Holiday Week: The Story of this Year’s Trees

9 Dec
christmas tree explosion (day 9 of 365) EXPLOR...

Image by stephenvance via Flickr

So earlier this year we had a flood in our basement and sadly a ton of our Christmas decorations were lost. We’re talking lights, trees, garlands, rugs, tree skirts, etc etc. The upside? This means that Darling and I got to go shopping for new decorations, including the Christmas trees. (We used to get real trees but after having a three year bad run of a “tipping tree,” a “leaking tree,” and a “crooked tree,” we decided faux trees were the way to go. Plus we can be obnoxious and leave them up until January 7th. And yes, I said *them*; we have two trees each year.)

Darling and I go shopping on Black Friday; not the hardcore up at 4 am shopping but the leisurely “oh isn’t this fun!?” kind of shopping closer to 8am. Each year we go to Target, where we inevitably buy ourselves a pair of Christmas PJs, then on to Home Depot or Lowe’s to look at Christmas decorations and then to breakfast. So this year, when we got to Home Depot and saw two faux trees that were totally within our budget (thank you amazing sales, two faux trees for less than the price of one!) we knew we had to get them.

As we are wheeling the really awkward tree boxes out into the parking lot we realize that we have my mom’s car. A Honda Civic. A TWO Door Honda Civic. Poor planning.

We start laughing hysterically before we even attempt to get the trees into the car.

But get them in we do after much pushing, shoving, maybe some swearing, a ton of laughter, turning down a few offers to assist from the extremely helpful Home Depot staff (seriously, they are amazing!). We wanted to do it ourselves. We contemplated Darling running home to get my dad’s Mercedes SUV, or waiting for my boyfriend to get into town as he has a fabulous truck, but no, we did it. We Did it! I had to sit with my knees crunched into the dashboard with our Target bags on my lap but the trees made it home in one piece. When we told my dad what happened all he could do was laugh, shake his head and say “you girls.” So did the boyfriend.

(Trust me, it was a really funny sight, but maybe you had to be there? I don’t know.)

Darling and I also may or may not have insisted on putting up the rest of our Christmas lights in 15 degree weather this past weekend. This also may or may not have involved lots of laughter, a few more splinters, tree bark in my eye, and scaring ourselves when we heard rustling in the bushes. Our house looks totally awesome though.

 Any funny Christmas tales to share?

7 Responses to “Holiday Week: The Story of this Year’s Trees”

  1. AshleyD December 9, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    These stories made me smile. It sounds like you and Darling have so much fun together. I love it! :)

  2. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns December 9, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

    Aw, I love it! I can see this happening to me. And I am also the person who refuses the help of store staff! ;) Too funny!

    We always had artificial trees. Then my parents decided to try a real one. Which tipped over on my brother when he was laying on the recliner by the tree. It was sort of hilarious, but I didn’t have to deal w/ vacuuming up the pine needles, etc… so after that snafu, we are articificial tree people…

    Love your story! You should share pictures of your trees!

  3. Suburban Sweetheart December 9, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    My mom & I decided, when I was a freshman in high school, that we would get a real Christmas tree so that our foreign exchange student could have some semblance of an American Christmas. So while he was at swim practice, we bought one, hauled it home, set it up, tied it with fishing wire to a window frame so it wouldn’t fall over… God, it was a spectacle. I can totally relate to this.

  4. Elizabeth December 9, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    I’d love to see pictures too! Eric and I have a little fiber optic tree that my grandpa bought for my freshman dorm room. It’s the tackiest thing I’ve seen in my life, but I can’t separate from it, probably ever. Anyway, he’s addicted to it also, but we had no idea where it was after all of our moving. It was fun watching him scrounge around two garages looking for it. We found it!

  5. katelin December 9, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

    that is some serious dedication, i love it.

  6. Margarita December 9, 2010 at 11:23 pm #

    That story was so cute!! I loved reading it :)

  7. Becky December 10, 2010 at 7:03 am #

    I love this story because I can picture it happening!

Leave a Reply

