11. Ten on ThursTuesday

11 Nov

I kind of flip-flopped posts this week; to see my tribute to the Veteran’s and men/women who serve our country, check out Tuesday’s post, Hero.

I’m posting on a Thursday this week, but I liked the questions for this week so I just had to do them!

1. Who makes your Thanksgiving dinner?
Darling makes the bulk of it, but I help much more than I used to, making vegetarian dishes for my brother, desserts and a side dish or two. It’s so much fun to share the responsibilities, drink wine throughout the day, and have lots of laughs with my mom.

2. What is your favorite recipe the includes pumpkin? (bonus points for including the recipe)
Um, well, I’m allergic to pumpkin so I can’t answer this one. I hear great things about pumpkin pie and pumpkin squares.

3. What are 5 things you want for Christmas?
Jennifer Weiner’s latest book, an armband for my Zune, some fun and funky non-expensive jewelry, a gift certificate for my favorite Aveda products, and seasons of Northern Exposure.

4. Does your family draw names or do you buy for everyone?
We buy for everyone; we are a small family on Christmas day itself (my parents, my brother, my Gram); we do family presents for my aunts, uncles and cousins to all of them to keep it simple.

5. How do you feel about motorcycles?
Fascinated yet terrified. I’ve been on a “crotch rocket” a few times in my life and while they are fun they are also incredibly scary, especially when you’re making sharp turns.

6. What’s your favorite thing to do on a rainy Saturday?
Curl up with a good book which will inevitably turn into a nap.

7. What is the coolest thing to do in your city?
The coolest thing? That’s tough. Depends on the time of year I suppose. If it is spring/summer we have tons of fun festivals, free concerts and Forest Park (which, fun fact, is bigger than Central Park in NYC) which is chock full of free stuff: art museum, an awesome zoo, history museum, paddle boats, golf and so much more. It may not be the coolest thing to do but I love it. I guess if you’re going for the cool factor, going to see the legendary Chuck Berry perform which he does every six weeks even to this day.

8. Do you paint your fingernails?
Rarely. Currently they are covered in clear polish. I type *a lot* for work so it always winds up chipped and I get annoyed easily by that.

9. Who is your favorite actor over the age of 50?
Tom Hanks.

10. Do you have a high school letter jacket?
No, but I do have a letter from my days as a track “star.” The letter is collecting dust in one of my keepsake boxes.

13 Responses to “11. Ten on ThursTuesday”

  1. jen November 11, 2010 at 6:29 am #

    TOM HANKS IS 50!!!!!!!!!!!
    whoa when did that happen?
    and yes, you have the coolest zoo on the planet! just saying!

  2. Meredith November 11, 2010 at 7:45 am #

    Don’t you hate it when nail polish chips? I think the longest I’ve ever been without a chip was maybe three days. And that was a seriously long time.

  3. mandy November 11, 2010 at 7:49 am #

    So when I come visit, can we please go see Chuck Berry perform? I think that is amazing and would love to see him. Thanksgiving and wine go hand in hand. We all split up the duties in our family. My grandma makes the turkey, each daughter (there are 4) makes a few sides, and everyone brings a dessert. Technically my grandma handles the pies and tells everyone to not bring dessert but no one listens

  4. Erin November 11, 2010 at 8:03 am #

    I adore Tom Hanks. I can’t believe I didn’t think of him for my own answer.

  5. ria November 11, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    i have a letter from my tennis days, i never got a jacket. i remember my mom asking me multiple times if i was sure i didn’t want one lol

    small christmases with just the immediate family are so nice and cozy.

  6. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns November 11, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    I would love to check out that area of St Louis. Esp the zoo!! So cool to read about the fun things to do in people’s cities.

    I need to use clear nail polish more!

  7. Ris November 11, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    Tom Hanks! I watched Apollo 13 the other night and was just thinking to myself, MAN that guy is great in roles like these. He’s been in a ton of really good movies.

  8. Maddy November 11, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    You’re easy for Christmas!! All the things on my wishlist are photography related and unfortunately, cost lots of dough :( We buy for everyone too, but it’s getting overwhelming becuase the family continues to grow every year – and so does our shopping list!

  9. Suburban Sweetheart November 11, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    I wish Jennifer Weiner’s new book weren’t called “Best Friends Forever.” Such a cheesy title. I felt like such a GIRL buying it. Embarrassing.

    But… I enjoyed it. A trade-off.

  10. Stephany November 11, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    I’m the same way with books, lol. It usually makes me fall asleep! And it’s especially bad if I curl up on my bed with a book. There’s no hope for me then. :)

  11. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair November 11, 2010 at 11:26 am #

    I’m really looking forward to helping with, and contributing some of my own vegetarian dishes, to Christmas dinner this year :-)

    Crotch rockets SCARE me! I have only been on a real motorcycle once but I actually can’t believe anyone rides a crotch rocket. They are so freaky!!

  12. katelin November 11, 2010 at 6:22 pm #

    allergic to pumpkin!? how to you find that one out? yikes! also, tom hanks, excellent pick. and i rarely paint my fingernails, toenails all the time, haha. love these lists/questions, woo.

  13. Elizabeth November 11, 2010 at 8:08 pm #

    I did enjoy the zoo when I was there–it’s really cool!

    For Christmas we’re taking it easy on purchases–lots of restaurant gift cards. We don’t know if the baby will be here by then, so I want to make it as quick and easy as possible for us!

Leave a Reply

