Turkey Day Tidbits

29 Nov

So I’ve been a super bad blogger lately. Truth is I’ve lost my inspiration when it comes to my corner of the internet. I’m working through it, or trying to, but lately I’m turning to my journal for writing rather than this blog.

And because I’ve been a bad blogger, I didn’t make it through NaBloPoMo. I don’t feel bad about it, though. It was kind of a relief to forget to post and then realize I couldn’t recover from it.

This also means that I was not the best at taking photos on my vacation last weekend to share with you. Not when I went to visit Erin and her babies (who, by the way, are beautiful babies and so much fun). I loved hanging out and catching up with Erin, holidng the babies and pitching in to help a little bit while I was there. No photos on my road trip to visit a certain special someone. And very few photos on Thanksgiving itself. (Perhaps that is because my mom and I spent close to 12 hours in the kitchen whipping up the Thanksgiving feast.)

What I can tell you is that my vacation was nothing short of wonderful. I had only one “vacation fail” where I checked my email to make sure the world wasn’t crumbling at the office (it wasn’t, or if it was they didn’t tell me about it). The rest of the time was spent laughing, enjoying new cities, new friends, old friends, baking up a storm, swapping stories with friends about boys and upcoming trips, relaxing, reading, buying new Christmas decorations with the family, planning Christmas lists and looking forward to the holiday season. I ignored my phone, all things social media and even hit the “mark all as read” button.  The past week reminded me that I need to step back more often, enjoy the immediate here and now more so for the next few weeks before Christmas and New Years and frankly, beyond the holidays, I intend to just that.

How was your Thanksgiving? Do you have any intentions for this holiday season?

12 Responses to “Turkey Day Tidbits”

  1. Habbala November 29, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

    My Thanksgiving was awesome. My Monday, however, is lacking you. HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO TELL YOU HOW P IS COMING OVER FOR PANCAKES?! HOW?! I can’t. And then I die.

  2. Suburban Sweetheart November 29, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    I definitely need a social media break. How do you do this? I’m unemployed. I can totally get away with it. WHY DON’T I?!

  3. Margarita November 29, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    Sometimes I feel like “super bad blogger” = super fun life. There is no way you can fully enjoy your life if you spend every minute of it thinking about blogging, and I’m glad you had such a fun weekend away from all media ;)

  4. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair November 29, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

    Stepping away is good! We’ll always be here when you return :)

    SO glad to hear you had such an amazing vacation – those are the best kinds :)

  5. Kyla Roma November 29, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

    Sounds like you had a great time! Being in the moment is so much better than documenting every moment, and inspiration comes and goes- just take it as it comes and know we’ll always be here for you :)

  6. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns November 29, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

    You are not being a bad blogger! You are just living your life right now and don’t feel like putting it into written word for the world to read. Which I totally get! :)

    My Thanksgiving was great but went by entirely too fast. And I also took too few pictures…

    This Christmas I want to focus on enjoying this time of year and not getting so stressed out about gifts and shopping and such. Well, I am doing so so since I have spent the whole afternoon obsessing over what to get the barrister… so yah, I need to work on that intention… :)

  7. Grace November 29, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

    I am feeling the same way about blogging. I’m hoping that inspiration will come soon.

  8. katelin November 29, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

    yay for a wonderful vacation, so glad it was a good time.

    my week was all sorts of wonderous as well so basically we get vacation wins! :)

  9. E.P. November 29, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    I’m so happy to hear you had a wonderful vacation and have taken a step back! Sometimes, that’s really nice… and definitely needed. I cannot wait to hear about everything going on with you, and we need to catch up ASAP.

  10. Jessica November 29, 2010 at 7:44 pm #

    I completely understand the blogging piece. The holidays are a good time to take a break and enjoy friends and family!

  11. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks November 29, 2010 at 8:39 pm #

    I’m pretty sure I beat you at the sucky blogger in November race. Sure sure, I’ve got an excuse. But, you know what? I don’t think anyone needs an excuse to take a break from blogging. I think breaks allow us to live life and reinvigorate ourselves for our return to blogging. Or at least that’s what I keep telling myself. =) Miss you, dear friend. xoxo

  12. Becky November 29, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    So glad you took time for yourself and to just enjoy the moment. My post tomorrow is actually how exhausting NaBloPoMo is!

Leave a Reply

