And Just Like that I Married a Country Boy

5 Oct

On Sunday evening we were all cozied up in the kitchen: Darling slicing cucumbers for salad, Gram (who was over for Sunday dinner) was perusing the Sunday paper and I was focused on the last bits of my reading for class.

We all started taping our feet when this song from Crazy Heart came on the streaming playlist my dad put on for us:

“This makes me want to get in my truck and go,” Darling said.

“What truck?” I asked.

“You know, our old-school green pick-up truck,” she said while dancing around the kitchen and winking at me since we obviously have  no such truck.

“This song makes me want dance with a cowgirl hat on with a very handsome, tall, country boy. One with a farm. And a lot of land,” I responded deciding to play along. Imagining is fun after all.

“Well in that case can you have a barn so that I can have horses? And then maybe buy some sheep too?” Darling asked eagerly. Darling has always wanted a horse of her own.

“Since we’ve made this entire scenario up we can have horses and sheep. And dogs! Lots and lots of dogs! I can start my charity finally,” I exclaimed.

“Will there be a room under the eaves for me?” my Gram chimed in, never one to be left out of a conversation or an adventure for that matter.

” Certainly, Gram. Consider it done.”

“Now, Nora, we will have to sheer the sheep and sell the wool, too. I wonder if your husband will be okay with that?” Darling asked.

My dad shouts from the other room “What’s all this about sheep and horses and living under eaves?”

“Didn’t your hear, Dad? I live on a farm now. With my farm-owning husband.”

“Alright,” he said albeit a bit skeptically, “so long as I can sell my candles in the wool-shop next to your mother.”

We all burst into fits of laughter at the sheer hilarity and silliness of this little invented future we created for me based upon a song. But it was kind of fun. And I could kind of picture it, you know, as long as the farm wasn’t too far from a big city.

18 Responses to “And Just Like that I Married a Country Boy”

  1. jen October 5, 2010 at 7:01 am #

    could i keep my horse there too???

    I just love things like this, just the other day my husband and i had a wrap around porch with acres of land, rocking chairs and unbelievable sunsets!!

  2. howtocookabear October 5, 2010 at 7:44 am #

    now i’m listening to that song and smiling thinking about three generations of women in the kitchen cooking and dancing and making believe. sounds like a scene out of a movie…nice post!

  3. ria October 5, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    what a wonderful way to end the weekend!

  4. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks October 5, 2010 at 9:08 am #

    SoMi would love to visit your farm … running around leash-free, roaming all your land … heavenly!

  5. DC Princess October 5, 2010 at 9:09 am #

    I love conversations like this. I can’t have them with my family but I certainly do with my friends, my chosen family.

    <3 it!

  6. mandy October 5, 2010 at 9:22 am #

    I love the picture you’ve painted here and I can literally see you all dancing around the kitchen having this converstaion. It made me smile.

    Is there room on this land for a friend to build a small cabin where I can live, write, and bake?

  7. Manderz October 5, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    What a delightful image! It brought a smile to my face.

  8. AshleyD October 5, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    I love stories like this. Sometimes I think it would be nice to live a quiet life on a farm, but I’m not sure if I’m really cut out for it. It’s fun to imagine though. :)

  9. Megan October 5, 2010 at 10:11 am #

    I love this! Imagining things is so much fun. :)

  10. Stephany October 5, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    I love this. I can totally picture this whole scenario, including your imaginary farm! And how fun would that be? Lots of bloggers meet-ups would have to happen!

  11. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair October 5, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    I grew up on a farm and now live in (and love living in) a “big” city (probably not big to most Americans standards). So I’ve seen the best of both worlds.

    One day, we want to settle outside of a city. Not an hour out of the city like where me and Eric grew up, but about 10-15 minutes out. I think there’s something to be said about having land where your kids can run around and play, and you can have as many pets as you want. I grew up four-wheeling, running, hiking and riding my horse in the trails behind my house. Even though I used to complain about living so far out of town now that I’m grown-up and have a better perspective I realize I wouldn’t have wanted it any other way!

    Also? I kind of love your family and this is adorable!

  12. Elizabeth October 5, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

    Can I stay in your guest barn?

    This is adorable–I love goofy family moments like that.

  13. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns October 5, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

    Ha, I love this fantasy! I can so see this conversation unfolding from how you’ve described your mom and gram.

    Now, about that wool… can you have it spun into yarn and then I can use it to make blankets and scarves which we can sell in the quaint book shop we own?

  14. Jessica October 5, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

    Hey girl, if your place is near a city, I will be out for dinner on a regular basis! I’ll need the escape and I am a wonderful helper around the house. Maybe I’ll have my coffeeshop near by

  15. Emily Jane October 6, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    What a wonderful moment, and a great image :)

  16. Kim October 6, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    I’d love to visit your farm. It sounds so glorious!

  17. katelin October 6, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    this is all sorts of precious and i would totally come visit you on a farm. i mean as long as you have apple butter i’m sold.

  18. Kyla Roma October 6, 2010 at 11:05 pm #

    I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: you need to kidnap me :)

    I love these peeks into your family’s life :)

Leave a Reply

