The September Obsession List

30 Sep

 A huge thank you to everyone for all the lovely texts, cards, emails, tweets, phone calls and flowers yesterday! Each and every one of you made my birthday an incredibly special day and I thank you for that! I will be answering the questions I received from yesterday’s post early next week, so stay tuned. Back to regularly scheduled programming, and again, THANK YOU!!!!

I think I need to work on finding more obsessions because lately the monthly lists have been a little dull. (Also, how is it possible that October starts tomorrow!?)

The rundown for this past month:

* Cleaning Sprees. I know, so totally Donna Reed of me, but so true. Lately nothing gives me a greater sense of accomplishment on a Sunday afternoon than a thorough room once over: dusting, decluttering, picking up, putting away, re-organizing. Everything feels a lot lighter for a few days after I clean.

* Brownies. I found a great recipe for fabulous, made-from-scratch chewy brownies. They don’t make much (an 8×8 pan) but they are so delicious and have that great homemade taste. I’ll dig out the recipe and share it with anyone who wants it. They don’t take long to whip up either so I’ve been making them every other week.

* Accessorizing. I am fortunate to have a fair amount of jewelry and lately I’ve done a piss-poor job of accessorizing my outfits. That all changed earlier this month. I’m actually putting thought into my rings, earrings, necklaces and bracelets. Now that fall is settling in I can add scarves to that list too.

* Running Outside. My Physical Therapist wanted me to ease into outdoor runs, which I did. Since it’s been going well I’m running outside twice a week, soaking up the fall air, kicking the leaves up as I run, taking in the sunset and nodding to other runners and bikers as they go past. I don’t love the hills that surround my suburb but they are making me stronger with each run. Feels so good to have that part of me back.

* Playing with Fashion. I’m learning to be a bit more “me” in the fashion area of my life and it feels damn good. I’m playing with my look a little bit, mixing and matching “genres” of clothes if you will, and the result has been not only fun, but I feel more confident and comfortable.

* My friends. Over the past few weeks in an effort to get acclimated to what my life will be like post-grad school, I’ve started going out more, making plans, trying new things with different groups of people. It has reminded me I have some great friends both near and far (especially far as of late!) and gives me lots of hope for all the things yet to come.

Anything that has really caught your fancy in the last monght? Any suggestions for me to check out in the next month?

13 Responses to “The September Obsession List”

  1. mandy September 30, 2010 at 8:05 am #

    I’m wearing my first scarf of the season. I love scarves and its high time I’m able to wear them again. Hooray for being able to run outside again. I’ll take that brownie recipe, please, and some of your cleaning mojo.

    My latest obsession is vanilla pumpkin chai served by my local coffee shop — so much better than Starbucks! A friend and I have been going once a week since they arrived to partake in their goodness.

  2. Becky September 30, 2010 at 8:39 am #

    I need that brownie recipe. NEED.

  3. phampants September 30, 2010 at 9:41 am #

    I’m never going to get to St. Louis hills or any hills. Remember my first half marathon, no one told me that St. Louis had hills. What an eye opener of what the world is like outside of Chicago. Hills are a bitch, so I’m sticking to my flat lakefront path.

  4. ashleyTIA September 30, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    Don’t you just feel so much more together when you are really feeling your accessories? They can definitely make the outfit. :)

    I guess lately I’ve been obsessing over researching how recognition affects people. In my new job, I help coordinate the anniversary and award program for my company. It’s so fascinating how far a little appreciation goes.

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair September 30, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    I really need to start accessorizing better, I used to be SO good at it but lately I am just throwing on clothes and my normal rings and going to work with no accessories. It’s a real waste of all the great pieces that I have!

  6. LiLu September 30, 2010 at 10:57 am #

    Happy belated, love muffin!!! We need to get your ass back to DC. I miss you!

    I’ve started on the running outside train too- it makes SUCH a difference. I don’t know why, but it just feels like such a better workout.

  7. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns September 30, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    Obsessions:

    – The song You Make It Real by James Morrison. I have listened to this about 30 times in the last 2 days!!

    – Anything related to the marathon, such as my taper plan, my diet, packing lists, travel plans.

    – The beautiful fall weather we’ve had recently.

    ** I am glad you had such a great birthday!!!

  8. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks September 30, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    With all this fashion and accessorizing, it sounds like you owe us a fashion show of your most favorite fall outfits! Oh, and I’m doing a little happy dance over here that you’ve successfully transitioned to outdoor running … at least one of us is making strides in that area!!! xoxo

  9. Maddy September 30, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    I’m a little late on the birthday wishes, but Happy Birthday!! Glad you had an awesome day! Mine is coming up in a few weeks. It’s always nice to hear from all your family and friends, especially on your special day.

    Obsession this month: hot beverages, TV again!, The Only Exception by Paramore, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series, COMFORT FOOD!!! :)

  10. katelin September 30, 2010 at 6:12 pm #

    i’ve been on such a cleaning frenzy lately, it’s sort of ridiculous. but yay october! it’s my favorite month of the year :)

  11. Emily Jane October 1, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    This month I discovered the album “Flaws” by Bombay Bicycle Club. It’s so beautiful and lovely, I haven’t been able to stop listening!

    Also, brownie recipe please! :)

  12. RL October 5, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    The future is always up to us to define. That is one of the inherent and sometimes dormant powers of the human being-to create the future through current action and thought. Try it! It works. Funny, my family had a similar discussion this weekend as well. Ah! the commonalities we share. Nicely done, Nora. Enjoy your new Ponderosa.

  13. Dream in Grey October 6, 2010 at 4:45 am #

    I have Fall cleaning obsessions too – i think it ties into going back to school and having to have everything ready

    Also, TV is a big obsession this month with masses of new shows starting – hoorah!

Leave a Reply

