Things to Remember: 2010 Version

16 Dec

I’m borrowing this idea from the Reverb 10 posts that are floating around; yesterday’s prompt focused on 2010 and the things that you wouldn’t want to forget as you look back or if you lost your memory. This is probably one of my favorite prompts yet so here’s what I don’t want to forget about 2010, in no particular order.

How amazing blog friends are, both near and far, those I’ve met and those I’ve yet to meet. I don’t call them blog friends anymore, either. They are just true, honest, amazing friends. Without you all I’d be totally lost. I don’t want to forget how I feel so alive, vibrant and hopeful when I’m talking to these friends, how fun it is dancing to music while drinking wine, having late night conversations on video chat, the unexpected snail mail and much more.

Pushing through to finish my masters; it wasn’t easy. In fact at times it was incredibly tough but I reminded myself of what I’m capable of, that I can do anything that I put my mind to, and the reward/relief when I finished was well worth it.

Personal growth. There was a lot of it this year. Healing from a broken heart. Figuring out the next steps. Forcing myself into new and unexpected situations. Traveling miles to meet perfect strangers. Becoming a better sister, daughter, friend, employee, believer in myself. I learned how to listen to myself: to listen to my heart and soul, while still following my gut. I found my happy place again. I found my laughter and my smile again. I found myself, the person that I thought was lost. She’s not and it’s lovely.

I don’t want to forget the day I pierced my nose, or the weekends spent visiting my brother in his college town. I don’t want to forget the long walks with Jack during the dead of summer, listening to crickets and gazing at stars. I don’t want to forget the long conversations with friends that rejuvenated my soul. I don’t want to forget the look on my childhood best friend’s face during her baby shower, or the time I saw my faux niece’s photo for the first time. I don’t want to forget the weekend in October that restored my faith in a lot of things. I don’t want to forget the night I sat around the fire pit with my parents talking about my future, laughing and loving every moment of it.  I don’t want to forget the quality time I spent with my Gram where we truly connected. I don’t want to forget the ridiculous-ness that surrounded our Christmas tree purchasing or light hanging. I don’t want to forget the absolute joy I felt when I crossed the finish line of my 10k. I don’t want to forget the butterflies, smiles, electricity and energy of the last few months. I don’t want to forget the feeling of hope and excitement that I’ve had bottled up inside me since this summer when my entire perspective and life started to shift, all for the better.

What don’t you want to forget from 2010?

10 Responses to “Things to Remember: 2010 Version”

  1. Becky December 16, 2010 at 8:02 am #

    This is beautiful – and just inspired me to do a post of my own like this!

  2. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair December 16, 2010 at 8:37 am #

    I LOVE this post that everyone is doing for reverb10, it’s my favourite so far!

    I don’t want to forget the feeling of stepping off a plane into a foreign country with Eric and spending 3 weeks jetting around. I don’t want to forget the awe I felt when I saw the Eiffel Tower for the first time or waded into the Mediterranean. I don’t want to forget the sadness I had when I said goodbye to one of my best friends as she flew across the country. I never want to forget the experience of running a marathon (though forgetting the pain would be OK!)

  3. Ris December 16, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    I have loved reading people’s reverb posts on this topic! It’s so amazing to think back on the year and remember all the good times (and the not-so-good, it gives me great perspective). Love it.

  4. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns December 16, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    What a beautiful post! 2010 was really an amazing year for all of us.

    I don’t want to forget how I fought through career struggles and came out on top. I don’t want to forget the love and support of family and friends – I never would have made it through that phase of my life without people like you! I don’t want to forget our night at Chatterbox Pub – from the amazing conversation to the great food to music binog – the night was amazing! I don’t want to forget that buzz of electricity that I felt the night I met the Barrister. I don’t want to forget the road trip I took with Amber. I don’t want to forget the feeling of accomplishment and pride that I felt when crossing the finish line. I don’t want to forget ice skating with the Barrister. I don’t want to forget all the small moments that strung together, make me pinch myself as it all seems too good to be true!

  5. Stephany December 16, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    There is so much of 2010 I don’t want to forget, from creating my magazine to the morning I found out my grandma was cancer-free. All the fun times I had with my mom, going on road trips and just laughing together. 2010 hasn’t been a great year, but it’s been sprinkled with moments of absolute joy and happiness.

  6. mandy December 16, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    I need to do this in a post of my own. But one of the big things that I don’t want to forget was this amazing trip I took in August to meet up with three of my best friends for a long weekend. It was pretty amazing.

  7. Suburban Sweetheart December 16, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

    I love this post. I don’t want to forget being in D.C. with the people I love most, watching “Top Chef” together & eating Thai food & exploring the city. And most of all, I don’t want to forget the way it felt to follow my heart & take a leap – to figure out what my next step was.

  8. kazari December 16, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

    Perspective is such a weird thing – it’s strange how it can change your life when nothing actually changes.
    i love your list.

  9. Ashley December 17, 2010 at 1:56 am #

    Blog friends are the best. I thought I already knew that, but I learned it on a whole new level this year.

  10. terra December 17, 2010 at 9:12 am #

    I don’t want to forget my trips to Alaska, Seattle or Orlando. I don’t want to forget getting a new dog, rekindling old relationships or visits from friends. 2010 was a wild and fun year.

Leave a Reply

