1. The October Obsession List

1 Nov

Can we just talk for a second about how today is November 1st? As in Thanksgiving is soon? And then Christmas? I can’t even believe how fast this year is flying by. Now that I’ve got that out of my system, we can talk obsessions. I’ve got quite a few, particularly in the music department.

* “Monster Trail Mix,” from Target. So addictive. So delicious. So bad for the waistline.

* My new phone, a Samsung Galaxy. I love the Droid platform, the touch screen, the speed, the quality of both sound and camera. I don’t know why it took me so long to make the switch; I finally feel like part of the “in crowd,” with a touch screen and the endless amount of apps that are available to me.

* I was gifted a Microsoft Zune for my birthday in September and seriously, it’s amazing. I know a lot of people love iPods but I’m a strictly PC house, so the Zune it is. The Marketplace (aka where I can download as much as I want for free a month) is fabulous and amazing. I’ve been introduced to new artists, rediscovered some of my old favorites and rather than watch tv each night I’ve started listening to music each night before bed. The result? Blissful sleep each evening. (And no, they didn’t pay me to talk about this, I just love it that much. It goes every where with me.)

* My journaling. As a result of the creative journaling class I am taking I’ve started to hone in on my journaling skills. I’m sure to most people it’s probably rather boring but it’s nice to have another outlet to privately sort out thoughts, feelings and etc. I haven’t really started in on the “creative” aspect of the journal but I’m working up to it.

* Neon Trees, Animal.  I hear this song on a daily basis and can’t help but sing to it at the top of my lungs.

* Zac Brown Band, Free. I’m sure I’m late to the game on this band but I’m in love (and quickly become a huge fan of all things country-esque. It was bound to happen.)

Any obsessions to share this month?

14 Responses to “1. The October Obsession List”

  1. AshleyD November 1, 2010 at 8:02 am #

    I’m not sure I even want to know what Monster Trail Mix is… it sounds delicious!

    This month I’ve been addicted to Joshua Radin. He has the perfect wake-up-calm-and-peaceful voice.

  2. Jennifer November 1, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE the Zac Brown Band and its chill music.

  3. mandy November 1, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    Is that the trail mix that we devoured in Minneapolis? My brother has a Zune and loves it. I have been journaling a lot lately too and its sort of comforting, like getting back in touch with an old friend. I’m glad that your class has been going well and I would love to hear more about it. And yes, the Zac Brown Band is amazing, they do a fantastic show.

  4. ria November 1, 2010 at 10:33 am #

    i need to get back to journaling and creative journaling sounds anything but boring.

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair November 1, 2010 at 10:50 am #

    I’m obsessed with OATMEAL and COFFEE this month (enjoying both right now!) Now that the weather is cooler I LOVE having my morning oatmeal/coffee combo while reading and commenting on blogs :)

  6. Suburban Sweetheart November 1, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

    I originally had a Zune, one my grandma bought me because she has shares of Microsoft, but it was the first incarnation of them & it sucked. A lot.So I returned it & got an iPod instead & never looked back – but I’m glad to hear they worked the kinks out in the Zune! Seemed like it had a lot of potential.

  7. Megan November 1, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    I’ve been obsessed with Taylor Swift’s new album. I never listened to her before, but I love her new stuff. I’m also re-obsessed with Ben Kweller’s self-titled album. I listened to him in high school, and I found his album the other day in some of my old CDs, and I love his music.

  8. Kyla Roma November 1, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    Oh a creative journalling class? That sounds fabulous! Right now I’m obsessed with knitting, I can’t stop! :)

  9. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns November 1, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    I’m obsessed with knitting. I try to get a row or 2 done whenever I have some downtime. I feel like I am goign to be the crazy lady w/ knitting in her purse – only because I feel a lot of pressure to finish this blanket before the baby arrives. he’s due 12/9 but I am pretty sure he is goign to come early… and then I’ve got those hats to do and…

    yikes. Deep breath. Note to self – this is a hobby…

    Anyways, besides that, I am obsessed w/ Riesling. Now that the marathon is over, I am letting myself have 1-2 glasses when we are out.

    And lastly, I am obsessed w/ the Pomegranate Margarita that was only $4 at the HH we went to on Saturday night. It was SO good, T got one, too! And he’s pretty much strictly an imported beer drinker!

  10. Maddy November 1, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

    I agree on this year flying by! It shouldn’t feel liek it’s going so fast:o/ Well, I’ll share with you my latest obsession…the Kindle! Love it :) Just got it on Friday and I’m already hooked! I’m also obsessed with all of Pugly Pixel’s fun clip art downloads! I ♥ them!!!

  11. katelin November 1, 2010 at 7:10 pm #

    i’ve rediscovered michael buble and my forever love of cheese and scarves. i don’t think any of that goes together, haha.

  12. Jessica November 1, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    I really love that Neon Trees song too. I first heard it in Napa and downloaded it right away. I’m also loving Taio Cruz too. I have to admit, I’ve never used a Zune, how is it different from the Ipod?

  13. Elizabeth November 1, 2010 at 9:51 pm #

    It sounds crazy but I’m a bit obsessed with ice water right now. I can’t get enough!

    Also, let’s not talk about Christmas yet. My baby will be full term at that point, but I really, really want her to wait until January! Time really is flying though.

  14. Tabitha November 8, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    You have an Android phone now?! Can we play WordFeud? (It’s like the iPhone’s Words with Friends, but awesomer and made for droids.) Let me know if you install the app and we can play! :)

Leave a Reply

