The 2010 Wrap-Up

5 Jan

I hadn’t planned on doing the 2010 Wrap-up partially because a good portion of the year was spent recovering, healing, with my nose in books finsihing up my masters. And partially because you were all here for the good, the bad, the ugly (and I thank you for it!).

But it doesn’t seem right to start a new year without looking back, at least a little bit.

So, 2010, in a paragraph…..

Blogger meet-ups that were good for the heart and soul. Fried food on a stick. Bar Crawls that left me with mean hangovers. Training for a 10-mile race, getting injured, but forging on and running a 10k anyway. Adjusting to living with the parents. Countless books read, movies watched, journal pages scribbled in. Learning how to get over heart-wrenching pain. Embracing the people in my life who make me feel good. Eating a whole lot of Mexican food. Letting go of toxicity in my life, whether it be plans, people, or dreams. Cuddles with Jack. Laughing so hard it made my stomach hurt and tears roll down my face. Reasserting my hopes and dreams, ones that are attainable. Finishing my masters and being so thrilled that I actually did it. Squeeing with joy when my diploma came just before Christmas. Getting back to my roots, back to who I really am. Being surprised by love. Being surprised by what I would do for love. Growing stronger every day. Being choosy. Road trips, lots of road trips. Allowing myself to be a hopeless romantic again, and not apologizing for it. Refusing to settle. Learning to say no. At the same time, learning to say yes. Becoming obsessed with all things Ann Taylor Loft, Nintendo, and baking (again). Deciding that I won’t dye my hair any color other than it’s natural color, even if the grays show through. Making amazing new friends that I would be 100% lost without. Hugging my parents more. Falling in love with not only a great man, but also myself.

I’m not making resolutions this year (I’m really bad at them). Instead I’m just facing 2011 head-on with all the changes that I know are ahead of me, some which will change the rest of my life I suspect, and am prepared to tackle all the changes and challenges that I can’t yet see. I’m going into 2011 with hope, joy and smiles and I know that it will be a good year.

What are you going into 2011 with?

12 Responses to “The 2010 Wrap-Up”

  1. phampants January 5, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    2011, I’m going to have an adventure

  2. Alesia January 5, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    A good year.

  3. AshleyD January 5, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    Beautiful recap! :) I’m going into 2011 with an open heart and a desire for adventure.

  4. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair January 5, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    Love this!!! I am going into 2011 with a relaxed outlook on life. I am trying to let go of having to be constantly busy-busy-busy and planning every detail of my life and just living and letting life happen :)

  5. mandy January 5, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    Lovely recap, Nora. I felt like you grew so much this year and it was amazing to be able to witness that. That said, I cannot wait to see the things that you tackle in 2011. Its going to be truly life changing and amazing.

    I am going into 2011 with a desire to put myself first, as selfish as that may sound, and as always an open heart and mind.

  6. Emily Jane January 5, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    Aww, this was a lovely recap. It sounds like a wonderful year for you and you have much to be thankful for to carry with you into the new year :)

    My biggest thing for 2010 was establishing what I wasn’t going to be or allow any more room for in my life – eliminating the stuff that stifled any sort of growth. So for 2011, I’m going to put that all into action and be passionate about everything I do :)

  7. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns January 5, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    That’s an awesome recap! 2010 was a big year for you, 2011 is going to be even bigger. Lots of exciting things on tap!

    I am going into 2011 with hope. I am going in forcing myself to choose positivity over a ‘doomsday’ outlook on life. I am going into it with more respect for myself and what I am able to go through/overcome. I am going into 2011 with the hopes that I’ll find the Lisa that was lost in 2010.

    Here’s to an exciting and fabulous year!!

  8. Amy -- Just A Titch January 5, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

    I’m going in with a desire to DO, to take action. I’m excited.

  9. katelin January 5, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    sounds like a fabulous year! and hope, joy and smiles are a lovely way to welcome the new year, woo.

  10. Jessica January 5, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

    I’m going into 2011 the same way you are, ready to take whatever comes at me and try new things along the way. I think going in without any resolutions this year will really help.

  11. Maddy January 5, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

    I’m going into 2011 with a good attitude and a clear head :) I have a lot of things I want to accomplish and I’m already on my way! Happy New Year! Wishing you all the best this year and always!

  12. Mel January 6, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    my plans? to finish my master’s, get a job, finish a 1/2 marathon! i’m feeling ambitious this year. :)

Leave a Reply

