Grace in Small Things: Week Eight

29 Oct

 

* This interview. It makes me smile every time. Fact.

* A very friendly and informative customer service rep at PetSmart this week while shopping for Jack.

* One of my friends who was injured in Iraq last year is coming home on Monday; he’s come so far in his recovery and I’m thrilled that he’s able to come home for a month to be with his friends and family.

* An insanely productive and busy week at work that won’t stop on Friday but leaves me feeling accomplished.

* Nilsa had her baby and he’s beautiful. (Which is a not a surprise; I mean, have you seen how adorable Nilsa & Sweets are?)

* Learning to let go of my past demons and learning to be ok with those that are still sticking around.

* Darling (my mom), showing me her Halloween costume early because she is just *that* excited about it.

* Chocolate Peanut Butter Brownies. I’m not normally a fan of peanut butter baked goods but this recipe is delicious. (And yes, I will share. I owe a few recipes to the blog world so I’ll get them out next week!)

* Rocking out to the Black Keys albums that my brother gave me for my birthday. I just love the simple dynamics to their music.

 You know the drill; play along on your blog or join in the comments!

(Also, good luck and early Congratulations to the lovely E.P. who is getting hitched tomorrow!)

12 Responses to “Grace in Small Things: Week Eight”

  1. Becky October 29, 2010 at 7:19 am #

    The patience of my husband as I ran around trying to get things ready for this weekend – especially considering he hasn’t been feeling well.

  2. Jennifer October 29, 2010 at 8:41 am #

    What is your mom going to be for Halloween? Do tell!

    My GIST: A husband who RAN up to Schnuck’s to get my break and bake cookies because I was craving them. I was home with a fussy baby and it was getting late and he still needed to work out. He didn’t tell me ahead of time, but he came home with such a sweet surprise.

  3. Kim October 29, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    I’m also curious as to what your mom is going to be…

    I’m grateful for getting through my exam yesterday. i barely did it and probably flubbed part of it, but it’s over.

  4. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair October 29, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    Sleeping in until 7:30 this morning. That was blissful :)

    Happy Friday AND Happy Halloween!

  5. Suburban Sweetheart October 29, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    My mom texted me a photo of her in her Halloween costume early. She’s… a hippie. Ha.

  6. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns October 29, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

    Let’s see…

    1. You. Always being there for me. Always available on email, whatapps, etc. :)

    2. Unexpectedly stumbling across the perfect gift for a friend while browsing at Anthro this week.

    3. Scarves. I am wearing one today. I need to wear them more often.

    4. Hearing the joy in my friend’s voice when she called to say that she loved the blanket I crocheted for her!

  7. Amanda October 29, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

    Can I just say that I really love this series? It always reminds me to be thankful. Especially during hard weeks!

  8. Stephany October 30, 2010 at 9:48 am #

    I think good customer service is one of the best GiST ever. Seriously.

    Chocolate peanut butter bars? Sounds AMAZING! Can’t wait to hear the recipe!

  9. oh October 30, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    this is a great idea, this “grace in small things.” Now I’m gonna sit here ’til I think one up….
    ….
    ….
    The way our old beagle waits for me to help him up and down the stairs. He wags his tail and waits for me to lift and carry him.

    One more…
    The leaves in the front yard; they get me to come outdoors and kick around in them and rake them. And remind me how much I love being outdoors!

  10. Meaghen October 31, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    Chocolate peanut butter brownies? Sounds amazing! I love chocolate and peanut butter, so I’m already sold on the amazingness of the recipe!

    That’s very exciting that your friend is coming home from Iraq!!

  11. Jessica October 31, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

    Great list! So glad to hear your friend is coming home and that he’s made progress in his recovery. That is such great news.

  12. Margarita November 2, 2010 at 10:15 am #

    *My puppy Reeses, who is an adorable little princess

    *My daughter, who is a real princess all the time

    *And the fact that I get to live in this amazing place!

Leave a Reply

