Nora Confessions (XII)

7 Oct

You probably thought I forgot about this series, eh?  The only problem with my Confessions Series is it takes some time to amass or think of new ones, but it’s back! (View all previous installments in this series here.)

* So despite the fact that I may be the Dave Matthews Band #1 Fan I do not physically own their two oldest CDs, Crash and Before These Crowded Streets. (I did recently download them to my Zune, and I have no idea how I survived without them for so long.)

* I’ve started wearing leggings. Don’t worry, only around the house and with shorts over them and I vow to never go out in public in them…but they are incredibly comfortable.

* I cry almost every week during Parenthood.

* My time management and organizational skills have really gone down hill the last few weeks; I really hope I can recoup them in the coming few weeks.

* I can’t study and/or do my homework without my favorite type of pen: Papermate, plain barrel, blue ink pen.

* If I had the courage to do karaoke I think I would sing Tina Turner’s “Proud Mary.”

* A few weeks ago I ditched Facebook. I don’t miss it and I’m not sure I’ll return this time.

* The end of my graduate school career is in plain sight and as 100% excited as I am, I’m also a little bit nervous as to what I’ll do with all my free time.

* There are over 40 pairs of shoes in my closet: flops, boots, flats, heels, athletic. It may be an addiction.

* I enjoy like raking leaves. This means two things: 1) I’m glad it’s fall and 2) I’m probably a little bit crazy.

* I was nominated for Homecoming Court my Senior year in high school and was incredibly relieved when I didn’t make it onto the final court ballot.

* The Boy Next Door still shows up in my dreams, despite our several unsuccessful attempts at dating over the last few years. I am sorely disappointed when I wake up discovering it was just a dream (and that he didn’t really come for me).

What about you? Anything you want to get off your chest today?

17 Responses to “Nora Confessions (XII)”

  1. ria October 7, 2010 at 8:41 am #

    please come rake for me! i hate it, we have too many trees!

  2. Emily Jane October 7, 2010 at 8:56 am #

    Maybe we could make a pact to do karaoke at some point before the year’s out, knowing there’s someone out there equally as terrified but doing it anyway might be the key to try! I don’t know if I’d pick anything as bold as Proud Mary though… although I say that, but in my head my dream song is to be able to pull off “Somebody to Love”!

  3. phampants October 7, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    My cat doesn’t poo unless I’m in the bathroom doing the same deed. Weird, I know.

  4. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks October 7, 2010 at 9:38 am #

    Sweets and I are in the middle of organizing all our CDs. We have a bunch of DMB stuff … including some live stuff when they were still playing fraternity houses in the early 90s as well as some studio recordings. Remind me during your visit and I’ll burn copies for you … then, no one will doubt your commitment to the band! =)

  5. Margarita October 7, 2010 at 10:19 am #

    My secret butter chicken recipe is actually a ready made mix from Whole Foods. Shhhh!

  6. Stephany October 7, 2010 at 10:43 am #

    I really want to ditch Facebook. I’m never on it now, and whenever I do go on it, it just annoys me. Props!

  7. Elizabeth October 7, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    I totally get crying during television shows–the Geek and I totally cried over last week’s House. I’m glad you have leaves to rake! Our oaks don’t tend to fall until spring.

  8. Andrea October 7, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    I only wear leggings in secret, too. Except the denim ones. I wear those to work at least twice a week and I just let people make fun of me because most people can’t even tell they’re leggings. SHHHsecret!

  9. Suburban Sweetheart October 7, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    I haaaaaate raking leaves. Do you want to come over?

    P.S.: Are there any good uses CD stores near you? There are a few GREAT ones near me & I’m happy to keep any eye out for those DMB CDs, if you’d like. :)

  10. suki @ [Super Duper Fantastic] October 7, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    i’m not managing my time very well. :/ i blame it on my laziness, but then i should really stop blaming and just start doing.

    as much as i want to ditch facebook, i can’t. most people i know use it for event planning purposes…

  11. katelin October 7, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

    you can totally wear leggings in public, just not as pants. i wear them under dresses that might be just a little too short or if i just want to be warmer, haha. and i agree, uber comfy!

  12. mandy October 7, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    I love Parenthood. I’m watching it right now. You could totally do karaoke! No joke, if I can do it, you can too. A little liquid courage, a dive bar with some of your friends, and a great song, you’ll be a karaoke star in no time.

  13. Jessica October 7, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

    Girl get on the leggings as pants bandwagon. you won’t regret it. Seriously, them under a long sweater and some flats, you are comfy and ready to go.

  14. Kyla Roma October 8, 2010 at 7:38 am #

    Leggings are so comfy! Just as long as we can’t see your bum, it’s all good :)

    And you are missing something on facebook, if only because that’s where I posted our Minne pictures ;)

  15. Kim October 8, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    If you like raking leaves, make a plan to visit my house in about two weeks. We always have a TON of leaves and I can’t stand raking them. :)

  16. nicopolitan October 8, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

    Can I please draw attention to Pham’s comment? I thought it was brilliant.

    Also: What would you like to do that you never have time to do? The answer there is what should happen after you’re done with grad school. :)

  17. Mel October 9, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    Leggings are fun! Just throw a sweater dress over them! :)

Leave a Reply

