14 Responses to “Clearing out the Cobwebs”

  1. Ris October 21, 2010 at 9:30 am #

    I think you hit the nail on the head with “in my dreams everything was perfect.” Yes, I’ve had those dreams before. It kind of sucks to wake up and realize that everything isn’t perfect, but then I remember hey, the reason we’re not together is that things were far from perfect, and it’s good that it’s over. And then I’m ok with that.

  2. Kyla Roma October 21, 2010 at 9:41 am #

    I definitely have the same experience of reliving old relationships (actually, its usually the arguments! lol) and trying to see what else I can draw out or learn from them. For me it seems to be about letting go- distancing myself from it that half step more, and assuring myself that I’m not going to make the same mistakes. :)

  3. mandy October 21, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    I’m always sort of fascinated when other people have dreams that they can so vividly recall. I rarely have dreams or I do dream, I usually don’t remember them. When I do, they are so seemingly real its disturbing.

    I like the idea that your dreams are your brain decluttering to make room for new memories and events just around the corner.

  4. Maddy October 21, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    I never remember my dreams, except for some of the hot steamy ones. But the few times it’s happened, it’s been with celebrities. I’ve had some weird ones too, like Jay-Z, Justin Timberlake , who I’m not in the least attracted to! Not sure what it means, except that I have an active imagination :)

  5. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks October 21, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

    I think your dreams are your sub-conscious telling you that you’re ready for what’s next when it comes to love. So, be open to whatever life hands you, because honey, you’re ready and capable to be in a relationship where you know what you want/need and actually get it!

  6. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair October 21, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

    I have REALLY weird dreams and sometimes I don’t know where they come from at all. I usually only remember them right after waking up.

    I’ve had a couple “scary” dreams lately. The other night I woke up WRITHING because I’d dreamt a snake was in my hair!! (I think it was websters tail flicking around by my head – that’s what I get for letting him sleep not only in our bed, but on my pillow :S) Haha!

  7. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns October 21, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    I think you are spot on – this was your minds way of working through your past and showing you that you are in fact ready for love… While you have been through some very tough things, you have also grown as a result and are ‘smarter’ dater. :)

    I have had really random dreams lately. Like on Saturday night, I dreamed that Tom signed me up for a bunch of 5ks and I was like, ‘NOOOOO!!!!’ I told him about it when I woke up and he thought it was a pretty humorous dream. I am taking that as a sign that I need a break from racing!

  8. Matt October 21, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    Guys have dreams like this too. A couple months ago I had a dream about my ex fiance that was exactly like yours. So vivid and she was so perfect…

    Then I woke up kind of mad that it was a dream.

    Weird.

  9. Amy --- Just A Titch October 21, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    I have the most vivid dreams and I always feel as if there’s something to be learned from them, too. I think you sound spot on in your interpretation.

  10. Suburban Sweetheart October 21, 2010 at 9:37 pm #

    I used to have a problem of dreaming about simple, mundane things like running errands & making phone calls to my mother. It was terrible, because I’d wake up thinking I’d done most of the things I needed to do, & throughout the day, I could never keep track of what was real & what wasn’t!

  11. WonjuWife October 21, 2010 at 11:54 pm #

    Um, YES. I often have vivid dreams of exes, and I always wake up feeling so weird. Because um, my husband is right next to me! And I end up in this weird emotional funk most of the day, because I know what happened in the dream wasn’t real, but the emotions carry over into reality! It’s really strange how connected I feel to people and friends I dream about. It’s like I can’t disconnect my heart from the dream, so I walk around all day feeling those things. Isn’t that strange? I don’t know about the next big thing. I’m onto the LAST big thing, and I’m still dreaming about the past sometimes. Maybe it’s just the way you weave people into who you become. You can get rid of the person, but you never really rid yourself of the person you were growing to be while you were with them. Hmmm…

  12. Manderz October 22, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    My dreams (that I remember) tend to be very non-sensical and not always physically possible in this world. And if my brain is decluttering (an idea I love), I’m not exactly sure why there’s a recurring theme of me naked in public. Lol.

  13. Ashalah October 22, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    I love the meaning you pulled out of this. That’s a great way to think of it, clearing the way for what’s next, what’s better. I always have terribly vivid dreams and sometimes my exes show up in them. I sometimes kill them off in my dreams which is always odd and sometimes can be really upsetting. Anyway, I like to think our brain is working through things going on in real life but they come out kind of…weird in our dreams.

  14. terra October 27, 2010 at 8:59 am #

    My brain has been throwing me similar dreams lately. I’m really not sure what it’s all about but maybe it’s a goodbye. A this is what isn’t parade of lives I could have led, but didn’t. For the better.

Leave a Reply

