Review + Giveaway: Ghirardelli Luxe Milk Chocolate

12 Oct

My Sunday night ended on a good night: with four different kinds of chocolate to taste. The chocolate? 100% All Natural Luxe Milk from Ghirardelli, in four different flavors: Milk, Almond, Hazelnut and Toffee. In an effort to spread the joy, I shared the chocolate with my parents who are all big fans of dessert and sweets in general so I knew they ‘d be helpful in reviewing these products.* Here’s what we had to say…

LUXE Milk:
Nora: The chocolate is creamy, good blend of milk + chocolate, doesn’t melt in your hand when you’re holding a piece like other kinds of chocolate out there.
My dad: Solid chocolate, but not a hard break-your-teeth off kind of a chocolate.
Darling: For a chocolate lover, it’s so good you can’t talk while you’re eating it.

LUXE Almond:
Dad: Deliciousy smooth and sweet, a nice nutty flavor with good-sized chunks of almonds, yet still subtle. Not a harsh chocolate. Darling: Great for a sweet-aholic and slightly European, no hint of waxy-ness.
(I skipped out on this one since I’m allergic to tree nuts but the chocolate + almond combination smelled delightful.)

LUXE Hazelnut:
Dad: Another creamy chocolate, nice sized hazelnut pieces but without being overbearing; not flaky bits  like in other chocolates. An overall smooth aftertaste.
Darling: Tastes a bit better than the almond bar because it has more nuts to chocolate ratio, which is important to this person who loves chunky chocolate bars.
(And yup, you guessed it, I had to skip out on this one too. Stupid allergies.)

LUXE Toffee:
Dad: Wonderful blend of crunchy & smooth. The toffee is clearly of a good quality and blends well into the chocolate.
Nora: I loved that I could taste the difference betwee the toffee and the chocolate in each bite, it wasn’t merely just texture in the bar.
Darling: I don’t normally like Toffee bars but this one is not half-bad.

I also loved the packaging on each bar: gold foil which reminds me instantly of Willy Wonka & The Chocolate Factory Golden Tickets. Bonus: the packaging doesn’t rip so it’s easy to fold it up and save any leftovers you may have, you know, if you have the willpower not to eat all the chocolate in one sitting.

You can buy these flavors in either a 3 oz bar or in bags with individually-wrapped squares but apparently the bags are super popular as they were out of them at Target, Walgreesn and my local grocery stores.  

Now for the good part! You, my dear readers, can win two free bags of Ghirardelli LUXE Chocolate as well as receive 2 $1 off coupons towards future purchases. To enter:

* Simply leave a comment and answer this question: What’s your favorite dessert?
* For an additional entry you can tweet OR blog about the giveaway; just be sure to link me back to the tweet/blog in an additional comment.

Rules:
Contest ends Friday October 15th at midnight CDT.

**The FTC Compliance Piece:I was given coupons for four free bars or bags of Ghirardelli LUXE Chocolate in order to participate in this review, as well as well as several $1 off coupons for my participation as well. I was not, however, paid for my review of the candy bars, nor were my parents. We simply like sweets. All opinions expressed in this blog are my own. Photos courtesy of M80 & Ghirardelli.

33 Responses to “Review + Giveaway: Ghirardelli Luxe Milk Chocolate”

  1. Amanda October 12, 2010 at 7:41 am #

    That chocolate sounds absolutely amazing, I wish it weren’t only 9am so I could run to the store and get some. I would have to say my favorite dessert is creme brulee. More specifically, the caramelized sugar on top of the creme brulee with just a bit of custard.

  2. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair October 12, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    YUM! What a delicious giveaway!! I love ice cream of all kinds and cheesecake. But chocolate is right up there as a favourite dessert also!

  3. Suburban Prep October 12, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    I love Chocolate and I love especially brownies with chocolate frosting on them. I also love creme caramel. or bread pudding. I guess I have a sweet tooth.

  4. Jennifer October 12, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    I’ve been eating way too much chocolate lately, and I wonder why my pregnancy pounds aren’t coming off?!?

    My favorite dessert is something called pumpkin dump cake. Don’t let the name fool you. It is delish! I think I might have made it at my favorite things party last year.

  5. Sonal October 12, 2010 at 9:22 am #

    Ice cream is my favorite! It’s kinda cheating because you can get other desserts mixed in with ice cream like brownies or cookie dough. Is it lunch yet?

  6. Sara Lang October 12, 2010 at 9:50 am #

    That’s amazing! I absolutely love fudge.

  7. Lauren October 12, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    Haha. Sort of a funny story. A few days ago I was leaving my house to go to the Mall of America and the neighborhood kids caught me outside. They asked me where I was going and I told them.

    They looked at me and said, oh mannn, can you buy us some Ghiaradelli chocolates? Supposedly the check out at one of the places their mom shops has the chocolate. The kids are always desperate to buy it but the mom claims that the chocolate is too expensive and is a waste of their allowance. It was so cute, they were BEGGING me to buy them chocolate!!

    Okay. Totally sidetracked.

    My favorite dessert is a Buckeye. It’s like a peanut butter ball but eight times better.

