Grace in Small Things: Week Three

1 Oct
Justin Timberlake at the Shrek the Third Londo...

Image via Wikipedia

This week seemed to drag on and then suddenly speed up. Either way, it’s Friday, we have lovely fall weather and life is good! Bonus for the things that made me smile this week…

* Leftover birthday cake after a long day at work.

* An hour long phone call with  my best friend from Florida including a plan to see each other in February and finally meeting my faux niece.

* My Justin Timberlake station on Pandora. It has added some serious “go get ’em” attitude to my work day.

* Hedgehog pajama pants (a gift from my mom for my birthday). They are incredibly adorable and so soft.

* Getting emails from a friend who is beyond happy which results in me being happy from reading her emails. Happiness really is contagious.

* The fall weather that has settled into STL allowing our windows to be open, cool breezes to wash over our rooms at night, and a much easier environment in which to mow the lawn.

* Unexpectedly falling into a good book.

* Streaming Netflix through my Wii. And while we are on the subject of TV, How I Met Your Mother. I can’t believe I didn’t start watching that show sooner.

* Eating Ghiradelli chocolate as part of a review/giveaway that I’ll be doing next week (be sure to check back for more details on the giveaway!).

Any small things that made you happy this week?

18 Responses to “Grace in Small Things: Week Three”

  1. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair October 1, 2010 at 7:32 am #

    Getting an extra 45 minutes of sleep yesterday morning. A nice email from my boss this week praising work I did. Sunshine.

    Happy Friday, love! XO

  2. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks October 1, 2010 at 7:56 am #

    Wait, you get to eat chocolate as part of a giveaway post? Color me jealous.

    Things that made me happy this week … making homemade, decadent chocolate ice cream for Sweets … having a heart-to-heart with Sweets … video chatting with my brother … snuggling with SoMi (in that cool, Fall air!).

  3. Becky October 1, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    Hedgehog pajamas pants?! Sounds awesome! It’s almost cool enough where I can bring out my fleece moose pants – my mother-in-law bought Ben and me matching pairs years ago and they’re hilarious and sooo cozy!

  4. Emily Jane October 1, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    I would like to see the hedgehog PJs please :)

    My little highlights this week were a note on my desk from one of my workers, thanking me for writing her resume and cover letter and saying she couldn’t have done it without me. Also, after a deep heart to heart with a good friend, being told “my life is better because you’re in it.” Yes I cried :)

  5. mandy October 1, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    Hedgehog pajamas? Thats beyond awesome. Left over birthday cake never hurts either.

    This week I’m thankful for my friends who are scattered all over the country (and into Canada!).

  6. Maddy October 1, 2010 at 10:47 am #

    Left over Bday cake is the best! I’m still having some of my hubby’s from Friday! What made my week: great feedback from the family I did a photo session for! There’s nothing more rewarding than when someone tells me I captured the essence of their family! It makes what I do so much more fulfilling! Totally made me day, hell…maybe even my week!

    Have a great weekend and enjoy your continued bday celebrations!!

  7. Manderz October 1, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    Oh a good book is always wonderful! And I could certainly go for a pair of hedgehog pajamas.

    I am so happy to be back home. Snuggling in my own bed and with my puppies.

  8. Margarita October 1, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    Mmm Birthday cake!!! Happy birthday by the way! I’ve been MIA online but I still wish you all the best :)

  9. Ashley October 1, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    Oh, hello Justin Timberlake. So happy to see you in my Reader. Have a great weekend, Nora!

  10. AshleyD October 1, 2010 at 11:53 am #

    I love that you tagged “hedgehogs”. :) Isn’t HIMYM genius? I dind’t start seriously watching it until last season, but I love it now.

  11. Habbala October 1, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    It’s cooler today!! It’s been unbearably hot.. so I’m happy.

  12. Stephany October 1, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    A Mental Health Day. Cooler-ish weather (which for Florida in October, is 80 degrees. Sigh.). Getting a fun package. My dog feeling better.

    Hedgehog PJs? Yes, those are a must-see. :)

  13. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns October 1, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    New pjs are one of THE best gifts. I always ask for some at Christmas. And yes, we must see a photo of yours! Too fun!

    I am glad my happiness is contagious and not annoying ;) Thanks so much for being so happy/excited for me. :)

    Let’s see… Little things that made me happy this week…

    1. Showing up at my brothers and seeing my youngest nephew sitting on the counter, watching Dora, wearing a cape (which he also wore during dinner).

    2. Finalizing plans for T. to meet my brother & his family.

    3. Breaking out my fave fall dress today – it’s a wool gray/white/black plaid dress w/ pockets. I heart it so much and am glad it’s cool enough outside to wear it!

    Hooray for a chocolate giveaway!!!!

  14. ria October 1, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    streaming netflix is the BEST! i love it so much.

  15. Alice October 1, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    (here from nilsa! hello!)

    oh man, i’m a late adapter to HIMYM as well, and i can’t believe it took me so long to embrace its wonderfulness. my bf has the first 4 seasons on his computer, too, which i went through and watched in their entirety… all fantastic, all the time :)

  16. Elizabeth October 1, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    The small wonderful thing for me was discovering that baked potatoes are about ten thousand times better with cream cheese. Who knew?

  17. Suburban Sweetheart October 3, 2010 at 12:12 am #

    Ghiradelli giveaway? YES, PLEASE.

    This week, loving my bed at my mom’s house and Greek yogurt. No together.

  18. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun October 3, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    Love those things that brought you pleasure last week. And Ghiradelli chocolates to review? That’s downright awesome. ;)

    Hope you had a fabulous weekend!

Leave a Reply

