5. Friday Tidbits

5 Nov

It’s been a long week between work commitments, battling a cold, and adjusting to the increasingly cold fall temperatures. This means that today my brain is functioning in bullet points and you get a fun, random list of tidbits in my life!

  • I’m reading “Never Let Me Go,” for a book club that I’m involved in and I can’t put it down. I mean, I do put it down because I have to but when I’m reading it I’m fully engrossed. Apparently it is a movie, or is about to be a movie with Keira Knightley as the lead, and while she’s not my favorite actress I think I’ll want to check the movie out.
  • So remember how I mentioned that I love to rake? Well so far, we have raked about 32 bags. We aren’t even close to being done. Good thing it’s such a great arm and core workout (seriously, my arms are looking good!).
  • I’m super excited to announce that I’ll be reviewing a product for CSN Stores soon. You may recall that I did a giveaway with them earlier this year; they are a fabulous store selling everything from housewares for the kitchen to bar tables and stools for the breakfast nook or den and everything in between! Keep an eye out for the review soon.
  • The cold I’ve been battling (which I think is almost gone!) this past week really forced me to slow down. I spent my evenings reading, being lazy and watching cheesy chick flicks, actually getting my Google Reader down to zero (a phenomenon I never thought I’d see) and going to bed at a reasonable time.
  • I’m falling in love with country music. Send/leave music suggestions if you wish as I’m totally open to any and all new music.
  • This weekend is a weekend that is both planned and unplanned if that makes any sense? I have things to do but nothing crazy stressful, all fun, relaxing things. I’m so in need of some downtime and hopefully a very long date with my bed and pillows so I can’t wait.

What’s in store for you this weekend? Has the weather where you are officially turned into fall?

17 Responses to “5. Friday Tidbits”

  1. AshleyD November 5, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    Country music? I love Sugarland. At first I couldn’t stand the lady’s voice, but now I’m obsessed!

  2. Jennifer November 5, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    I’ve been sick to and some rest has helped!

    We have no plans this weekend and I am so excited about that. We’ll do a little cleaning, some shopping, but for the most part, I am just going to love on Sawyer!

  3. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns November 5, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    I can’t wait to check out that book! I need to get through 2 other books first… but it’s good to know that it’s a great read. I really like Keira Knightley so I will probably try to go to this movie when it comes out!

    I am looking forward to cooking dinner tonight. I am trying a new recipe. :) And then tomorrow night I am really, really excited for Julia Child night. It was so much fun last year, I think it’s going to be even better this year. I am just wishing I had a better french-inspired outfit…

  4. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair November 5, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    It is most definitely Fall where I am. In fact, rumour has it it’s going to snow soon so I’m going to put my winter tires on this weekend!

    Country music is by far my favourite kind of music. Brad Paisley, Taylor Swift and the Zac Brown Band are a few of my favourites.

    Also, and this is a totally personal plug, BUT you should check out my friend Kristy Howes. I went to high school with Kristy and she recently released a country CD and she’s actually REALLY GOOD! She has a very different sound than your typical country singer (Carrie Underwood, Taylor Swift) and I really enjoy her voice. If you’re into country music, you might want to check her out! http://kristyhowesmusic.com/

    Happy Friday!!

  5. Maddy November 5, 2010 at 11:26 am #

    Thanks for the book suggestion! I’m always on the lookout for new stuff and now I’m intreigued :) ave a great weekend! Hope you get all the R&R you need!

  6. Habbala November 5, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    We talk too much (not true). But I have already talked to you about most of these things… and I’ve told you my recommendations for your new country love…. sooooooooooo… HI I LOVE YOU.

  7. Becky November 5, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    Carrie Underwood for the voice, Brad Paisley for the clever-ness of his songs!

  8. Suburban Sweetheart November 5, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

    I had an intense country phase from 1996-1998, but I’ve never looked back, save a bit of Taylor Swift, & I don’t think she counts anymore.

    I HAAATE raking, but I do feel guilty about leaving my mom high & dry with all those Ohio leaves while I’m in New Hampshire for a few weeks!

  9. katelin November 5, 2010 at 4:46 pm #

    yay country music! i love pretty much everything keith urban and sugarland and lady antebellum and now darius rucker oooh and josh turner. :)

  10. Liz November 5, 2010 at 5:52 pm #

    Welcome to the country side!! I have a ton of CDs you’re free to borrow/burn if you’d like? Tim McGraw, Keith Urban, Rascal Flatts, Brad Paisley, Faith Hill, Brooks N Dunn, Dixie Chicks, etc. Currently in love with Miranda Lambert, Sugarland, and Zac Brown Band

  11. Stephany November 5, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    I think we might start feeling more fall-like over here. It’s cooling down again and I hope it’s here to stay!

    Have a great weekend!

  12. Joey November 5, 2010 at 11:48 pm #

    Fab-fab-fabulous book choice. Love this book. Love Mr. Ishiguro. LOVE “Remains of the Day.”
    Hope you enjoy the rest of the book. I don’t love Ms. Knightley either, but I really want to see this movie. I do, however, quite enjoy Sally Hawkins and she’s in this flick, so that makes me happy.
    We seem to have similar books tastes, I always look forward to seeing what you are reading.

  13. Elizabeth November 6, 2010 at 2:18 am #

    The Texas weather is teasing us it seems–it has been VERY fallish and blissful the last few days, but we’re supposed to get a spike this week some time. I love it all the same.

    This weekend is my shower, which I am so excited about!

  14. Erin November 6, 2010 at 3:19 am #

    I read “Never Let Me Go” for book club as well. I really enjoyed it, but I don’t think too many others were fans.

  15. nova November 7, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

    Did you finish the book? I thought it was a great book, mysterious and sad at the same time. I doubt I’ll see the movie though, at least until it comes out on video. I tend to get disappointed watching the movie after I’ve read the book.

  16. Mel November 7, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

    Glad you’re coming around to the finer things in life – country music is pretty darn awesome, if I do say so myself.

    Martina McBride has some awesome “kick ass girly rock”-type songs or anthems… I love Alan Jackson, Brooks & Dunn, Sugarland, JoDee Messina, Tim McGraw, Brad Paisley, Kenny Chesney (his new one – “Boys of Fall” is pretty awesome), Zac Brown Band, Carrie Underwood, The Band Perry, Taylor Swift (apparently I’m a 13-year-old girl), Rascal Flatts, Eric Church, Lady Antebellum, Corey Smith… I also suggest watching some CMT (and if you can watch that channel at the gym, I frequently find it energetic enough to work out to and they actually have music videos unlike other stations)!

  17. Leesh November 11, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

    I am so intrigued by the book/movie, Never Let Me Go. Will you be doing a book review? (Are you on Good Reads?)

    Since I am having trouble reading books these days (I have a bit of ADD), I may just have to go out and watch the movie.

Leave a Reply

