The Holiday Week Confessions

8 Dec
Santa Claus (in Kobe Japan)

Image via Wikipedia

 

* I believed in Santa Claus until I was eight. Yes, I’m serious. I guess I was a gullible child.

* Sometimes I listen to Christmas music before Thanksgiving, but I don’t tell anyone.

* On Christmas Eve you’d think I was a five year old still. I can’t sleep. I toss and turn. I listen for my parents putting my stocking by my door. And I wake up at 6 am every year without fail.

* I really, truly do not need anything for Christmas this year. That’s something to be thankful for right there.

* I kind of have a shopping problem and insist on present parity between my family members, as in, each person must get the same number of presents from me. So if I buy my brother five? Everyone else gets five. Maybe I’m a little OCD?

* I’m 27 and I kind of want to go get my picture taken with Santa Claus.

* Each year when it’s time for Christmas cards I contemplate getting a photo of me and Jack taken to use but then I change my mind. Maybe one year…

* The Jim Carrey version of “How the Grinch Stole Christmas” terrifies me.

* I love, love, love and watch, for 24 straight hours, “A Christmas Story,” on TBS. It seems that no matter what I always catch the movie in the same place but I just can’t get enough.  

* Each year my dad and I have a little mini “wrapathon,” and it is one of my favorite Christmas traditions.

* I don’t like rude people as a general rule but I really don’t like them during the holiday season.

* I sing Christmas songs at the top of my lungs on my way to work everyday. On a related note, no matter who sings O Holy Night, I wind up crying. It gives me chills (the good kind) each time.

What are your holiday-related confessions?

17 Responses to “The Holiday Week Confessions”

  1. Becky December 8, 2010 at 7:02 am #

    O Holy Night always gives me chills too! There’s an amazing (instrumental) version on one of Jim Brickman’s CDs – seriously get it. He plays the piano and there’s a stringed instrument that accompanies him in that song – ohhhh man.

  2. jen December 8, 2010 at 7:33 am #

    i still believe in santa clause…

    never saw a christmas story until college, dont really get it…

    i still get super excited christmas eve, just like when i was a kid, minus the barfing…

  3. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns December 8, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    I don’t remember when I stopped believing in Santa Claus… might have been older than 8, actually. And then even after I knew the truth, I continued to pretend I believed in him so I could continue to get presents from him… I was worried my parents would stop giving us Santa gifts if I told them I knew the truth! ;)

    I want to like the movie “A Christmas Story” but I just don’t… I know that makes me a Grinch, but I just am not a fan of the movie!

    If my parents decided to stop giving us Christmas gifts, I would be totally ok with this… the older I get, the less I care about what I get as it’s more about watching my nephews open gifts!

    I can’t stand egg nog. The thought of drinking it makes me want to throw up! :P Luckily it’s not something we drink in our house around the holidays, unless my brother from Chicago comes home. Then he brings a huge jug… but he is the only one who likes it. I don’t think he realizes that, though!

    I still get super excited for Christmas Eve, too. The anticipation of being together with family prevents me from falling asleep, too! this year I will work on Christmas Eve so I feel like that day is going to crawl by!!

  4. Suburban Sweetheart December 8, 2010 at 9:12 am #

    I’m scared of the Jim Carey Grinch film, too! I’ve never seen it. And I wish SO MUCH that I had a stocking.

  5. Amy December 8, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    I cry during O Holy Night, too. And I refuse to acknowledge anything other than the original cartoon Grinch movie.

  6. Joey December 8, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    I was married on dec 23rd and we incorporated some Christmas songs into the ceremony (obviously!). I love O Holy Night and this was played as we exited, but we also lit candles during Silent Night, so this is extra special for me.
    I hate driving in snow, but I LOVE when there is a nice, thick blanket of snow in the week leading up to Christmas. Everything seems so quiet.

  7. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair December 8, 2010 at 11:26 am #

    I am SUPER excited to go home and see my family but at the same time slightly dreading us all being together on Christmas Day because some sort of argument or bicker-fest inadvertently breaks out.

    I still haven’t finished my Christmas shopping :( I swear it’s so hard when your on a tight budget and can only get each person ONE thing!

  8. Stephany December 8, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

    I was in 2nd grade when I stopped believing in Santa Claus, and only because the kids in my class made fun of me. :(

    I am a five-year-old as well on Christmas Eve. Last year was the first year I ever slept a full 5-6 hours on that night in what seems like forever.

    I go overboard in gift giving, but since it’s my only time of the year to do so, I give myself a little leeway. :)

    I buy things for my dog and wrap them up and put them under the tree. (Except for treats!) He’s very well-behaved and doesn’t snoop. ;)

  9. Jennifer December 8, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

    I don’t like old Christmas movies.

    I hate “The Drummer Boy” song.

    I may not get professional Christmas pictures with Sawyer in it this year. We take a gazillion pics of him anyway.

    I love it when cards come with a letter with updates.

  10. Stevie December 8, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    I believed in Santa Claus until I was 12. Yeah.

    I’ve already watched Home Alone 4 times since Thanksgiving and will probably watch it at least 8 more times before Christmas.

    I worked as a gift wrapper at Macy’s during Christmas one year and am extremely proud of the gift wrapping skills I gained.

  11. katelin December 8, 2010 at 6:38 pm #

    dude i believed in santa until i was 12, i was super gullible and so into the spirit of christmas, i never pried or looked for presents or anything, heck i’m still that way.

    and i’ve been blaring xmas music every morning, it’s rejuvenating.

  12. Ashley December 9, 2010 at 12:47 am #

    I laughed just picturing you singing Christmas songs at the top of your lungs in the car. How cute!

  13. Erin December 9, 2010 at 6:27 am #

    I believed in Santa until I was in 4th grade. It’s cool to be a believer!

  14. terra December 11, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    I’m pretty sure I believed in Santa until I was 9 or 10. My mom is a really, really good liar.

  15. Cait December 12, 2010 at 5:10 pm #

    This year was my first time watching A Christmas Story all the way through. My dad and aunt love it, so my cousin and I kept trying to watch it when it’s on for 24 hours, but we never got a chance to see the whole thing. I absolutely love it.

  16. Jessica December 12, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

    Um, I had my picture with Santa yesterday and it was amazing. SOme kids were holding up the line though, I gave them a little push :)

  17. Leesh December 13, 2010 at 10:42 am #

    I totally get choked up when I hear O Holy Night and just like you, it doesn’t matter who sings it.

    I anxiously wait every year for Last Christmas by Wham to come on the radio while in the car. I know that we have it in iTunes but it’s not the same. Once I hear it in the car, Christmas is truly here!

Leave a Reply

