Here and Now

20 Dec


Christmas is in five days. FIVE DAYS. I’m at work for only a few days this week and my mind is abuzz with all the things I still have yet to do… rechecking Christmas lists and the baking schedule for the week, trying to squeeze in meet-ups and hang outs with friends and bloggy friends in town (a lovely problem to have), working on carving out some very much needed me time, getting super excited to share the holiday with The Boyfriend  and meeting more of his family after Christmas is over. I have so much to look forward to in the next two weeks but sometimes the big picture can be a tad bit intimidating.

Moments like this I try to ground myself. Remember what the season is all about in every sense of the word. It’s about sacrifice, giving, caring, putting others above yourself, unconditional love, family, friends, joy, hope and peace. Sometimes I just need to slow myself down, so that’s what I’m working towards today.

I’m ignoring the lists I’ve made, the blogs I want to write, the phone calls that need to be returned. I’m doing only what is necessary and the rest of the time I’m going to refocus on enjoying the here. The now. I’ll enjoy each moment and each day as it comes over the next two weeks because sometimes that’s all a person can do.

Anyone else get a little stressed out during the holidays? What are your methods of coping?

12 Responses to “Here and Now”

  1. Kyla Roma December 20, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

    “I’m doing only what is necessary and the rest of the time I’m going to refocus on enjoying the here.” It sounds like from this, you’re totally on the right path! :)

    My holidays are feeling a little stressful, mostly because I’m still working all next week. I’m definitely trying to do similar things though- especially by finding ways to make more time and to be more relaxed through out the holidays :)

  2. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns December 20, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

    Yes, I feel like this at times, too. Then I try to remember what really matters and focus on that. I have to let go of everything being ‘perfect’ even though that is hard for me to do. For me, I am going to focus on the joy my nephews will exuberate – and hope that a little bit rubs off on me!

  3. Stephany December 20, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    I haven’t really felt all that stressed this holiday season, I have to say. I’m sure as the day draws nearer, I will because I still have a few places I need to go to pick up gifts but I’m just going to try to enjoy the moment because soon this season will be over and we’ll have another 11 months to wait!

  4. Elizabeth December 20, 2010 at 4:35 pm #

    This is probably one of the most laid back holiday seasons I’ve had–normally we juggle many, many family obligations, but I’m pulling pregnancy card to back out of some of them so I can keep getting rest. That said, I was able to relax my standards about gifts/wrapping and all that, which has been wonderful all around!

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair December 20, 2010 at 4:50 pm #

    Yes, yes yes! I have SO MUCH to do before flying home on Wednesday I have no idea how I’m going to fit it all in! For now I’m just focusing on getting the most important stuff done because nothing else will matter once I’m home with my family on Thursday afternoon :)

  6. mandy December 20, 2010 at 5:37 pm #

    While I don’t feel stressed, I am looking at my list (yes, you read that right, I have a list) and its getting longer. I’m going to get in what I can, not worry about what I can’t and drink wine just for the hell of it. =)

  7. Ashley December 20, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

    I couldn’t let myself think about holiday stuff until I finished school for the semester and now I’m done, and I don’t even know where to start on the holiday stuff. I’m traveling home to Washington and I have yet to purchase a single present! But, there’s not a lot of pressure on me, so I’m trying to just have fun.

  8. katelin December 20, 2010 at 7:39 pm #

    oh man i feel ya lady, i’m trying to not be stressed but i feel like there is just so much to get done in the next few days, and this rainy weather and busy schedule is not helping at all! just have to keep telling ourselves it’ll all be okay and we’ll get it done and it’s christmas after all :)

  9. Jessica December 20, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    Such a gorgeous post and a wonderful reminder about the holiday. Yes, I do get stressed at the holiday because I’m wrapping things up at work and traveling back home so it’s always stressful, but when I get home, I totally relax and focus on what’s important.

  10. Becky December 20, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

    I totally agree with your way of dealing with the holidays – just enjoying the moments. It also helps when you come home from a long day and see a Christmas card from a fabulous blogger named Nora!

  11. Mel December 22, 2010 at 7:14 pm #

    Wine, I can’t live without it. :) In all seriousness, though, I have turned to exercise a lot when I’ve been stressed over the holidays. Tried and true. :)

  12. terra December 23, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    Usually the holidays are crazy for me. My husband and I usually travel and holiday travel is always stressful. But this year is different. We’re staying home for Christmas and celebrating with just the two of us. We’re going to make a nice dinner, for 2, and then head out to see a movie. It hasn’t been stressless, but it’s definitely been less stressful.

Leave a Reply

