiiiiirthday!!!!! I love your face. I cannot wait to see it again in a few short months.

    Question: What song will we dance to/vlog on NYE?

  24. Stephany September 29, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    Happy birthday, Nora! I absolutely love, love, love all the pictures!! I love your hair in the 26 picture! :)

  25. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns September 29, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    Happy birthday!!! Loved seeing all the pictures! Your hair was lighter when you were a child – I wasn’t expecting that!!

    My question is what did you want for your birthday? Anything specific?

  26. Liz September 29, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

    Love the photos! And Happy Birthday! I think you’re going to like 27. I sure did.

  27. katelin September 29, 2010 at 7:36 pm #

    hope you are having a most fabulous birthday nora!! woo!

  28. Wonju Wife September 29, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

    Happy Birthday, Nora! I hope your day is a special celebration of YOU!

  29. Ashley September 30, 2010 at 12:53 am #

    Happy Birthday! That picture of you in the Micky Mouse ears is adorable and just looks so much like you (obvs.).

  30. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks September 30, 2010 at 8:00 am #

    We’re entering the 2-month period where I’m only 9 years older than you. No wonder I love the month of October – I never feel quite so old. hahaha.

    Happy birthday, sweetie … you’re at such a great age, I really hope you’re enjoying it!

  31. Andrea September 30, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

    Happy Birthday, Nora! I hope you had a lovely day. Personally, although I also prefer even numbers, I think the number “27” is very pretty.

  32. megabrooke October 1, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    happy birthday week!

  33. Mel October 3, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    I felt weird at 27. It wasn’t until I hit 28 that I finally…really appreciated my 20s! :)

  34. OG October 5, 2010 at 12:12 am #

    Happy Belated Birthday! I know it’s been a while, I’m glad to see you’re doing well.

Leave a Reply

