What Christmas Means to Me…

15 Dec

This song by Stevie Wonder is one of my all-time favorites. And yes, you can find me singing it (loudly and likely off key) in a regular basis during the holiday season:

It also puts me in the best mood ever and reminds me of why I love the holidays so darn much.

Here’s what Christmas means to me this year:

Getting super excited about exchanging presents with the boyfriend (who needs a nickname, I realize this); we’ve both kept the hints and clues to a minimum and so basically I have no idea what I’ll be getting from him. ♥ Enjoying evenings by the fire combating the bitter winter cold (at least bitter winter cold to the STL, I know it’s worse elsewhere!)♥  Borrowing cheesy holiday books from the library and loving them so much I cry at the end. ♥ Making my list and checking it twice to make sure I have really completed my Christmas shopping (turns out I haven’t). ♥ Sneaking in extra time to sleep in the mornings. ♥  Continuing to decorate the house with Darling even though Christmas is 10 days away. ♥  Christmas Cards! This year I’m a bit behind but I’m 50% of the way done with them. ♥  Listening to holiday music all the time. I can’t get enough. ♥  Remembering the reason for the season and enlisting the help of my coworkers to raise money for some very worthy local charities. ♥  Lots of laughter, lots of great food, lots of time spent with family. ♥  Reunions and catching up with friends who are home for the holidays. ♥  Being thankful for all that is good in my life. ♥  Embracing the various assortment of tights I own as they really extend one’s wardrobe. Skirts + tights + boots in the winter? Don’t mind if I do. ♥  Remembering my grandfather; my heart aches for him at this time each year. ♥  Baking up a storm. December 23rd will be Nora in the Kitchen Day and I can’t wait. ♥ Romantic evenings out with the boyfriend, getting all dressed up, enjoying wine and then totally forgetting to take pictures because we are “in the moment.” ♥  Watching the excitement on the little kids faces as they run to see Santa at the mall. Too adorable. ♥  Christmas Puzzles! We do one each year and although we are missing pieces (on a new puzzle!?) we are forging ahead anyway. ♥  Dreaming of a White Christmas even though it surely won’t happen. ♥  Bubbling over with happiness, excitement, hope and general joy for all things going on in my life right now. ♥ 

 

What do the holidays mean to you this year?

11 Responses to “What Christmas Means to Me…”

  1. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns December 15, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

    Oh fun! We all really do have so much to be thankful for this year! For me, the holidays mean…

    – coming home to fun holiday mail nearly every day! I have gotten some beautiful photo cards this year of friends/family’s babies!
    – holiday drink sat Starbucks. I only let myself have 1 or 2 Peppermint Mochas but my goodness they are divine!
    – having a someone special to shop for this year for a the first time in a long time!

  2. Suburban Sweetheart December 15, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

    Sounds like so much fun! My mom & I are trying to decide what movie to go see on Christmas Day & which Chinese restaurant to eat at… :)

  3. rachieannie December 15, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    Love this!

  4. katelin December 15, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    love this whole dang post, yayyy christmas! :)

  5. Stephany December 15, 2010 at 6:51 pm #

    The holidays will look a lot different for me this year since my mom and I are hosting Christmas dinner, but it’s going to be a lot of fun! :)

  6. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair December 15, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

    Umm right now the holidays are INSANELY stressful to me as I’m trying to wrap everything up at work before my holidays next week plus juggling too many social events and freelance work (my own fault!)

    BUT as of next Wednesday (eeiii!) they will be baking cookies with my mom, hanging out with my brother and cousins, long chats with my grandma, coffee and breakfast with old friends, a VERY white Christmas in my hometown that has around 15″ of snow and more. I cannot wait!

  7. mandy December 16, 2010 at 8:18 am #

    I love this post and may have to do my own. You’ve come a long way this year and its been amazing to watch you grow and still continue to love — your family, friends, and a new love. I’m glad that your wrapping up all three into your Christmas and embracing the season.

  8. terra December 16, 2010 at 5:21 pm #

    For me, this holiday means curling up on the couch in front of the TV and space heater, sweet treats, fun holiday parties at work and friend’s residences, big cups of tea, shopping and attempting to find the perfect gifts for my fabulous friends.

  9. Jessica December 16, 2010 at 9:49 pm #

    I love this list! Such a good reminder about the things to love about the holiday. YAY!

  10. Cait December 18, 2010 at 2:00 am #

    This is a wonderful list! I too listen to Christmas music non-stop by this point in the season and love the excuse to bake to my little heart’s content.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dreaming about Christmas « 2zpoint Blog - December 15, 2010

    […] What Christmas Means to Me… (walkingwithnora.com) […]

Leave a Reply

