This Christmas…

22 Dec

Three days until Christmas. I think the Christmas spirit is finally hitting me; I mean, how could it not after doing the final grocery shopping for the holiday, listening to Glee and Harry Connick Jr Christmas music, and lots of chats with friends and family in the last few days!? Not to mention all the “Christmas secrets” I know which is just super fun.

While I’m taking a bloggy break until after the New Year (when I’ll return with new features and giveaways and much more!), I’ll be pretty busy…

* This Christmas I’m looking forward to drinking wine and making Gingerbread houses with my brother. We laugh a lot, take goofy pictures and actually take the Gingerbread house decorating seriously.

* I can’t wait to wrap presents with my dad while we watch The Santa Clause, a long-standing tradition of ours. He lets me in on some Christmas secrets and we have a good time every year, without fail.

* I’m super excited to put on my awesome fleece-y Christmas PJs that I bought at Old Navy (I may or may not have bought two pairs and some really comfortable socks to go with them. A girl has to have options!)

* I’m ready to be delighted this Sunday when the whole family heads to the Cirque de Soleil Holidaze show.

* I still have a handful of Christmas movies I have to watch so I’m hoping to have my own mini wrapathon this week and enjoy some of my favorites at the same time (hello, Love Actually and The Holiday!)

* This year I think I’m going to a Candlelight Church Service and I couldn’t be more excited (weather permitting as we are supposed to get dumped on with snow apparently). Bonus: it’s also the traditional carol service!

* I have lots of fun dinner dates planned with friends, lunches with out of-towners and some much needed pampering me time.

* NO work. For TEN Days. Be still my heart.

* Above all of this, I think I’m most excited to just be with my family and The Boyfriend (who seriously needs a nickname. I’m thinking Knight will be it…) over Christmas this year! I can’t wait to see the looks of surprise and joy on my family’s face when they open their presents, I’m super stoked about what I bought Knight (we are exchanging presents on Christmas Eve) and I’m just ready to revel in the holiday joy.

What are you most looking forward to in the next 10 days?

I wish all of you a very Merry Christmas, Happy New Year, much love, joy and hugs throughout the holiday season!

18 Responses to “This Christmas…”

  1. Ris December 22, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    I cannot get enough of Love Actually. That movie is the best!

  2. AshleyD December 22, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    I think the Christmas spirit finally hit me too! I’ve been waiting for weeks, listening to Bing Crosby and baking up a storm, but I just haven’t felt it. Until today!!! Happy Holidays!

    P.S. I love the name “Knight”!

  3. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair December 22, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    I CAN’T WAIT to see my family! I haven’t seen my Grandma since July, my mom since August and my Dad since October. I can’t wait to see them and spend lots of time with them over the next 10 days!!!

  4. phampants December 22, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    Have a wonderful Christmas Nora!

  5. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns December 22, 2010 at 11:21 am #

    I love the name Knight. I think it’s perfect. :)

    Honestly, I’ve felt a bit like Charlie Brown this christmas season. Or like Eyeore (sp?). I need to find that Christmas spirit!

    But, I am looking forward to spending the night at my brother’s and being woken up by my 2 nephews on Christmas morning! It will be fun to see them tear into their Santa gifts! I am looking forward to hugs from my parents and family. I am looking forward to the delicious meal we’ll have on Christmas Eve!

    Merry Christmas Nora! :)

  6. Becky December 22, 2010 at 11:55 am #

    Merry Merry Christmas love and Happy New Year!!!

  7. Emily Jane December 22, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    Yay for a Glee Christmas! Cirque de Soleil is going to be incredible – take lots of pictures so I can live vicariously through you! This Christmas is a little dramatic, but I’m looking forward to seeing how it plays out in terms of setting the stage for Christmases to come. I’m also really bloody excited about the Doctor Who Christmas special :)

  8. alliecakes December 22, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    I’m very excited for Christmas also! Have a VERY Merry Christmas with your family and the boy… I’m so happy for you! :)

  9. katelin December 22, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

    aw nora, hope you have a most wonderful and loverly christmas! and listen to lots and lots of harry, i mean how can we not? it’s christmastime :)

    and have a fabulous new year!!

  10. ria December 22, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

    have a wonderfully happy holiday!

  11. Suburban Sweetheart December 22, 2010 at 3:36 pm #

    Ten days of no work? GLORIOUS. Enjoy. :)

  12. Stephany December 22, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    Mostly, I’m looking forward to Christmas. After that, there’s not much else happening and I don’t have any plans yet for NYE so it doesn’t really excite me.

    But I am SO looking forward to Christmas! I can’t wait to see my mom and brothers faces when they open their gifts. (I’m not sure yet how my nephew will react, being that he’s only 2.) And I’m looking forward to hosting Christmas dinner. It’s going to be a fun time! :)

  13. hannahkaty December 22, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    Merry Christmas love.

    Hope it is wonderful & beautiful!

  14. mandy December 22, 2010 at 5:58 pm #

    Merry Christmas, Nora!

    I hope you and your family have a wonderful holiday season. Love you lots!

  15. Mel December 22, 2010 at 7:18 pm #

    I love Old Navy pjs, I bought a pair of bottoms and a matching fleece top a couple of weeks ago. So perfectly warm and fuzzy.

    What I’m looking forward to? More new pjs. :) My mother in law gives us new pjs on Christmas eve…so we all wake up on Christmas morning all picture perfect, lol. :)

  16. michelle December 26, 2010 at 11:21 pm #

    i hope you’re having a lovely holiday :) i’m super excited about new years weekend. the boyfriend and i are going to cook dinner together and get snuggly

  17. oh December 27, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    It is now Christmas week as I write this and I know you did a lot of things on your list. The way I figure it, as I am decked out in the Christmas flannels and elf socks you so sweetly gave me, we have two mornings to get up early, take care of the dogs and then head to the living room couches to catch up on holiday movies we haven’t yet watched. And maybe through in one or two new ones this year (that aren’t “holiday”) like Julie and Julia OR Chocolat or something….And then, there’s some of that fun shopping to be done, you know, where we walk into one of our fave stores and find something we weren’t even looking for!

    Merry Christmas to you, one of those who knows how to “keep Christmas” better than anyone1

  18. Jessica December 27, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    I’m really jealous of your 10 days without work! Hope you had a great holiday! I can’t wait to see pictures from the festivities.

Leave a Reply

