Big Flower

18 Nov

No, that’s not my new Native American name.

But it could have been last Friday.

You see, I was meeting someone special immediately after work. And about halfway through the day? Remembered that in my rush to look cute and put together, I totally forgot to put on deodorant. I didn’t smell but as soon as I realized I didn’t have any on I started to panic. What if I went to hug this someone special I smelled less than pristine? That would just not be ok.

I ran to the ladies room where I found some sort of Bath & Body Works spray. I spritzed it in the air, you know, to get a whiff of what it smelled like. It didn’t smell like a 90 year old woman or a really strong botanical garden so I figured I’d go for it and proceeded to spritz it just on the inside of my wrist when rather than a spritz a gush of the perfume spray came shooting out onto my hand, onto my blouse and my pants.

I immediately messaged Lisa and told her that I smelled like a huge flower and OMG how embarrassing and how could I possibly show up to see this someone special smelling like a huge Bath & Body Works Flower/Walking Ad? This is where best friends are helpful as she quickly asked if I had any optional clothes in my car to change into. Bless her heart, she was right. I was too wrapped up in my freakout to remember that of course I had extra clothes in my car.

Crisis averted.
I didn’t smell like a huge flower when I finally got to see the someone special.
Nor did I smell gross because I also realized that I had deodorant in my car the entire time. (Yes, seriously. I laughed at myself when I remember that.)
Thank goodness because I couldn’t resist giving that someone special a huge hug.

On my to do list now? Buy mini deodorant for desk drawer at work, as well as find a few trial size perfumes I like to keep in the purse, just in case.

Any funny similar experiences to share?

10 Responses to “Big Flower”

  1. Heather November 18, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    Awww…sorry you smelled like a flower for a little while. Glad you had everything in your car :)

  2. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns November 18, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    I am glad that this all worked out. I could help but laugh when we were emailing about it on Friday, though… and I am grinning ear to ear as I type this… Because it’s totally something that would happen to me!!!

  3. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair November 18, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

    I always have deoderant in my desk drawer, car, gym bag AND on my dresser at home. I am a freak but I HATE having even slightly sweaty armpits or the feeling that I have BO of any kind :D

    This story is kind of hilarious ;)

  4. Becky November 18, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

    Haha I love this!

  5. katelin November 18, 2010 at 7:20 pm #

    haha that is too funny, some of those things are just too smelly it’s ridiculous. but glad you had clothes and deodorant, you were over prepared and you didn’t even know it! :)

  6. Maddy November 19, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    Thank goodness for besties that bring us back to our senses! Glad you didn’t go around smelling like a big flower because overpowering fragrances always give me headaches :o/

  7. Stephany November 19, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    I’m not sure if you watch Modern Family, but haha, all I could think about was the Halloween episode and Cam saying, “Yesterday’s lazy becomes today’s crazy.” (in reference to him forgetting to bring his dry cleaning in & has a suit to change into.)

    I have had this happen to me so many times. Once, in middle school, the zipper on my shorts broke at the beginning of the school day and I had NOTHING to change into so I spent the entire day, trying to cover my crotch area. In middle school, this would fall under Worst Possible Things That Could Happen. Sigh, wardrobe malfunctions are fun.

  8. mandy November 21, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

    Haha, this made me laugh. Totally something I would do. I keep a travel size deodorant in my bag. Its served its purpose on more than one occasion.

  9. sleepyjane November 24, 2010 at 2:00 am #

    My sister bought silly string the other day, just to be, well, silly. She aimed the can at me and sprayed but the can had expired or whatever so instead of silly string this noxious liquid came out instead. Into my mouth. In my hair. On my neck.

    It was so gross but really funny.

  10. Emily Jane November 24, 2010 at 8:31 am #

    Too funny!! I love that you immediately messaged Lisa – I remember when something crazy and panicky happened to me and I texted blog friends too :)

    Glad it all worked out!!

Leave a Reply

