The November Obsession List

2 Dec

So I would have posted this list yesterday except I totally forgot that December started this week (seriously, it feels like 2010 *just* started) and I’m a bit behind this week…

* Baking.


I tend to get all cozy, homey and interested in all things related to the kitchen again around this time of year. For the last three or four weekends I’ve baked up a storm: chocolate & peanut butter fudge, chocolate cake cookies, cupcakes, vanilla pudding cookies and then cupcakes again by request. Fortunately I have a lot of people around me who are up to eat it all, otherwise we’d have a real problem (read: Nora’s pants wouldn’t be fitting).

* Family.


Again, I think it’s a season thing. I mean, I love my family all the time but lately nothing is more fun to me than sitting and enjoying time with the parents after a meal, relaxing, chatting, just being. I’m blessed to have awesome parents and even more blessed that they enjoy spending time with me, too.

* Christmas Shopping.

I tend to start my Christmas lists for friends/family in early November, just because there are always things I don’t want to forget. I’ve had the shopping bug since before Thanksgiving. It’s so fun. So addicting. So expensive….!

* Feeling Good.


About life. About work. About the direction I’m headed in. About my heart and the ability to love.
I smile and laugh much more than before; my heart and head is lighter.
I’ve been working towards being the original version of myself for quite someĀ time and it’s so lovely to really feel like I’m “back.” I don’t if it’s the season, that time really does heal all wounds, the fact that I have fabulous friends and family, or what it is, but I love it.

Other than that, friends, I’m sorry to report there is nothing I’m really obsessing over this month. I’m sure I’ll have loads of new things to love this month as it’s early and I’m already loving it.

What caught your attention this past month!?

13 Responses to “The November Obsession List”

  1. Ris December 2, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    I am currently obsessed with the Starbucks seasonal drinks, holiday music, and Mad Men!

  2. Jennifer December 2, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

    That cupcake pic makes me crave cupcakes. Mmmmmmm…

    I’m looking forward to seeing you this weekend!

  3. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair December 2, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    Baking, most definitely! I have been baking and cooking up a storm lately :)

    I wish I could say Christmas Shopping but I am SO BEHIND on that. I need to get it together soon!

  4. Jess December 2, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    OOOH! Cupcakes!

    That pic made me really, really, really want some cupcakes.

  5. Suburban Sweetheart December 2, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

    Sounds like a pretty happy obsession list. On mine: reading new blogs, making jewelry for my new Etsy shop, actually selling said jewelry!, spending time with my boyfriend even though he lives 12 effing hours away, planning a trip back to D.C.

  6. Habbala December 2, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

    I am wildly impressed with your ability to love too. You’re so brave and bold and I am so proud to call you my soul mate. And I will look so cute in the bridesmaid dress of your choosing.

  7. katelin December 2, 2010 at 7:48 pm #

    love this post. i hope i get into the baking mode now that it’s so chilly. and yay for family and holidays and christmas movies and wee!

  8. mandy December 2, 2010 at 8:37 pm #

    For me family was a big one last month. Spending so much time with my cousin recovering from her surgery and being around to help where I could, many of my days were spent with cousins, aunts, grandparents.

    Your baked goods sound delicious. Why can’t we live closer?

  9. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns December 2, 2010 at 8:48 pm #

    What a great list! :) So happy for you, friend! YOu have lots of great things to be excited about right now!

    This month I have been obsessed w/ Ranch dressing (random, I know, but it takes so good), chocolate covered cherries that I brought back from Seattle, and the new Taylor Swift CD. :)

  10. Becky December 3, 2010 at 6:54 am #

    I am super proud of myself about Christmas shopping. I think I’m going to be able to meet my “handmade holiday” quota for almost everyone on our list this year, and I keep finding great handmade gifts for awesome prices which is making our tight tight budget very happy!

  11. Kyla Roma December 3, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    “I smile and laugh much more than before; my heart and head is lighter.” This makes me so happy to hear! :)

    I’m still totally behind on Christmas shopping- I think we’re going to be those people running around on December 20th this year. Pray for me. Srsly. ;)

  12. Jessica December 5, 2010 at 8:40 pm #

    Wow I need to come over to your house if you’re baking like that :) I need to get back on track with that, I much prefer baking to cooking.

  13. Richard December 5, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

    My obsession of the season includes skipping work, watching corny Christmas movies and enjoying my wife and kids get big-eyed and spirited! Keep sharing. I sense a powerful end of year for you.

Leave a Reply

