See It. Read It.

27 Jan

Thanks to the bitter temps, I’ve been spending a lot of time with my Netflix queue and reading so today I’m sharing some of my favorite (and least favorite) movies, shows and books from the last month.

MOVIES!

Law Abiding Citizen. I’d been told by quite a few people that this movie was worth watching with lots of twists and turns… well, there were definitely twists and turns but it was one disturbing movie. Don’t even let it fool you that Gerard Butler is in this movie. He only flashes his abs once and he doesn’t have his sexy accent. Not to mention he’s the one that makes this movie tough to tolerate or as Knight says, “if I was cat, this movie would have taken 6 of my 9 lives.” Seriously, it was that intense. And creepy. And just don’t watch it, unless you want to be paranoid for a few days after it.

Knight and Day. I haven’t really liked Tom Cruise since Jerry Maguire (or maybe Top Gun), but I really liked this movie. Perfect blend of action and adventure + comedy and even a bit of romance (but not the throw up in your mouth kind). Some gorgeous scenery, good acting and overall, I really enjoyed this movie. Definitely worth checking out. Bonus: It’s only 1 hr 45 minutes. (I’m not a fan of movies that drag on and one these days.)

The Kids Are All Right. (Hooray, one movie I’ve seen that involves the Oscars!)I love Mark Ruffalo and Annette Benning. This movie deals with the dynamics behind a lesbian couple, their children and what happens when the children want to find out who their biological dad is. Very well written, definitely interesting and the acting was fantastic. There are some moments of hilarity, tenderness, suspense and of course love. Highly recommend this movie!

Going the Distance. I just loved this music. Yes, I’m a huge fan of romantic comedies, but this one… well maybe it’s cause I’m in an LDR, or maybe it’s because Justin Long rocks, but either way, I loved it. I kind of want to own it. Two thumbs up for sure on this one!

Daniel Tosh: Completely Serious. My brother recommend Daniel Tosh to Knight and me and all I can say is hilarious. Why I haven’t been watching his show (Tosh.O) sooner, I have no idea. I can’t wait for his next stand up comedy show to air on Comedy Central in March. His delivery his awesome, he’s got some great jokes, and in some odd way he’s a little bit cute.

 BOOKS!

Cover of

Cover of Very Valentine: A Novel

Very Valentine, by Adriana Trigiani. There is just so much to say about this book; this is the first in a trilogy about an Italian family, the trials and tribulations of all the siblings, but of Valentine in particular. In her mid-thirties she’s struggling with her career, her family, her love life and finding her place in the world. I loved this book in part because I’ve been where Valentine is in the book, and also very much because there is so much authenticity to the Italian family dynamic. There were times I wanted to jump in the book and just be everyone’s best friends, to eat at their table, to be a part of the book. I’m super stoked to read the next book in the series, Brava Valentine.

The Life You’ve Imagined, by Kristina Riggle. I picked this up at the library solely based on the back of the book, wasn’t sure if I’d like it but wound up devouring it. Part chick lit part social message, it was a quick read, with a fairly unpredictable plot line and loveable characters. Definitely good for a quick read and something different!

One Day, by David Nicholls. This was a long book but I really liked it. I laughed. I cried. I hoped. I found out it’s going to be a movie this year which I’m kind of not pleased with (well, mostly because I don’t like who they cast) but I am curious to see how they portray the characters. Read this book. You won’t be sorry. It’s very beautiful, a great love story, and I didn’t want it to end.

Anything I need to watch or read in February?

13 Responses to “See It. Read It.”

  1. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns January 27, 2011 at 6:34 am #

    Ha, I love the Knight’s comment re: cats/9 lives. That hilarious and very witty. :)

    I plan on reading One Day in Paris. And I also enjoyed The Life You’ve Imagined. A nice easy read. I am finishing Saving CeeCee Honeycutt adn then I plan on loading up my nook with 3-4 books to read in Paris. :)

  2. Maddy January 27, 2011 at 7:36 am #

    I saw the kids are all right and I didn’t get what all the hype was about :o/ I also wasn’t crazy about the way it ended. It was a good movie, but not Oscar worthy by any means.

  3. Becky January 27, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    I added Very Valentine to my “to-read” list on goodreads. Thanks for the recommendation!

  4. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair January 27, 2011 at 8:56 am #

    I really liked Law Abiding Citizen but I also ADORE Gerard Butler no matter what movie he is in! I haven’t seen The Kids are Alright or Going the Distance yet but I want to!

    I have barely been reading this month, I’ve been so busy that reading has really been pushed to the backburner. Need to start again soon! I have too many books to read on my shelves! Lol

  5. Stephany January 27, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    I just started reading “Someone Like You” by Sarah Dessen and OMG, you have to read this! It’s YA fiction but so good. It brings me back to the days when that was all I read. I can’t wait to read everything else from her!

  6. katelin January 27, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    i totally agree with you on law abiding citizen and knight and day, creeptastic suspenseful movie and a lighthearted enjoyable tom cruise comedy.

    also, tosh. i must say, i’m a fan. he’s a little ADD sometimes but i always laugh.

  7. mandy January 28, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    I have been spending lots of quality time with Netflix recently. I’ve been going for older movies, usually musicals with a good side of chick flicks thrown in.

    I’m in a definite reading rut. I devoured Saving CeCe Honeycutt which I absolutely loved. Since then I’ve drifted from book to book but not really loving any of them and even not finishing most of them.

  8. bellerenee January 28, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    Very Valentine was the book I meant to give you!! Adriana Trigiani went to the same college I did. Brava Valentine is beautiful, too. She reminds me of you. :-)

  9. SP January 28, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    Thanks for the suggestions! I’m always looking for movies to add to my Netflix queue.

  10. terra January 29, 2011 at 8:56 am #

    I absolutely adored The Kids Are All Right. I didn’t know what to expect from it but it turned out to be exceptional.

  11. Leesh January 29, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    I want to see The Kids Are All Right and also read One Day. I have heard a lot about both.

    But I have vowed to myself to not buy anymore books until I read the pile that’s sitting on my floor. I am slowly working through them.

  12. Meredith January 31, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    I felt the same about Law Abiding Citizen. PB made me watch it because he loves it, but I’m with Knight – not such a fan.

    I want to try out some of those books! I’m always looking for new things for my Kindle!

  13. Erin B. Inspired February 1, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    Oh man, Daniel Tosh. He was in town not too long ago and I was so heartbroken when I found out both dates were sold out. People were selling tickets on Craigs List for hundreds of dollars. He’s so funny. :)

Leave a Reply

