Open Letters v1

6 Jan

Dear Self:

Next time you get excited about big blog changes, like self-hosting, think it through. It’s not easy. You can’t really do it on your own. Thank goodness for amazing friends who are willing to help you, though. (And look for a new Walking With Nora in the near future!)
Sincerely,
Spontaneous Nora

**********************

To: Winter
From: Cold, Cold Nora

I’m kind of tired of you. You deceive me with incredibly sunny days and yet the temperature is barely above freezing. I’m longing for the days of flip-flops and reading outside during my lunch hour. So, dear winter, if you could take a hike sooner rather than later, that would be great. And don’t snow this Sunday night either. That would just be inconvenient.

*********************

To The New GenX Radio Station in STL,

Thank you for taking me back to high school and college. Listening to old school Destiny’s Child, Beastie Boys, and Boyz II Men is quite fun, especially on my way to work. Who doesn’t love singing at the top of their lungs while being transported back to high school dances and football games, days of being a band dork, first kisses, and crazy sleepovers? Keep up the good work and I really hope you stick around!

With Love,
Nostalgic Nora

******************

Attention: All Semi Trucks

Please do not drive slow in the fast lane during rush hour on my way to work. I respect the fact that you have a deadline and places to go but really, driving slow and being in my way does not please me. If you could just scoot over a few lanes we’d all be much happier.

*******************

Dear 2011,

I know you are going to be an awesome, awesome year. I mean, I just know it. But it seems like you’re already going to fast! My calendar is booking into May… any chance you could slow down, just a tiny bit? That would be appreciated. If not, well, I’ll embrace every moment possible as long as you promise to continue to be a rocking new year, ok?

Love,
Nora

*******************

What letter(s) would you write today?

8 Responses to “Open Letters v1”

  1. Ris January 6, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    Oh I am so so tired of the cold already. I have a feeling it’s going to be a very long winter.

  2. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns January 6, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    Yep, I would echo you sentiment about winter. The snow has eased up, but the cold, cold temps have moved in. It will be single digits through the weekend. Burr. Thank God I am going to Tucson next weekend!! I need to thaw out and see some sun!

  3. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair January 6, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    I too would like to echo your sentiment about winter. Bye bye!

    Also, this one:

    Dear Perfect Townhouse,

    Where are you? Please pop up soon. I’m sick of looking at crappy ones in good areas and good ones in crappy areas.

    Sincerely,
    Amber and Eric

  4. Becky January 6, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    Dear Job Search,
    Please be kind to my husband. Neither of us have a lot of energy the second time around.
    Love,
    Exhausted

    Dear Unemployment,
    No offense but I hope we don’t meet again this year.
    Love,
    Not really a fan

    Dear Blog friends,
    Thank you for being amazing. I don’t know what I’d do without you.
    Love,
    A grateful friend

  5. Stephany January 6, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    It’s been bright and sunny and in the 60s all week. :) Just absolutely gorgeous around here. I hope it stays this nice for a long time because I’m so not a fan of cold!

  6. Maddy January 6, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    I’m considering going self-hosted too, but not until I take care of other pressing matters :) Good luck with the move! Can’t wait to see the new site!

  7. Ashley January 6, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    Spontaneous Ashley did the same thing with moving to self hosting a couple years ago. In the end, I did figure it out on my own, but it seems silly that I didn’t just ask for help.

  8. katelin January 6, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    my letters would be:

    dear sleep,
    i miss you.
    love,
    katelin

    dear friday,
    hurry up.
    thanks,
    katelin

    dear bank account,
    double yourself for me okay? that’d be awesome!
    love,
    katelin

Leave a Reply

