Recipe: Peppermint Cookies

17 Nov

A few people asked me yesterday for the recipe for the Oatmeal Peppermint Cookies when I mentioned how much I like them.

I just discovered them last Christmas but they were a huge hit and I intend to make them a few times yet this holiday season.

(Side note: I can’t take credit for this delicious recipe, however. I found it at cooks.com. The only change I made? I don’t use the glaze on the cookies; I think they are better without them.)

Peppermint Cookies

1 c. butter
1 c. brown sugar
1 egg
2 c. sifted flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
2 c. quick cooking oatmeal
1/2 c. crushed peppermint candy

 

Beat in bowl the butter and brown sugar until light and fluffy. Blend in egg. Sift together flour, baking soda and salt and add to creamed mixture. Stir in oatmeal and peppermint candy and mix well. Roll in 1″ balls and bake on greased cookie sheet at 350 degrees for 8 to 10 minutes. Cool completely and glaze.

 

GLAZE:

 

1 1/2 c. sifted powdered sugar
3 tbsp. milk
1 drop food color (opt.)
3 tbsp. crushed peppermint candy

 

Combine powdered sugar, milk and food color and mix well. Drizzle on cookies and sprinkle on candy.
 
They are that simple, friends! I hope you enjoy!
Any holiday cookies I absoluately have to make this year?
6 Responses to “Recipe: Peppermint Cookies”

  1. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns November 17, 2010 at 7:47 pm #

    Those sound yummy! I haven’t experimented with GF baking… but last year my aunt got me sugar cookies and kiss cookies from a GF bakery and they tasted exactly like normal ones! That was the best surprise ever!!

    My fave treat to make is peanut butter balls, which obviously isn’t an option for you with your peanut allergy!

  2. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair November 17, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    Omg those sound SO GOOD, Nora!

    I will definitely be trying to make these :)

  3. Nicole Marie November 17, 2010 at 11:26 pm #

    Yum! I’ll definitely be making these. I’ve never had anything like them before. For the quick cook oats- would the old fashioned ones work? I think they’re the ones that take like 5 minutes on the stove.

  4. mandy November 21, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

    These sound delicious and I am definitely going to add them to the Christmas cookie rotation.

  5. E.P. November 28, 2010 at 6:01 pm #

    Those sound delicious, Nora! I’m going to have to give them a shot this year for holiday baking… because that’s one of my favorite parts of the season!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Baked Cookies! « - November 24, 2010

    […] Recipe: Peppermint Cookies (walkingwithnora.com) […]

Leave a Reply

