Weekend Knights

18 Jan

It’s no secret I’m in a long distance relationship.

Love Knows No Distance

It’s also no secret that long distance relationships are hard. Worth it? Yes. But really hard. (Thank goodness for unlimited texts, emails and video chat dates, not to mention supportive friends and family.)

I know Knight and I are fortunate in that we get to see each other more than most people; the 375 miles that separate us don’t seem so daunting as they first did. The six hour drive is marked by landmarks, the pit stops that I always frequent, funny road signs (like a town named Paw Paw) and 6 highways (I love ticking off the highways I’ve been on in my head as it means I’m almost there). And those weekends where we see each other? We make the most of it.

This past weekend it was just the two of us. (Cue Will Smith song singing in the background…) The first time since mid-November that we had each other all to ourselves. It’s weekends like this that we spend them learning new things about each other, like how Knight had an earring in college (you can still see the small piercing hole if you look closely at his ear), or how I was an editor for my school yearbook and was voted “always has a shoulder to lean on.” There is laughter about Knight going to a rave sometime in high school against his mother’s will considering it was totally not worth it. There are moments you open your heart and share things about your past that you never thought you’d never talk about again over glasses of wine and amazing dinners. While you’re at a bar, there is no one else there; just the two of you. Public Displays of Affection are not gross, they are encouraged; after all you have to soak up all the hugs and kisses you can. Meeting friends for super late night drinks is required, followed by pizza at 1am, just because you can. You gain insight into what life would be like if you were closer to each other, could see each other on a regular basis. And you kind of love it. (Who are we kidding, you totally love it.)

Grand plans are made. Future vacations discussed. Hours are spent on the couch watching streaming Netflix. Dinners are made listening to favorite music, dancing around the kitchen, smiling and laughing. The night before he leaves we each look at other and say “we could get used to this.”

These weekends hold the promise of what is yet to come, a promise that is exhilarating, hopeful and full of joy. A promise I can’t wait to fulfill.

25 Responses to “Weekend Knights”

  1. Heather January 18, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    Yay!!! It’s wonderful that y’all get to spend weekends just the two of you.

  2. AshleyD January 18, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    The stories of you and Knight make me so giddy! I know long distance is hard, but I really think it makes the time you spend together that much more special.

  3. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair January 18, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    Long distance is SO HARD but I’m a strong believer that if your relationship is meant to be than long distance will only make it stronger and better!!!

    This post made me feel giddy! I’m so happy for you :)

  4. barbetti January 18, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    Long distance relationships are hard, I’m in one as well for the next 8 months. They suck, but it sounds like you and Knight have something pretty spectacular. I had goosebumps reading this post. I’m very happy for you, Nora – no one deserves this more.

  5. Sonal January 18, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    I’ve been in 2 long distance relationships. The best part is that you appreciate every moment you get to spend together. And it gives you a great excuse to forget all your worries for the time being. :)

  6. Lauren January 18, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    So happy to hear that you are coping so well with the long distance! Porter and I have been long distance for three of the four years we have been dating. We lived half a world apart for one year, a 20 hour drive apart for another (so we just used planes), and are a quick 7 hours away from each other now.

    We have another year and three months left of distance (with a hiatus from the distance for three months this summer – yay grad school).

    Our relationship can be challenging. It is freaking hard not to see each other but once a month. In any relationship, it can be difficult to deal with trust and jealousy and frustrations – and those are just made 800 TIMES BIGGER when you don’t get to see the person you want to see.

    But, it has so many perks too! I love the late night phone conversations that leave you to fall asleep smiling. It sounds to me like you and Knight are so happy – regardless of the distance!

  7. OurLittleAshley January 18, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

    GIRL, you gave me goosebumps!

    I spent almost 2 years apart from Mike (we’re talking Ohio-Hawaii and Ohio-Denver…so flights only!) Though I would never, EVER want to be apart from him again, and don’t even fondly look back on those times (ugh! hate! die LDRs! die!), it is a part of our story and I appreciate our time together even more now. :)

    I think you guys have something special there… :) Yay!

  8. Becky January 18, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    This post makes me so happy! Long-distance is REALLY hard but can be so worth it! I’m so happy you and Knight are happy! xoxoxo

  9. Stephany January 18, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    I have no experience with long-distance relationships so I really have no clue to what you’re going through but I imagine it is so, so tough. But like Ashley said, I think you guys have something special going on! I love it!

  10. alliecakes January 18, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    aw, I can see you glowing from here. ;) Love that you found someone who makes you so happy!

  11. jen January 18, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    YaY!!! i am so very happy for you!!!!

    there was a town named Paw Paw near where i grew up and we would always joke on the way west it was Paw Paw but on the way home it was Wap Wap…i still chuckle at that…

  12. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns January 18, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    Aw, I love this post! LDR’s are hard – but when you are right for each other, it really strengthens the bond and gives you an opportunity to really work on the communication side of the relationship! Sounds like a fabulous weekend!

  13. Ashalah January 18, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    I used to HATE the 2 hours that seperated my ex and I when I lived in NYC, I couldn’t imagine doing any distance longer than that. It sounds like you guys have a great thing going on though that makes that distance worth it all x 1 million. :) Sounds like it was a lovely weekend. Love this post and love you! xoxo

  14. Cait January 18, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    Every time you talk about Knight, it makes me feel so bubbly because you sound so perfectly happy. I can’t imagine how hard LDRs are – the farthest I ever had to travel for either of my relationships was an hour and a half – but I wish you the best of luck. It sounds like you’re making it work the best that you can. :)

  15. E.P. January 18, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    Reading this… and this post, in general, makes me simply giddy for you, Nora. SO happy for you and Knight.

    While long distance relationships are challenging, the rewards of being in one and finally seeing one another after that time apart is amazing.

  16. Jessica January 18, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

    Aww so sweet. I cannot imagine being in a long-distance relationship but I’m glad you guys are working through it. Your weekend sounds heavenly!

  17. michelle January 18, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    *swoon* yea :)

  18. Ashley January 18, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

    This is the sweetest, Nora. It’s wonderful to see you so happy. Long distance is really hard, but as you said, worth it.

  19. Maddy January 19, 2011 at 7:04 am #

    I did the long distance thing for a while too! Mine was a 4 hour drive that I was so willing to take :) Lots of singing, reflecting and if I had company, talking happened on those trips. But it was worth it in the end – he’s my husband now : )

  20. mandy January 19, 2011 at 7:58 am #

    I’m so happy that you’re happy!

  21. Megan January 19, 2011 at 9:06 am #

    This is so exciting! I’m so glad you have him in your life. :)

  22. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks January 19, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    This kind of happiness becomes you, friend. I’m happy for you and all that’s yet to come!

  23. Erin B. Inspired January 20, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    I was in a long distant relationship for almost two years and while I didn’t love the distance, it really made us cherish the time we had to spend together. We were practically joined at the hip when we were in the same town. I loved going to visit him in North Carolina, though we spent most of our time together in Florida. But they are really hard and unless you find ways to strengthen your relationship when you’re apart, your relationship can fall apart. Sounds like you guys got it right though. :)

  24. Meredith January 25, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    Aw what a lovely post! I did the long distance all through college and my first year of law school, but it was much less glamorous than yours – it involved my mom screaming about how she hated my boyfriend, sneaking around my dorm room, and not having much fun. But all that was to say that if we could do it through that,you can do it through this!!

  25. Mel January 29, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    There is a town in Michigan by the name of Paw Paw. :)

Leave a Reply

