9. Hero

9 Nov

I mentioned that my friend who was injured in Afghanistan over a year ago was finally coming home, and that he did to over 200 members of the Patriot Guard, State Troopers, Firetrucks, American Flags hung at every overpass, his fellow members of the Marines, and hundreds of friends, family and members of the community.

I wasn’t able to be there but the newspaper articles, updates on the news, and photos that his parents shared with me last weekend when I went to visit him and welcome him home were absolutely awe inspiring and tear-inducing.

His story is not mine to tell but suffice to say that he it is a 100% miracle that he is alive and doing well. We all had no doubt that his resilience in his mind, body and soul would conquer the very extensive injuries he sustained while serving his country but to see him in person, telling jokes, stories, doing tricks in his wheelchair, opening up about the experience and what’s he’s been through this last year was nothing short of inspiring. He is a local hero; he has presentation engagements at local Veteran’s Day events, elementary schools and tv interviews coming up this week but through it all he doesn’t act anything other than humble about the entire experience.

He still has a long road to full recovery involving physical therapy, maybe more surgeries, and figuring out how to get him to be able to walk again.

I hugged him a little tighter when I saw him last Saturday during our four-hour visit. I promised to visit him again before he goes back East to the doctors who are committed to his recovery.

His bravery, his commitment to the Marine Corps and his outlook on what is in store for him in the future make me proud to be his friend, proud to have him and thousands others serving our country and so very thankful for their dedication to our nation.

To any men or women in the service, are related to someone who is, or involved with someone who is, who may happen upon this blog, you have my full respect and thanks forever and always.  To my dear friend who nearly gave his life over a year ago, thank you. Thank you for your courage, your strength, your dedication, your spirit and for being you. I have no doubt that you’ll triumph and overcome in the next year.

13 Responses to “9. Hero”

  1. Megan November 9, 2010 at 6:27 am #

    Sounds like such an amazing guy, and I’m thankful we have people like him that are willing to put their life on the line to fight for us. It truly IS inspiring!

  2. Becky November 9, 2010 at 6:59 am #

    So glad he’s alive and seems to be thriving despite what he’s gone through. I’m working on a post for Thursday (in honor of Veteran’s Day) because so many times the men and women in our military services just get glanced over and taken for granted and they do SO much. Thanks for the reminder.

  3. mandy November 9, 2010 at 7:46 am #

    Its so important to remember to say a huge thank you to the men and woman who so courageously go when called, to protect the rest of us here at home.

  4. Heather November 9, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    This is beautiful. Thank you for sharing. Thank you to the men and women of our armed forces who fight for our freedom. Thank you.

  5. Heather November 9, 2010 at 9:04 am #

    I wish your friend a healthy and speedy recovery.

  6. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns November 9, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    I am glad you were able to spend some time with your friend this weekend. What a miracle that he was able to overcome all that he has. I know he has a long road ahead of him, but he sounds like such a fighter!

    I am working on a post for Veteran’s Day and am having a hard time finding the words to express the appreciation I have for all the brave men and women who have given so much so we can enjoy our freedom…

  7. Stephany November 9, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    He sounds like an amazing man, with an amazing spirit. We are such a blessed country, and I think many times, we forget how blessed we truly are! Thanks for this beautiful tribute and reminder.

  8. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair November 9, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    Goosebumps. I am so so so glad your friend is OK and that you were able to spend time with him!

  9. Suburban Sweetheart November 9, 2010 at 11:59 am #

    Love this, & hope he has a speedy recovery, both physically & mentally, as I’m sure being overseas wore on him in more ways than one. I visited Arlington National Cemetery before I left D.C., & it was such a powerful experience, one that reminded me just how much sacrifice our servicemembers make for us.

  10. Kyla Roma November 9, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    I’m so glad that your friend is doing alright and that you got to reconnect! His sacrifice blows me away <3

  11. Elizabeth November 9, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    That sounds like a perfect homecoming, and I am so glad he is safely stateside.

  12. terra November 16, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    Sounds like quite the amazing homecoming! I’m so glad he was able to come home and that you were able to reconnect.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 11. Ten on ThursTuesday « Walking with Nora - November 11, 2010

    […] I kind of flip-flopped posts this week; to see my tribute to the Veteran’s and men/women who serve our country, check out Tuesday’s post, Hero. […]

Leave a Reply

