The December Obsession List

7 Jan

Feels super weird to type December now that it’s a New Year! I have to finish out the 2010 Obsession Series, so here’s what yours truly couldn’t get enough last month:

* Bruno Mars, Marry You. I know, I know. It’s pop. It’s totally silly. The lyrics are, well, not great, but at the same time the tune is so catchy I can’t help but listen to this song over and over again:

* Cee Lo Green, Forget You. Yet another song that’s totally ridiculous but I can’t help myself. I’ve played it for all members of my family and discussed the merits of guy songs (like my brother claims this one is) vs girl songs (I suppose a Taylor Swift song would be a girl song?). Anyway, if you haven’t heard this song, I’m warning you, it’s highly addictive.  (I also love that his band is all girls. And that Cee Lo wears bright pink suits to perform in!)

* Bits o Truth. Lisa sent me the link in December and I love scrolling through the quotes, messages and phrases. Definitely inspirational and I guarantee you can find one for any mood, any situation!

* Watching Disney movies. Apparently I took a five-year old pill but I loved watching “Alice in Wonderland,” and “Sleeping Beauty,” over my break. I may or may not have watched the Muppet Christmas movie and old school Mickey Christmas cartoons as well. It’s amazing how much of the movies I forgot!

Alice sings

Image via Wikipedia

 

* Getting really excited for this month and February! I will get to see Knight several times this month, at the end of January Lisa is coming to visit me which means wine, Mexican, Sex & the City and lots of sight-seeing and then in February I am visiting my childhood friend, meeting my faux niece finally and introducing Knight to the Florida gang!

* Lots and lots of family time. 2011 is going to bring some changes for the family so I’ve enjoyed and soaked up every laugh, hug, dinner, chill time, debate, and time together possible. Definitely a reminder not to take family and current conditions for granted.

* Mint M&Ms. I only buy them during the holidays (maybe that’s the only time you can get them?) but I have a bag stashed for the next time a craving hits. They are just so delicious, a good amount of chocolate plus mint!

* House Hunters. I know, I was obsessed with this earlier last year, but I’ve found a new buddy to watch it with! Knight really likes  this show too so we spent a few nights cuddled up watching this show over the holiday, debating the merits of each house, the decision the couples made.

What were you obsessed with last month? Anything you recommend I check out this month? I’m always looking for new things to try (or become obsessed with…)

12 Responses to “The December Obsession List”

  1. Leesh January 7, 2011 at 7:14 am #

    At first I didn’t like Bruno Mars’ Marry You but after Glee performed it, I’m in love it. I also like Cee-Lo’s song.

    I think I’ve tried m&m mints once, they were delicious but I haven’t seen them here in Canada. I’m obsessed with Ghirardelli Peppermint Bark. I’ve stocked up so hopefully it will last me until March.

    Last month, over the holidays, I was so into watching boy band videos, yup, that’s right NKOTB, BSB and *NSYNC. The older videos were hilarious.

  2. mandy January 7, 2011 at 8:02 am #

    I really love that blog too! So many great quotes. I haven’t watched the Alice in Wonderland childrens movie in ages. I always really enjoyed it. FL in February? Sounds wonderful!

  3. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns January 7, 2011 at 9:11 am #

    I love Cee-Lo’s song. Great post-break-up song in my opinion. I never knew that the radio version was ‘edited’ until this song came on in the Barrister’s car one day and I started singing the ‘clean version’ and he was like – oh you are in for a surprise… Kind of funny.

    Let’s see, in December I was obsessed with salads. I have a salad w/ my meal for lunch and dinner most days! Yum. And I am obsessed w/ both ranch and catalina dressing. I was also obsessed with my Nook and the Hunger Games books. And planning my 2011 travel plans. :)

  4. Ris January 7, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    I was obsessed with Christmas movies, especially Love Actually. I must have watched it at least once a week in December!

  5. Sonal January 7, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    I love Disney movies. I had an amazing fourth grade teacher that owned every Disney movie up to that time. He let us eat in the classroom instead of the cafeteria so we could watch the movies during lunch. It was awesome.

  6. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair January 7, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    I LOVE Disney movies!!!!! So much :)

    How have I never tried mint M&M’s? Those sound amazing!

  7. Manderz January 7, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    December was a month of hot chocolate obsession for me!

  8. Richard Losciale January 7, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

    I was obsessed with surrounding anyone who entered my home (my family, friends, neighbors, etc) with the most holiday-esque jollification environment possible, replete with chocolate Santa’s, Christmas mice, Smoking Bishop, strong Egg Nog, spiced cakes, evergreen garlands, Christmas tree and peppermint home-made candles, wassail tunes etc. It was a joyful obsession and one that was, I think, well received by all.

    It is good to be obsessed with good things! Thanks for sharing…..Keep it up.

  9. katelin January 7, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    i love disney movies, always the best to sit around and watch for no reason.

    i think hands down last month i was obsessed with watching “the holiday” and “love actually” and drinking cider and hot chocolate, i just couldn’t stop! :)

    happy weekend!

  10. Brittney January 7, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    Bwahaha, I may or may not have watched “Garfield Christmas Special” so…. ya know… kindred spirits.

  11. E.P. January 8, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    I’m loving your December list, lady. We’ve really enjoyed House Hunters, too. Aaaaand I always enjoy a good Disney movie on the weekend just because.

    Happy New Year, lovely!

  12. Jessica January 9, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    I am also obsessed with House Hunters, it’s my go-to gym elliptical show. I cannot get enough. I also love mint m&Ms too! I chill them and love it to snack on. So refreshing.

Leave a Reply

