Grace in Small Things: The Holiday Edition

10 Dec
A promotional balloon for Glee in New York City.

Image via Wikipedia

* The Glee Christmas Album. I’m. In. Love.

* My evening drive home; I love seeing all the lights in the neighborhood and glittering off the highway. Such a beautiful sight.

* Christmas secrets.

* Sitting in the living room with only the glow of the lights on my Christmas tree.

* Totally cheesy movies on the Hallmark Channel (all month long!)

* Christmas Cards are coming in the mail; much better than bills.

* Picking wrapping paper; sounds simple but it is something that I take kind of seriously. It has to be the right combination of whimsy + maturity.

* Finding the perfect gift for friends and family after searching high and low.

* Making holiday plans for my week off at the end of the month: friend reunions, time to hold my friends’ babies, dates, and relaxation. I’m so excited to have 10 days off in a row!

* The “holiday lights” background I downloaded for my computer; I almost don’t mind being at work when I have fun backgrounds to look at.

* Really connecting with friends and family; there is nothing quite like it.

What kind of holiday things are you grateful for this week?

16 Responses to “Grace in Small Things: The Holiday Edition”

  1. Becky December 10, 2010 at 7:05 am #

    “Picking wrapping paper; sounds simple but it is something that I take kind of seriously. It has to be the right combination of whimsy + maturity.” You’re a girl after my own heart!

  2. Joey December 10, 2010 at 8:59 am #

    Listening to classical Christmas music on Pandora, white Christmas lights,and making plans with friends back home.

  3. Kim December 10, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    Christmas cards really do make the holiday mail so much better. It’s actually fun to get the mail again!

  4. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns December 10, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    – watching my nephews open their gifts! My gifts to them are boring as I give books + $ for their college accounts, but it’s fun to watch them open the fun gifts form others!

    – Christmas lights on the beautiful houses in my neighborhood

    – Being greeted by the warm glow of my tree when I return from work each day. This means a higher electricity bill, probably, but it’s worth it! Makes my condo cozy!

    – The thought of having fires in my fireplace, hopefully snuggled up to my someone special (I need him to build the fire… I don’t ‘do’ fires). ;)

  5. Suburban Sweetheart December 10, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    I love picking wrapper paper, too, & I downloaded a great laptop wallpaper from GreenEyed.com that I adore. And Christmas cards are slowly but surely arriving! I haven’t gotten more than two yet, but I loooove the suspense of getting the mail.

  6. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair December 10, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    Going home to see my family for Christmas!! I haven’t seen my Mom since August, my Dad since October and my Grandma and Brother since JULY! I can’t wait to see them all!

  7. Stephany December 10, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    -Gifts in the mail! I’ve been online shopping like crazy this year and it’s so fun to receive the gift that I purchased for someone else. :)

    -Christmas trees. No matter where they are, decorated or not, they never fail to lift my spirits.

    -Buying my first fake tree. I’ve been a staunch supporter of real over fake, but I have changed my ways. Fake is just SO. MUCH. EASIER! (We had the tipping tree problem last year, too.)

  8. Elizabeth December 10, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

    -Finding gluten free cookies that taste just like gluteny soft cookies.
    -A whole weekend with my sister coming up–there will be lots of shopping.
    -Tidying up our space and getting everything into an order that finally makes sense.

  9. katelin December 10, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

    finding the perfect gift for people always makes me so happy, one of the best feelings around christmastime.

  10. Cait December 12, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

    I am the same exact way about picking wrapping paper! My mom has an entire box downstairs, but I never use hers because she’s used it before and it’s not cute. She rolls her eyes every time I go out and find my own.

  11. Jessica December 12, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    I miss driving home and seeing all the houses decorated for the holiday. Ugh I can’t wait to go home and see all the decor! And, Glee’s holiday album was fab! I want it so bad

  12. terra December 13, 2010 at 8:40 am #

    I get very serious, every year, about picking wrapping paper. I go all out and try to make my gifts look as fabulous as possible.

  13. Maddy December 13, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    Finding the perfect gift for the hubby! I’m so excited to give it to him because I know he’s going to love it :) I love wrapping gifts around the holiday. I plan out a whole day and I surround myself with paper, tags, ribbons and just do a gift wrapping marathon! I also love to sitting in my living room with the glow of the Christmas lights. It’s so peaceful!

  14. Megan December 14, 2010 at 8:04 am #

    I just love the holidays! They’re so cozy. :)

  15. Emily Jane December 14, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    I wish we had the Hallmark channel, it sounds perfect for this time of year! And I just nabbed myself a copy of the Glee Christmas album… Rachel’s “O Holy Night” is gorgeous :)

  16. Antonia at Swedish Love Affair December 14, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    This week I’ve had a lot of cinnamon buns and glögg – I’m grateful for small things like that. They really remind me how near Christmas is, and that it’s time to get the presents for everyone (I know, I’m late!).

    What a nice blog you have!

    Kind wishes,
    Antonia

Leave a Reply

