6.2 Miles Later…

19 Oct

… I fell in love with running races.

The reason I signed up for this 10k in the first place was to prove to myself that I could run races after the doctors told me earlier this year it may not be a possibility.

And run them I can!

There are no pictures of me pre or post race as I was house sitting for a friend this past weekend and was way too groggy the morning of (note to self and other runners: don’t turn off your alarm on accident at 5:15 when it first goes off) the race to attempt a camera photo.

I wanted to get downtown early to avoid any traffic thanks to all the construction plus streets closed for the race, so I arrived around 7:15 am, walked around the mini expo, scored some Vitamin Water, stretched, and did some people watching since most people did dress up in Halloween costumes.

I meandered over to the start line about 7:45 am, positioned myself in between the 9/10 minute milers, and before I knew it, we were off. Well, sort of. It took three minutes for me to get to the start line thanks to the 4000+ people participating in the race.

The first two miles I kept pace with some of the 9 minute miler girls until one of the long, gradual, seemed like it was never going to end hills, at which point I decided that my knee would want me to chill out a little bit since hills are like its kryptonite. I slowed down a bit at the 5k mark at which point it was about 32:30, grabbed some powerade at the hydration station, and stretched out my quads a little. My knee was starting to protest a bit, so I finished out the mile and once I hit 4 miles I walked and stretched out the quads one more time until the 4.2 sign that a spectator was holding up.

That’s when I decided that there would be no more walking.

I started thinking about how I honestly never thought I’d be able to run more than two miles at a time thanks to my knee injury. About how I was accomplishing one my 30 Before 30 Goals. About my dear friends who ran 26.2 the weekend prior and how if they could do that I could surely run another 2 miles without stopping. I thought about how I wanted to be able to tell everyone I did the best I could, ran as fast as I could and be able to call a few special people after with glee in my voice instead of disappointment.

And so I did it.

I conquered the hills that stood in my way (and boy were there a lot of them), saw the finish line , conquered another hill (seeing the finish line was a cruel trick; we still had another out and back to do), gave high-fives to the little kids who were hanging out on the sidewalks, and then at the 5.9 mile mark I sprinted the last 3/10 of the race.

I finished in 67:05; average time for race finishers was 65:05.

I have to say that all in all I am incredibly pleased with my performance since my three goals were: 1) to finish 2) walk as little as possible and 3) if I did have to walk, finish in 80 minutes. If I didn’t have to walk, finish in 72 minutes. All goals accomplished. I must also confess that the last few weeks of training my long training runs fell off my radar thanks to finish my MBA and that pesky thing called life.

A lot of people have asked me what’s next and the short answer: More 5ks and 10ks. As much as I’d love to run a half marathon I know my knee won’t tolerate it. I plan to sign up for a few 5ks that are in St. Louis later this year and find another 10k early next year.

For now, though, I’m on a total race running high.

(And of course, a special thanks to everyone who shared tips, training plans, asked about the race, and sent me well wishes, texts and positive vibes the day of the race!)

(The winner of the Ghirardelli Chocolate Giveaway is Leesh from The Blarkness Chronicles! Congratulations; I’ll contact you for your mailing address today. Thanks to everyone who entered and stay tuned for another giveaway soon.)

26 Responses to “6.2 Miles Later…”

  1. Megan October 19, 2010 at 6:46 am #

    Amazing job, Nora! I’m so glad you were able to run this 10k and are ready for more races in your future. :)

  2. mandy October 19, 2010 at 7:55 am #

    Awesome job, Friend!! I am so proud of you for tackling the race. I’m glad that your knee didn’t protest too much. (It does seem cruel to show you the finish line and then make you run another hill.)

  3. Kyla Roma October 19, 2010 at 8:19 am #

    Yes yes yes!! Amazing job Nora, this is fantastic!! :D
    I’m so proud of you lady, getting through this after there was so much doubt about your being able to do it? That must be all kinds of priceless :)

  4. ria October 19, 2010 at 9:04 am #

    yay!!! i’m so glad you got o do this and that you knee didn’t keep you from accomplishing it. i’m sad there are no pictures though ;)

  5. Becky October 19, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    I’m so so proud of you! Especially considering as of Friday night you weren’t sure whether or not you were going to do the race Sunday because of your knee!!

