Grace in Small Things: Week Ten

13 Nov

* Best friends who email with me during the week talking about everything from careers to boys, TV shows to pets and everything in between. Somtimes you really need a shoulder to lean on, a different perspective, or words of encouragement.

* Hugs from the kids in the neighborhood that I babysit for. Even though I haven’t seen them in awhile the fact that they remember my name and take time from their play schedule to talk to me is pretty amazing.

* Raking 17 bags of leaves and feeling accomplished even though more leaves inevitably fall.

* Falling asleep listening to Ray LaMontagne.

* Jack cuddles, which are more prominent now that it’s a bit cooler outside.

* Discovering that I have no late fees at the library when I was sure that I would have one… this also meant that I borrowed three books.

* Snail mail containing birth announcements = pictures of cute babies = win all around.  

What little things made you smile this past week?

12 Responses to “Grace in Small Things: Week Ten”

  1. E.P. November 13, 2010 at 8:24 am #

    All of these make me smile.

    And this past week, having a husband who is willing to cook dinner when his wife works long hours has won my heart over. That and Theraflu with the warming solution or whatever. They are different kinds of awesome, but I love them both.

  2. Erin November 13, 2010 at 8:35 am #

    I am a big fan of pictures of cute babies. I have an addiction to taking them.

  3. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair November 13, 2010 at 10:56 am #

    Hmmm great list this week :)

    Emails from friends, kitty cuddles and good wine are at the top of my list this week ;)

  4. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns November 13, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    Great list! I like the top one on the list, of course! Thank God for emails from best friends to get you thorugh boring work days, right? :) And to work through life issues. :)

    Let’s see…

    1. Getting to leave work early on Thursday so I could run outside, catch up on tv shoes, and knit. Love it.

    2. Cappuccinos made by the barrister. :)

    3. Eating lots of Mahed potatoes at the Barrister’s bday dinner. Oh how I heart mashed potatoes.

  5. Suburban Sweetheart November 13, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

    I feel terrible that my mom raked all our leaves while I was asleep! I’ve committed to doing the next round, secretly, while she’s at work to make up for it.

    Things that made me happy this week: $4 AWESOME NECKLACE on super-sale, my mom’s goddaughter’s dance recital, anticipating my boyfriend’s visit tomorrow, hosting a blog giveaway, being successful thus far at NaBloPoMo, an hour-long phone call with my grandma, & being thisclose to opening my Etsy shop!

  6. Becky November 13, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

    17 bags of leaves! Holy cow you’re a rockstar!

  7. Ashley November 14, 2010 at 11:49 pm #

    17 bags? Is that even possible? Well, it must be. Color me impressed!

  8. Elizabeth November 15, 2010 at 12:35 am #

    Cold weather puppy snuggles are really the best thing! Mine have been burrowing into the blanket the second they suspect one of us is going to crawl into the bed. I adore that.

  9. mandy November 15, 2010 at 8:46 am #

    You are a machine when it comes to bags of raked leaves! I love emails from my friends too, some days they are what keeps me going.

  10. ria November 16, 2010 at 10:18 am #

    i died a little inside when i read you raked and bagged 17 bags of leaves. we spent 6 hours on saturday raking and moving leaves to the back of our property. ugh!

  11. lovelifelies November 16, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

    What made me smile? Cooking a frozen pizza and NOT burning it..=) For the first time.

  12. terra November 21, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    Good job on the raking! 17 bags of leaves?!?! We’re up to three so far, but that’s just part of the front yard. I love the trees we have all year round until fall. I hate the trees and all their leaves in the fall.

Leave a Reply

