Did I do That?

19 Jan

I don’t really remember how it happened but over the last few days I’ve been thinking about some of the more embarrassing things that have happened to me (like ha-ha- funny- things) over the last few years and since we can all use a laugh and since I think some of them are rather funny, at least now, here’s a short list of embarrassing Nora Moments:

* First day of my freshman year in high school. I’m wearing then-awesome Calvin Klein pinstripe jeans and a fabulous white shirt (really, it was awesome), and maybe white sneakers (well, that alone is embarrassing). I enter the stairwell to get to the fourth floor of my high school aaaannnd fall. Up the stairs. In front of the senior hang out area. No one even stopped to see if I was ok, just walked around me.  Also, that same day the a/c went out in school and I was so incredibly hot in my then-super-awesome outfit.

* Sophomore year in high school. For whatever reason we had dress up days before our Winter Holiday so I’m looking cute in a black skirt and fun top from the Gap. I go to the restroom , start walking down the totally window-ed hallway, aka where the other classrooms can see you, only to have a very kind girl that I didn’t know tell me that somehow my skirt was caught in my underwear. Why I didn’t feel the breeze, I’ll never know. I was mortified.

* Let’s cut to my sophomore year in college (at least I think that’s what it was). I had 10 minutes to get from Old Campus to New Campus, a walk which taken at a super fast clip would take the normal person about 15-20 minutes. Three days a week I had to do the run/walk across campus  most of the time in flip-flops since it was the Spring Semester. I’m going along my normal route, past the library with all the cobblestone bricks when next thing I know, I’m flying in the air. Stupid flip-flop caught on a brick that was raised up (I think? Still no idea) and there go my books and purse and flip-flops flying in all different directions. I land on my hands and knees miraculously and two very handsome young men rush over to help me collect my things and my books. I was too embarrassed to say anything but thank you, suck up my pride, ignore the blood on my hands and knees and get to class. Which, by the way, I was only 2 minutes late for.

I’m sure there are others that I’m forgetting but these are the ones that will always stand out, perhaps because they happened in front of so many people and had the propensity to be much worse and more embarrassing then they could have been.

What’s one of your most embarrassing moments?

12 Responses to “Did I do That?”

  1. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns January 19, 2011 at 6:39 am #

    Love these stories! They make me laugh – and also sympathize with you! At least we can laugh now?

    I have so many of these kind of moments! I guess I am just accident prone or klutzy. or both. We had an award in our sorority called ‘the sunken ship’ for the most embarassing moment of the week. I won that quite a bit. i was always tripping and falling!

    One more recent embarassing moment was when I got the hiccups during an important meeting at The Pyscho Experient and they would NOT GO AWAY. It was so embarassing because they were NOT quiet hiccups!

  2. mandy January 19, 2011 at 7:57 am #

    These made me smile this morning. I know they were mortifying at the moment but as Lisa said, at least we can laugh about them now.

    I am always tripping of falling over something. Down steps, up steps, off of curbs. Once at a big outdoor 4 day concert with friends I feel out of a portajon in the campgrounds and badly twisted my ankle (in all honestly, it was probably broken). I had been drinking some adult beverages, most likely one too many, and I completely forgot to step down. Instead I just stepped out and immediately fell. I hobbled back to the campite, drank another few beers, wrapped my ankle in an ace bandage and had a great four days! =)

  3. Becky January 19, 2011 at 8:14 am #

    Haha oh man, I needed this today! I’ve definitely fallen up the stairs many times in front of lots of people!

  4. phampants January 19, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    Standing up from my chair and leaving my cubicle only to be yanked back by my chair and fall backwards? Yeah. Only me.

  5. Amy --- Just A Titch January 19, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    Well, let’s see. I fell down and did a somersault my first day of middle school due to tripping. I fell down my first day of college because my heel got caught in a manhole cover. My first year of teaching, I was perched on a stool with my heels hooked under the rungs and when a fire drill went off, I pitched forward, showing my entire class my (black, lacy) underwear. I fell down while walking to a bar, doing the splits, ripping my jeans and cutting my knee to shreds.

    I’m a little clumsy.

  6. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair January 19, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    Hehehe awwww! I actually have never had any really embarrassing falling down stories. Except I did wipe out big time at 6 am when going running with my neighbour and she laughed her ass off about it. lol

  7. Ris January 19, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    The DAY AFTER telling my roommate that I had never fallen in the 10 years I’d been running, I had a huge fall. We’re talking ipod went flying, my sunglasses fell off, scraped my knees, elbows, and palms. On a major road, in front of tons of traffic. Guess I’d spoken too soon.

  8. michelle January 19, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    lol this reminds me of those embarassing stories from seventeen magazine. dude, i feel up the stairs in high school at least twice a year

    one of my classic stories: in 8th grade, my mom volunteered to be lunch mom one day. we didn’t have a cafeteria so lunch was held in your homeroom with a parental chaperone. it took a lot of begging since her work schedule was wonky to compensate for 3 kids involved in too many things. as i was walking to the back of the room, my foot got caught on someone’s backpack. i, of course, hit the floor. my own mother stood at the other end of the room, laughing hysterically at my fall. i wasn’t hurt, and i was wearing shorts under my uniform skirt. so the embarrassed to amused ration was definitely tipped towards the latter. but i still call my mom out for not helping or checking on me. she still laughs

    what a jerkface :)

  9. Stephany January 19, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    Hm…not too many falling embarrassing moments. I did have an annoying boy in middle school trip me at the end of the day, causing me to fall. Stupid boys.

    Oh, and one day before the morning bell rang during middle school, my zipper broke off my shorts. I had to spend the day covering my “area” with my folders and books. NOT. FUN!

  10. oh January 19, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    I remember you recounting the college one. Ugh. Falling is so startling on its own; add a crowd and the upset of it increases ten-fold.

    But your sitch with the skirt stuck in the underwear? That’s one of my fears, partly why I rarely wear a skirt or dress. Although I wore one to work today. And brushed at the back of my dress now and then to be sure it hanging correctly. At least they have now installed a long mirror in the ladies room at work so you can see if things are in order before walking back to the office.

    My most embarassing? (first of all, I never remember how to spell embarrassing – one r or two?)
    most embarassing…hmmmm…wow, seems that I’ve blocked all such experiences… oh, no, wait! it happened not long ago. My husband and the president of my company, with whom I meet and interact often, are both named Richard. Sometimes I call my hubs “Dickie” just because. While speaking earnestly with the Pres one day at work and trying to get a point across, I called him “Dickie.” And then fell silent. And blushed furiously. He was quiet a moment, then laughed. I felt I had to explain.
    Forget explaining – it can just heighten your own embarassment!

  11. Cait January 19, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    I seem to have mentally blocked out my more embarrassing moments because I’m having a hard time remembering any (but I know they exist). I fall up the stairs quite often, but usually only in my house.

    It’s good you can laugh about these stories now. I just get so mortified that I (apparently) completely forget about them.

  12. Erin B. Inspired January 20, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    Senior year of high school, I think I’ve finally gotten it down. We wore uniforms but I had on new knee-high socks and Dr. Marten mary janes. I took a can of pasta to school to eat for lunch, opened the can, cut my finger AND splattered red sauce all over my white shirt. Oh, and then my shoes were hurting my feet because they were brand new so I had blisters. It was great.

    Not.

Leave a Reply