  6. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair October 19, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    I’m so happy for you! Racing is so much fun and I’m glad you enjoyed it and your knee held up. Plus that is as GREAT time!!

    Loved the recap :)

  7. Habbala October 19, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    Yay yay yay. You’re amazing. For so many reasons, but you’re dedication to running is one of ’em.

  8. AshleyD October 19, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    Woohooo! I’m so so proud of you for finishing and making such amazing time. You did awesome!

  9. Grace October 19, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    Awesome job! I love running. It’s such a fabulous feeling. Especially when you cross the finish line.

  10. Stephany October 19, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    Yay, Nora! Great job with the 10K!

    I had the same thing happen to me at my 5K in September, I was hauling butt to the finish line…only to find out I still had to do a little half-mile loop first! Such a bummer. ;)

  11. Maddy October 19, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

    Great job!! Everyone I know seems to be running races these days and I think you’re all CRAZY!! ;)

  12. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns October 19, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

    Well done, you! I am so glad that the race went so well for you! 6.2 miles is a long way! I mean, you were runnign for over an hour, which is impressive when you stop to think about it, you know? I think we lose sight of that when we are training for something… So props to you for a successful 10k – esp a hilly one with a wonky knee! :) Bravo!

    5k and 10k races are great goals! I love doign those distances. There is a 10k on Thanksgiving that I ran last year and just loved. I am bummed that I won’t be here this year to do it… I def will next year!

  13. Stevie October 19, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

    So awesome! That must’ve felt so good. Running is such a mental process. The mind is a powerful thing but if you take control it’s amazing what can happen! I ran my first half marathon earlier this year and was woefully underprepared. I figured I would have to walk most of the way, but I ended up running almost the entire race and was so proud of myself by the end! Keep it up!

  14. Jessica October 19, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    Way to go on the race. I’m really happy for you. That is a great accomplishment! YAY!

  15. Amanda October 19, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

    Way to go on your race! It is always good to go into a race with a goal in mind. I’m glad you were able to do the race the way you wanted to. It’s always a great accomplishment to complete them!!

  16. Cait October 19, 2010 at 10:47 pm #

    Congratulations! I’m glad you were able to meet all of your goals. :)

  17. Emily Jane October 20, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    HUGE congratulations! I love stories of people proving they can when they’ve been told they can’t. Way to go!!

  18. Manderz October 20, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    That is wonderful to hear! I’m so proud you pushed yourself to keep running – and look at everything you accomplished!! Yay! Best of luck with your future races and training.

  19. katelin October 20, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

    nicely done lady! so proud of you. woo woo nora the runner!!

  20. oh October 20, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

    You’re are the coolest of the cool. I admire your courage, your ability to get off the couch and get outdoors and train, your attitude, your getting up and out early to do the race and congrats on finishing this one and looking forward to many many more.
    Big hugs.
    Darling

  21. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks October 21, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    Oh yay, I finally get a recap of your race. So glad to hear it went smoothly and you accomplished all your goals. Impressive! And you know what? If you keep running without issue and I get back on the bandwagon in 2011, maybe we can find a 10K to run together!!! It’ll be like the good old days (of not). ha.

  22. Suburban Sweetheart October 21, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    You’re a beast. The good kind. The really admirable, impressive kind.

    <3

  23. car rims October 23, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

    ghost ride that whip

  24. kilax October 25, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    I am so happy to hear you are back to running! Congrats :)

  25. phampants October 26, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    “That’s when I decided that there would be no more walking.” Oh that moment of empowerment.

    congrats on the 10k Nora!

  26. Dream in Grey November 1, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    This is my impressed face.

    I’ve tried running and never managed to fall i love with it so well done lady x

Leave a Reply

