Holiday Week: Movies

7 Dec

I know, I know, when you think Christmas you probably don’t think Christmas movies, but in my house we have certain traditions as to when we watch certain flicks…

You’ve Got Mail: Every year after Darling and I venture out for same tame (read: late) Black Friday shopping, we each grab a couch and enjoy this movie, often through eyes that are half closed.

Mickey’s Once Upon A Christmas: Most of the family still enjoys a good children’s movie from time to time, so we make sure to break out the Christmas cartoons. There’s something so adorable about Donald Duck’s nephews voices and Mickey and Minnie with their everlasting  love.

Love Actually: When I had my own apartment, this was the movie I decorated my tree to; now that I live with the folks, I tend to pop this movie in when I need a dose of romance and hope, laughs and joy.

Other holiday favorites that we make sure to watch, most likely on Sunday evenings or while we are decorating the house throughout the season are: Scrooged, The Holiday, A Christmas Carol (we own about five different versions of this movie, including the Muppet Christmas Carol), Elf, Santa Clause (all three of them), A Christmas Story (thanks to TBS and the 24-hour marathon on Christmas Eve) and lastly, National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation. (We own about 10 other Christmas movies, so it’s tough to get them all in during the short holiday season!)

What’s your favorite holiday movie?

20 Responses to “Holiday Week: Movies”

  1. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns December 7, 2010 at 7:04 am #

    Oh fun! I love holiday movies! My favorites are Miracle on 34th Street and Christmas Vacation! And Love Actually, too! And You’ve Got Mail is fantastic as well! I love putting movies on in the background while I am wrapping gifts and addressing Christmas Cards!

  2. Becky December 7, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    Elf is my all-time favorite. I also love How the Grinch Stole Christmas (either version), Home Alone 1 & 2, and of course White Christmas – you can’t get anymore classic than Bing Crosby!

  3. Ris December 7, 2010 at 9:11 am #

    My faves are Love Actually, Home Alone (the original) and The Family Stone

  4. Carina the Blogarina December 7, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    I am with you! Movies belong with the holidays! To me the ultimate xmas movie is Home Alone. Love Actually also, because everyone watches it – but personally I don’t like that movie.. Don’t know why.

  5. AshleyD December 7, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    Such good movie choices! Some of my holiday favorites are The Holiday (ha), The Family Stone, and Home Alone. :)

  6. Emily Jane December 7, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    Definitely Love Actually! But Scrooged and The Polar Express are also in there too :)

  7. Suburban Sweetheart December 7, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    I don’t know if we can be friends. You didn’t include “Home Alone.” I LOVE IT SO MUCH.

  8. Habbala December 7, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    Love Actually, The Holiday, Elf, and and Harry Potter movie. (They all have Christmas time)

  9. Anonymous December 7, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    The Gremlins!!

    Best christmas movie of all time. That or Jingle All The Way… depends on what you wualify as a “christmas movie”.

    I think technically, Gremlins IS in fact, a christmas story.. others disagree.

  10. Matt December 7, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

    whoops. just posted a comment under anonymous but it disappeared.

    sadness.

  11. katelin December 7, 2010 at 5:27 pm #

    love actually and the holiday are on my must watch lists, also added in there is home alone and the occasional babes in toyland. oh how i love christmas movies.

  12. Cait December 7, 2010 at 6:52 pm #

    My favorite Christmas movies are How the Grinch Stole Christmas (the cartoon version) and Home Alone (I like the first one the best). To me, it’s not a proper Christmas unless I’ve watched them. But I also love a lot of the others, like The Santa Clause and Love Actually. Oh! And Polar Express, too, though that mostly just makes me cry and cry.

  13. Jessica December 7, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

    I love all these movies but I have to admit, Love Actually is my absolute favorite. I cannot get enough of it.

  14. Stephany December 7, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    The Santa Clause is my all-time favorite Christmas movie! My brother and I quote it all throughout the year. :) Elf is also a new favorite!

  15. Erin December 8, 2010 at 5:56 am #

    Love Actually is definitely a favorite, but it’s one that I watch all year round. Elf is probably my favorite “official” holiday movie.

  16. Charise December 9, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    On Christmas Eve, I make Chinese food for dinner and we eat, drink lots of wine, and watch Love Actually and It’s A Wonderful Life. On Christmas Day, we bust out A Muppet Christmas Carol. I also try to watch all the claymation cartoons, Grinch, and The Holiday sometime during December.

  17. terra December 10, 2010 at 7:41 am #

    It has been YEARS since I’ve seen You’ve Got Mail. I used to LOVE that movie!

  18. Leesh December 13, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    My favorite holiday movies are Love Actually, The Holiday, Elf, This Christmas, Home Alone 1 & 2, The Family Stone, Santa Clause, Jingle All the Way and Polar Express.

    This is a great post. I loved reading all the comments and now, I have more movies to add to my list that I need to watch before Christmas.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fave Christmas Movies of All time « Miss Blue 02 - December 12, 2010

    […] Holiday Week: Movies (walkingwithnora.com) […]

  2. The 12 Days of Anecdotes – Day 7 “Little Full… Lotta Sap” | Biz e-Mom.com - December 13, 2010

    […] Holiday Week: Movies (walkingwithnora.com) […]

Leave a Reply

