A Greening Giveaway

12 Jan

Last year the family and I participated in Earth Hour (which we extended to Earth Several Hours because we enjoyed it so much) and we started thinking about just how much energy we were saving and if everyone on our cul-de-sac turned off all the lights and etc in their house for one hour, how much that would be. Obviously it was pure speculation as we had no idea, but if we had a Kill A Watt EZ monitor, then we would know how much each appliance costs us to run. Simply plug it in and it tells you how much it costs to run that appliance! Perfect to help save on energy costs and of course, the environment. I have to admit, the green geek in me thinks this is cool.

Thanks to Geothermal Genius , one lucky winner will receive a Kill A Watt EZ Monitor ($60 MSRP)! Here’s how the Kill A Watt EZ Monitor works:

Simply connect these appliances to the Kill A WattEZ™, and it will assess how efficient they really are. Large LCD display will count consumption by the Killowatt-hour, same as your local utility.
 
bullet Shows the operating costs of your household appliances
   
bullet Accurate to within 0.2%
   
bullet Large LCD Display
   
bullet Calculates cost and forecasts by week, month and year
   
bullet Built-in battery backup
   
bullet Displays eight critical units of measure

For more information on Geothermal heating and cooling  and how it works take a look at the Geothermal Genius website and blog!

To enter this giveaway:

* Earn one entry by leaving a comment letting me know how you are trying to green your living space this year.
* Earn an additional entry by either tweeting OR blogging about this giveaway; leave the link to your tweet/blog in the comment field.

Rules:
* Entries must be received by Sunday, January 16th at midnight Central Time.
* Open to anyone; no geographical restrictions on this one!

FTC Disclosure: I have not been compensated in anyway by Geothermal Genius or their affiliates to do this giveaway. Any mention of Kill A Watt EZ and Geothermal Genius is by my own accord, all opinions and statements are my own.

16 Responses to “A Greening Giveaway”

  1. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns January 12, 2011 at 7:35 am #

    Very intriguing… I am an energy hog… I never think to unplug my appliances like my tv/dvd player/etc when I go on vacation. I wonder how much energy they use when I am gone?

    The Barrister would have loved this… he was all about energy saving…

  2. michelle January 12, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    oooh what an interesting tool. that would really come in handy since i’m trying to reduce our utility bills :) right now i’m taking little steps to be greener. our apartment gets amazing natural light so i tend not to turn on the lights on weekends. i also bought a programmable thermostat so i can adjust the heat/cooling for when we’re out of the apartment. there’s no point in keeping it a toasty 70, when you’re gone almost 50 hours a week. and i’m trying to get my roomie to use less water, but that’s gonna be a fight. he loves his baths :p

  3. Lauren January 12, 2011 at 9:01 am #

    I never knew such a thing existed! As the owner of a house built in 1907 (in frigid MN), I could seriously use one of these.
    …But first I’ll enter here and cross my fingers and see how that goes. :)

    I’m a hoarder of energy saving bulbs, I don’t turn on the AC in the summer, and our heat stays at 68 – even though it can get quite chilly some days. These were all ‘rules’ I put into place during my second year of home-owning and my renters generally agree/promote them.

    All in all, my favorite is living without AC. I’m not sure if it’s because my house is older than dirt, but the house was designed to get the GREATEST cross breezes. Granted, days can get pretty dang hot but most of us are outside or at work then anyways.

  4. Ris January 12, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    We keep our heat at 66 and pile on the sweaters and blankets. Saves energy AND money!

  5. phampants January 12, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    I’m trying to find a surge protector that kills power to off electronics

  6. Kyla Roma January 12, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    That’s really cool! If Canadians can enter, I’m going to be biking to work in the summer :)

  7. andrea January 12, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    We live in a home where the tip of our living room is over 20 feet up – and the bedrooms all 15 feet. It’s on the corner, in the oldest building in our town, and the walls are only brick. It’s BRUTALLY cold. We can’t afford to pay the over 200$ heat per month, so we came up with new strategies. We put stickers with $$ amounts on the thermostats, we keep slippers and sweaters by the door, we turn all the heat off in rooms we’re not in, and when there are more than 4 ppl in the house or when we’re cooking – the heat is off 100%. It’s really worked, for our pocketbooks and otherwise! xo

  8. Kathleen January 12, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    I was really focused on being more environmentally conscious at the beginning of last year, and then things went crazy. BUT, it’s still something I really want! I purchased a hybrid car, I’m working on trasitioning to all-natural beauty products, and eventually want to make my own cleaning products too. I’ll also be taking the environment into account when we make baby-related choices soon!

  9. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair January 12, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    Awesome giveaway!!!

    We use powerbars for most of our outlets so we always turn them off when we’re going away for the weekend. We’re also pretty anal about ONLY having the light on in the room we’re actually IN! And we recycle! Though that’s not really “energy saving” ;)

  10. mandy January 12, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    Fun giveaway and I’m guessing we would all be surprised to see how much energy we use.

    In our house, we never turn the thermostat above 68, and at night its turned down to around 60.

  11. Suburban Sweetheart January 12, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    Very cool! When I was visiting Nathan,I got him a separate trash can for recycling – WHO DOESN’T RECYCLE?! – & I’ve finally taken to unplugging my appliances, etc., when I’m not using them. There’s so much more I can do, & I should really get on it. I’m starting to feel like quite a hypocrite.

  12. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks January 13, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    A girl after my own heart! This is great. I tried to sign up for a program my local utility was running where we’d get smart thermostats that tell us how much electricity we’re using, how much it costs, the differences between peak and non-peak consumption and so on. We try to run major appliances (dishwasher, washing machine, dryer) only during off-peak hours, i.e., the evening hours.

  13. Margarita January 13, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    What an awesome gadget!! This sounds so cool, I’m sure I’d be hooking it up to everything in my house all the time :)

  14. Sonal January 13, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

    Cool gadget. I’m a fan/advocate of reusable bags and bottles. I recently setup a different indoor can for recycling. Currently we use a space heater and/or fireplace to heat our downstairs. Every little thing from every little person adds up!

  15. Megan January 14, 2011 at 7:26 am #

    This is so neat!

    We use energy efficient bulbs, and we keep the lights off in our house unless we ABSOLUTELY need them. I also tend to unplug appliances if they’re not being used.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tidbit Thursday « Walking with Nora - January 13, 2011

    […] don’t forget to enter my “Greening Giveaway“! You have until Sunday to […]

Leave a Reply

