Holiday Week: Wreath Making

6 Dec

Happy Monday and welcome to what I’m calling “Holiday Week.” Between all my holiday parties, holiday traditions and general excitement about the “most wonderful time of the year,” I decided I’d dedicate this week to all things holiday.

I’m kicking off Holiday Week with a recap about the wreath making class that Darling, my dad, Gram and me attended last Thursday night. This year it was drastically different in terms of methodology though still just as fun. The usual way that we make the wreaths involves a wreath frame, lots of pine, and wire so that we can keep the pine on the frame. (See last year’s recap here).

After we drove about 30 minutes south of STL, listening to Christmas music and chattering about our present wishlist, we arrived at a historic log cabin type home complete with retro-fitted heat, a warm fireplace, and a very random mix of people. This year we took a more natural approach as per the theme of the class. All of the trees and accessories for our wreaths came from the areas surrounding STL and apart from the wire frame, there are no additional materials needed to make these wreaths. Basically the technique was something like this: weave-a-wreath. It’s a lot harder than it sounds: I left the event with several splinters in my thumb, hives all over my hands and a bunch of gashes and cuts. The end result is so worth it though.

That’s me, focused and intent on making this wreath work! Weaving pine branches into a wire frame? Really not as easy as it looks.
Taking a few moments of time away from my wreath with my gram. It was her first year at the wreathmaking event and she loved it. Hers came out looking like something from England in the early 1900s.

Three generations of women; photo taken by my dad and he wanted to show the ambiance of the log cabin where the event took place this year.

My finished product! I love it. It’s much different than the ones I’ve done in the past but I have to say I’m kind of in love with the look of this one. It will soon be hanging from our balcony to add some color and flare to our Christmas decorations.

Have you ever made your Christmas/Holiday Decorations by hand? Anything in particular you’d like to read about during Holiday Week 2010?

16 Responses to “Holiday Week: Wreath Making”

  1. Becky December 6, 2010 at 6:45 am #

    Your wreath looks beautiful! That must have been so hard – I’m very impressed!!! (Excited for holiday week!)

  2. Kyla Roma December 6, 2010 at 7:45 am #

    You guys are so cute, and your wreath is gorgeous! I’ve never made a wreath, but I would totally try if I got to hang out with you, your mom and grandma :)

  3. Suburban Sweetheart December 6, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    Love it! And what a fun activity for you & your family. I NEED to decorate for Christmas once I’ve got a place of my own (where no other Jews live). I love Christmas decorations too much not to!

  4. Habbala December 6, 2010 at 10:30 am #

    I love your family. A lot.

    I have done garland before, and it’s fun. I have wooden red garland on my tree this year, but I can imagine wanting to do it with real berries and such when I have bebes.

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair December 6, 2010 at 10:36 am #

    Very nice! That is such a fun family tradition. I love it!

  6. pinkflipflops December 6, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    Beautiful wreath!! I have never made one and believe that I would be a failure ha.

  7. phampants December 6, 2010 at 12:40 pm #

    That’s so cool! I didn’t know ppl made their own wreaths

  8. ria December 6, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

    so cool! your wreath looks amazing :)

  9. Tabitha December 6, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

    Hooray for holidays! I love wreaths, and it’s so fun making your own rather than buying pre-made ones, right? I actually cheated last year and bought a fake wreath from Michaels, and then added all kinds of decorative stuff to snazz it up. :-P

    PS I’ve been SUCH a bad reader and commenter lately! I’m gonna try my darndest to be better, because I’ve missed being in touch with you!

  10. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns December 6, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

    Love the pictures! So nice to see what Gram looks like after hearing about her. what a fun tradition. Your wreath turned out so awesome.

    I am so so so so not crafty… so I have enver attempted to make a wreath or anything like that… But I decorate a gingerbread house each year w/ girlfriends. : )

  11. Elizabeth December 6, 2010 at 6:12 pm #

    I’m really not a crafty person, but that wreath looks like it was so fun to make!

  12. katelin December 6, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

    aw you are too cute and i love the wreath! i don’t think i’ve ever made any of my decorations, i really should try though. i can’t wait to see what else you share this week :)

  13. LovelyAnomaly December 6, 2010 at 8:18 pm #

    Oh, so pretty!
    I made a billionty wreaths for the flower shop before leaving for my new job, and it hurt my fingers. I also had SO MUCH SAP on my fingers. I felt like Clark Griswald after they dug up their Christmas tree!

  14. Ashalah December 7, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    Wreath making class sounds so much fun!! What a fun tradition with your family. Yours turned out so nice :) I’ve never made a wreath but I did make little flower pom ornaments this year for my tree.

  15. Jessica December 7, 2010 at 8:37 pm #

    Your photos are so adorable! the first one made me laugh because you look REALLY focused. I love this theme of Holiday week!

  16. terra December 8, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    I’m determined to make a wreath this year. I’ve never made anything holidayish by hand, but I really want to!

Leave a Reply