  8. E October 12, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    I love molten chocolate deliciousness.

  9. Becky October 12, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    Mmm! I loooove Ghiradelli chocolate! Technically, I’m allergic to chocolate, but for Ghiradelli it’s worth being itchy.

    My favorite dessert would be a toss up between tiramisu and some good chocolate. Totally different but those are my two weaknesses!

  10. Kyla Roma October 12, 2010 at 10:33 am #

    You’re giving away bags of chocolate?? How much do I love you? The answer is lots. :)

    My favourite desert is chocolate cake that’s not too sweet, you can’t beat it!

  11. Habbala October 12, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    Creme Brulee. Which is now on the NYE list. There is a FABULOUS place I know of. Thing we can go on a Creme Brulee pilgrimage?

  12. Kim_F October 12, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    What a yummy giveaway!!

    I kind of have an impossible time choosing a favorite anything…but for dessert anything that combines chocolate and fruit (especially raspberries) is a winner in my book!

  13. rachieannie October 12, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    I’m a huge cheesecake fan. Mmmmmm.

  14. Lacey Bean October 12, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    Mmmm I love hazelnut and toffee in chocolate!! But my favorite dessert of all time is CHEESECAKE. Especially my mom’s cheesecake – chocolate and vanilla w/ a graham cracker crust.

  15. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks October 12, 2010 at 11:54 am #

    I never was a big dessert person, until I met Sweets. And based on his name, you know dessert is high on his priority list. I think my favorite dessert are the homemade cookies our family friends make every year for Christmas. They are delectable!

  16. Maddy October 12, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    If you are giving away chocolates, I’m in :) Desserts…so many to choose from! My staple is a great cheesecake and chocolate chip cookies! But lately, I’ve been cravin red velvet cupcakes from a local bakery…yum!

  17. Stephany October 12, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

    This might be the best giveaway ever. Chocolate?! Yes, please!

    My favorite dessert is anything that involves chocolate: cookies, cake, brownies, fudge, ice cream…I can continue. :)

  18. Stephany October 12, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

    Here’s my tweet: http://twitter.com/#!/stephanywrites/status/27163362496

  19. phampants October 12, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

    I never grew up on dessert, but I do love ice cream. Plain old vanilla for me. Or better yet, gelato.

  20. Margarita October 12, 2010 at 2:04 pm #

    My favourite dessert? Oooh that’s a hard one, I can’t just pick one! But I’ll give you my tops: creme brulee, cheesecake, strawberry shortcake, cookies and anything chocolate!

  21. Suburban Sweetheart October 12, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

    Oh. My. YUM. These sound delicious – I love anything with toffee, in particular! And though cheesecake is a close contender, I think my absolute favorite dessert is carrot cake – the moist kind, thick, with cream cheese frosting that isn’t too melty. Oh my God, I need a cupcake, stat.

  22. RL October 12, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    Wow! Your Dad sounds like a way cool guy. How lucky you must feel to have such a wonderful man as your biological father. Pass that Crispy bar over here, please!

  23. mandy October 12, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

    I love this giveaway! Its a bummer that you couldn’t sample a few of the chocolates though, I’m glad that your parents were happy to help out.

    One of my favorite desserts is one my mom makes is a cherry dessert — yellow cake mix, oats, cherries, nuts. Its all sorts of amazing.

  24. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns October 12, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

    Yum!! Looks delish!

    Well, my fave dessert used to be this chocolate mousse pie that my mom makes every year for Thanksgiving but I can’t have it anymore now that I know about my gluten intolerance since it has an oreo crust… :(

    So my new fave dessert is either creme brulee or mousse. :)

  25. Mel October 12, 2010 at 9:01 pm #

    One can’t go wrong with chocolate. But I’m a sucker for coconut cream pie as well. :)

  26. Cait October 12, 2010 at 11:58 pm #

    I adore Ghirardelli chocolate. These all look so good and I’ve been meaning to try them!

    As much as I love chocolate, though, my favorite dessert is cheesecake.

  27. AshleyD October 13, 2010 at 7:52 am #

    This chocolate sounds amazing! My favorite dessert is cheesecake, but chocolate always comes in close second.

  28. Megan October 13, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    I never liked candy as a kid, unless it was chocolate. I’m a lover of chocolate. Chocolate ice cream is my favorite dessert.

  29. Lisa October 13, 2010 at 9:09 pm #

    My favorite dessert is a chocolate trifle.

  30. Ashley October 14, 2010 at 8:10 am #

    I love all dessert! My sweet tooth is crazy. Doesn’t help that Matt has a sweet tooth that equals my own. But my all time favorite treat is probably ice cream. In my house (of all women), we’ve given it the code name “wheat grass.”

  31. Jess October 15, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    My favorite dessert is pretty much anything chocolate. It depends on the day… but right now chocolate mousse is pretty high on the list.

  32. Ris October 15, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    I am a HUGE chocolate person–I really like dark chocolate, esp with raspberry or something else mixed in. Yum!

  33. Leesh October 15, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    I love chocolate. My favorite dessert is creme brulee.

Leave a Reply

