Tidbit Thursday

13 Jan

 

* I haven’t had soda since December 25th; I’ve had no caffeine withdrawal headaches and overall I don’t miss it one single bit. Until I eat pizza. Or Mexican. But I’m staying strong, chugging water instead of carbonation and overall I know it’s better for me. Maybe not as fun, but better.

* Last night I watched “Going the Distance.” I totally loved it. Justin Long is hilarious, Drew Barrymore has an infectious laugh and Justin Long’s sidekicks in the movie are laugh-out-loud funny. I would recommend watching this when you’re not in a long distance relationship, however. That made it a bit tough. I laughed. I cried. I loved it. And I now want to slow dance with Knight in the ocean.

* It was -1F when I woke up today. That’s just insanity. I’m wearing gloves and hats and scarves and tights and I’m *still* cold. I really hope it’s a bit warmer in Florida in a few weeks. My body needs to thaw out.

* Tomorrow evening I get to pick Knight up from the airport. This will be the second time I get to do that (his work is super flexible about where he flies in/out of, so sometimes he can plan work trips so we get back-to-back weekends together) and each time, I think of Hugh Grant at the beginning of Love  Actually. It’s really true: everyone who is there waiting for some greets them with hugs, kisses, flowers, high-fives and smiles. There is no hate at airports. Just love. It’s fun to be a part of that experience; to greet someone who has been traveling all week long, eating meals out and sleeping in strange hotel rooms, to give them a hug and just be together for a moment.

* I’m making progress on my 30 Before 30 List; over the holiday I realized I’d already seen 17 Oscar movies, so I’m upping the challenge to 40 movies instead. That seems much more fun to me! I’m trucking right along in the Harry Potter series and am totally in love with the books, the writing, the plots, the twists and turns. I can’t wait to start book #4 which I will do after I plow through (hopefully?) the stack of library books I just borroed. I’ve started researching trips to Alaska (goal is to go in 2012) and Italy (goal is 2013, if not sooner with the family) and soon I hope to start knitting lessons with my Gram. I know I have plenty of time but now that I’m post grad-school it’s nice to have something to work on.

* I saw True Grit last weekend; I wasn’t thrilled with it. Good acting for sure but I feel like the plot/story left something to be desired. I think we’ll be seeing The Fighter this weekend and I must say I’m rather excited for a dose of Marky-Mark. Along those lines, Backstreet Boys & New Kids on the Block are touring together and coming to STL this summer. I kind of want to go. (I saw Backstreet Boys in high school. Screamed the lyrics so much that I lost my voice. Don’t judge. I’m sure you have best friends who did it too!)

 (And don’t forget to enter my “Greening Giveaway“! You have until Sunday to enter!)

Any tidbits you feel like sharing?

15 Responses to “Tidbit Thursday”

  1. mandy January 13, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    Good for you for giving up soda. I did that a few years ago and now rarely drink it, though I have been sort of craving an orange soda for some strange reason.

    Hows that Gone With the Wind book coming? =)

    I’m partial to the original True Gril with no desire to see the new movie and am convinced that John Wayne is rolling over in his grave at the thought of a remake.

  2. Lisa of Lisa's Yarns January 13, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    Well done on giving up soda. That is tough. I gave it up in August of 2009 and it was so good for me! I will occasionally have one, but I don’t crave it. But I stil like my daily dose of coffee… But I can go w/out it and be totally fine (like nearly every day this week). I used to be a total caffeine addicts so it’s nice to not be anymore!

    Ah, picking up is so much fun. We always just did the ‘drive by’ pick up w/ the Barrister, though. So it’s not nearly as romantic since you are rushing to get their stuff in the car before the a/p cops yell at you. But that first hug/kiss is awesome!

    My obsession for the week is looking at google maps of Paris and refamiliarizing myself w/ the lay of the area where I’ll be staying! :) So fun! I adore google maps. :)

  3. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair January 13, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

    I only ever crave pop (Coke more specifically) when I eat PIZZA or SUSHI. So weird!!! Since i usually only eat those things 1-2 times a month I usually give into my craving ;)

    I LOVE that you’re planning a trip to Alaska! I wrote a whole bunch of freelance articles about Alaska last summer and now I really want to go there! Seems like an amazing place. Erics sister went on her honeymoon and loved it! They drove up :)

  4. Jessica January 13, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    Way to go on the soda! I only have 2-3 a week total and that’s it. It’s tough at times and pizza is DEFINITELY a trigger, good god. I’m jealous.

    Also, Going the Distance was really funny. There were some really hilarious parts that made me cry laughing.

  5. Grace January 13, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    Soda and pizza just go together. I hardly drink soda but I’ve had it two days in a row now because I was eating pizza. I literally had to put down a slice and run down to the store to get a soda. I’m a little behind, have you said how long you are going with no caffeine?

  6. Megan January 14, 2011 at 7:24 am #

    Yay for no soda! I haven’t had soda in probably nine or ten months, and it’s great. (I still drink caffeine occasionally with Starbucks and sweet tea).

    I’m going to get Going the Distance from Netflix soon. I can’t wait to see it!

  7. Maddy January 14, 2011 at 9:17 am #

    How great that you’re making progress on your 30 Before 30 list! I think my list is a bit over the top, so not sure if I’ll be able to make it all come happen before then :o/

  8. kilax January 14, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    We watched Going the Distance this week too! And we also thought it was really funny. I thought the ending (last scene) was lame and unpredictable, but a surprisingly good movie nonetheless.

    I want to see The Fighter because I love Mark Wahlberg. We just watched The Other Guys last night. Loved it!

  9. Becky January 14, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    That’s great about the soda! And I love the beginning of Love Actually! It took me a couple times seeing it before I really liked that movie, but I always loved the beginning. Have a great weekend!

  10. michelle January 14, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    oooh thanks for the warning about going the distance. i’ve really been wanting to see it. but i might wait til i’m snuggling up with J :)

  11. Stephany January 14, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    I am really, really working on cutting out soda but it’s so hard! The caffeine headaches are the worst!! But way to go for you on giving it up! That’s really, really great!

  12. Shoshanah January 16, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    I’m so excited for the NKOTBSB tour! I pretty much bought tickets as soon as they were available, and I pretty much counting down the days till the concert

  13. Margarita January 17, 2011 at 1:13 am #

    This sounds like an awesome list. I want to go to Italy soon as well! I’ve picked up some books about Italy and I think I’m going to love it! You will too :)

  14. ria January 17, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    I’d love to know how you met Knight (if and when you are comfortable sharing) :)

  15. Emily Jane January 18, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    I’m so excited for your 30 Before 30 list!! My 26 was THE best thing I’ve ever done :)

    And that part of Love Actually has got to be one of the best movie moments ever :)

Leave a Reply

