12. Creative Journaling

12 Nov

I’ve mentioned a few times that I’m taking a Creative Journaling class (which counts as a writing class = counts to one of my 30 before 30 Goals!) and considering I’m pretty much in love with it I thought I’d share a little bit about it.

* The entire class is free. That in and of itself rocks.

* The lady who organizes it shares with us various ideas for journaling (inner child journals, tidbit journals, gratitude journals, travel journals), gives us prompts each week, and inspires us to try different writing styles. At first it’s awkward like the nature journal week where we had to write bird calls and attempt drawing various kinds of birds. (For the record, I  drew an owl. It looks a lot like a cat.)

* Last night we did some “gratitude journaling,” (which you know I love since I do Grace in Small Things each week). The best part? Darling shared her list with me and I shared mine with her. We had some overlaps which is really no surprise and had a few laughs/smiles over what we each wrote. And ok, maybe a few tears in the eyes too.

* I’ve found that through journaling I feel as though I’m improving my writing both in the journal and here on my blog. Not sure if it’s true or not, but my creative side is flowing a bit more than it used to. I guess that means the class is working!

* Did I mention that they provide treats during class? Last night the tables were chock full of peanuts + M&Ms as well as tons of tootsie rolls. So delicious.

* I’m not really on a regular journaling schedule per se, more just writing when the mood strikes which as of late is about two to three times per week. The cool thing is that unless I’m super exhausted, I’m writing about five to ten pages at a time. Who knew I had so much to say to myself?

* Last night we were able to convince (though it wasn’t that hard) the organizer to continue with this class after December. It will be more of a writing prompt/sharing/artistic journaling session each time but I’m ok with it because I really enjoy going to this class.

Do you keep journals besides your blogs? What kind do you keep the most?

15 Responses to “12. Creative Journaling”

  1. Ashalah November 12, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    That class sounds awesome! I would love to take something like that sparked so much creativity. 5-10 pages at a time?! I haven’t done that in years!

    PS. I giggled a little at imagining your owl that looks like a cat :)

  2. Heather November 12, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    That is wonderful. I use to journal but have stopped. Unsure why. By doing NaBloPoMo, I’m starting to get more comfortable blogging. I’m glad you like the class. Totally awesome that it’s free :) Lucky you!

  3. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns November 12, 2010 at 9:46 am #

    What a fun class! I would love to take something like this. I am not so great at the creative side of writing… I always admire your ability to describe the events of your life so poetically!

    I do not keep a journal… The only time I consistently journal is when I am traveling. So I am sure I will use one when I am in Paris!

  4. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair November 12, 2010 at 11:05 am #

    Omg I’m SO BAD at writing in my journal since I started blogging. I journal maybe once ever 1-2 months now. Sigh.

    I definitely have seen your writing take a more creative turn and I really like it!! :-)

  5. Manderz November 12, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    I haven’t kept a journal on a consistent basis since 2008 I think. And even then it was usually only a couple paragraphs, maybe one page a day. Writing just doesn’t flow for me – even blogging a couple paragraphs takes a decent chunk of time.

  6. Suburban Sweetheart November 12, 2010 at 11:53 am #

    I haven’t written in my journals for such a long time, & I truly miss it. I should MAKE the time for myself…

  7. Stephany November 12, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

    I have really never gotten into journaling. Maybe because it takes so much longer for me? My thoughts are going a mile a minute and my hand can only write so fast, hehe. But it’s something that’s been on my mind lately.

  8. Meredith November 12, 2010 at 7:10 pm #

    I think the last time I kept a journal was in eighth grade, and it was chock full of all of my little eighth grade crushes, all sorts of profanity (because I could, and it was eighth grade, and writing curse words in my journal made me feel ultra-artistic and cool). Then my grandmother came to pick me up from school one day and had it in the car. There was shame. I never picked it back up, because every time I tried to start a new one, I felt like I was writing to my grandmother since she’d read my first one.

    Now, I just don’t have that much time- I’m lucky if I get out a bi-monthly blog post most of the time. I need to get more creative and more committed, which it definitely seems like you’re doing!

  9. E.P. November 12, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    I want to write more outside of my blog… but I always get sidetracked, and I want to make time for actual journaling. I love the idea of this class you have taken, and I kind of want to take one of those now, too!

  10. Erin November 13, 2010 at 4:21 am #

    Your class sounds awesome. I always wanted to be the kind of person who kept a journal, but I was notoriously bad at it. I have a giant stack of pretty little notebooks with a few things written in them that were quickly abandoned. This class sounds like a great way to get going with journaling!

  11. oh November 14, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

    btw, it was pretty darn cool that you spoke up in class when she was asking people to share. Geez, you’re impressive, on paper and out loud!

  12. ria November 16, 2010 at 10:19 am #

    i would love to take a creative journaling class, how did you find it?

  13. terra November 21, 2010 at 8:48 am #

    I want to journal in real-life, with a pen and paper journal. I used to, as a teenager and back in college. I had journals all over the place and wrote all the time but someone it got put on the back-burner. BUT, it’s on my 101 in 1001 list to keep a journal for at least 6 months and I’m really hoping it helps me to pick it back up.

  14. mandy November 26, 2010 at 7:46 pm #

    I love that you journal as well as blog. I wish there was a class like that here that I could take. I love that you’re sharing entries with your mom, must be very special for the two of you.

  15. Leesh November 29, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    I use my blog as a journal but I was keeping a separate journal for my thoughts about my brother who passed away two years ago. This journal helped me get through an extremely tough time in my life.

Leave a Reply

