Icethensnowmaggedon, anyone?

2 Feb

So there is currently the Snowmaggedon (or Icethensnowmaggedon if you live in StL) going on outside my window as I write this post. Schools are closed. Business are closed. People are freaking out, myself included because I really, really want to be on my plane to Florida tomorrow morning with very little delays.

And because I worked from home yesterday, couldn’t really go outside without sliding around and because I’m totally preoccupied with about 100 other things,  I leave you with a most random list of things on my mind this Wednesday…

* I’m super excited that John Corbett is going to be on Parenthood, even if he’s playing a “bad” guy, even if he’s only going to be on for a few episodes. He was one of my first celebrity crushes thanks to Northern Exposure and he’ll always have my  heart, no matter his role. So bring it, Parenthood. I’m ready for some new John Corbett.

* There are still days even six months after I’ve been done with my Masters program that a) I miss it and b)I feel like I’m forgetting to do something.

* I have found the reading bug again. I forgot how addicting it can be, especially when you find new authors and characters to identify with. I may or may not have picked up more than one of Adriana Trigiani’s books at my favorite used book store on Saturday during Lisa’s visit.

* I am really, really sick of hearing about people’s illnesses and the weather. There are bigger issues out there people! Much. Bigger. Issues.

* On that note, if you are sick, don’t come to work, even if it is “just a cold.” You can still spread those! And the rest of us at the office do not want it.

* I can’t quite fathom that for the next five days (well, really four, Monday is mostly a travel day), I’ll be in warm weather. Like 70 degree warm weather. I don’t even know what to pack it’s been so long since I could think about warmth…

* The Crate & Barrel Best Buys Catalogue is danger. I repeat: danger! Do not open it. You’ll want every single thing in the catalogue if you are like me. I’m resisting the urge to buy adorable bowls, various pillows, and other assorted home decor items. But I really want to.

* I will be going to visit my brother in six weeks; I’m super excited to see him! Bonus: Knight is coming too, so I get to show him around my campus, get some much needed brother/sister time and pretend I’m 21 again for a night or two. (Probably just one night knowing me.)

* This might be my new favorite song (thanks to Lisa for introducing it to me this past weekend… I apparently need to listen to more Top 40 hits!)

20 Responses to “Icethensnowmaggedon, anyone?”

  1. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns February 2, 2011 at 6:25 am #

    It was weird for me to pack for my Tucson trip, too. I forgot what it was like to wear t-shirts! It’s fun to go through your closet & rediscover warm weather clothes! :)

    I am glad I could help introduce you to some top 40 music! Don’t forget to check out “The Script”. :)

  2. Maddy February 2, 2011 at 6:30 am #

    Every business seems to be closed in my neck of the woods except my office :o/ Go figure! And I’m obsessed with that song lately too. Except I like the radio version because the uncensored version has replaced “Loving You” with “F*cking You” and that just sounds way to vulgar for me!

  3. Erin February 2, 2011 at 6:34 am #

    Adriana Trigiani is one of my FAVORITE authors. Did you ever read “The Queen of the Big Time?” I really loved it! Also–I saw Lisa commented about “THE SCRIPT”—-AWESOME group!!! :) I downloaded their entire CD last spring and listened to it all summer. GOOD MUSIC there :)

    I hope this North American blizzard doesn’t incapacitate your plans too much! We’re off school again here today—which usually makes teachers (me) happy—but right now all I can see is my spring break days disappearing in April!

  4. AshleyD February 2, 2011 at 7:32 am #

    I know it’s completely ridiculous, but I’m a bit jealous of your snow days. It’s currently 6 degrees outside and I have no desire to get ready for work.

    I hope the weather clears up in time for you to make your flight tomorrow morning and I hope you have wonderful vacation!

  5. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair February 2, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    I am SO JEALOUS of the snow days. I know you’re like “Amber shut up, I don’t want to miss my flight” but I would LOVE a snow day. I don’t think I’ve EVER had one or even heard of one happening hear. I’ve had “too cold” days where it’s colder than -40 and everything closes though!

    I’m also very jealous you’re going to be in such warm weather soon and I’m crossing my fingers the trip goes off without a hitch!

  6. Margarita February 2, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    I’m almost jealous of your snow storm, is that carzy?

  7. Stephany February 2, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    You know, it would really suck if Florida suddenly had a cold front sweep through while you’re hear. Not to jinx you or anything… ;)

    (I say this out of jealousy that you will be IN MY STATE and I can’t see you. I’m pouting over here.)

  8. Habbala February 2, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    Cannot WAIT for Parenthood time!

  9. Meredith February 2, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    I’m so sick of the weather too. Even here in NC, it’s already icedthensnowed like 4 times which is unheard of for us. I’m relishing the 65 degree weather we’re having today – I wish it would last! And I’m tired of sickness too – especially from people who have the flu. If you didn’t get the shot, I don’t want to hear your whining!

  10. Stevie February 2, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    John Corbett’s role on Northern Exposure is his best ever. I own the whole series and have watched it a zillion times. Plus, it was filmed about an hour and a half from Seattle so I’ve been to “Cicely, Alaska” many times :-)

    I’m a bit jealous of all the snow everyone’s getting. It’s currently sunny and in the 50s here in Seattle. So weird. (Although, I’ll take the sunshine over the gray and rain any day!)

  11. Erin B. Inspired February 2, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    Yay Florida! :)

  12. Tabitha February 2, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

    Your random lists posts (and confessions, and open letters, etc) always make me wish we could hang out in real life. One of these days!!

  13. Becky February 2, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    Stay warm!

  14. ria February 2, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    i’m loving that song too! i’m going to be in florida in 2 short weeks. can.not.wait! enjoy!

    i was so mad when this lady came to taekwondo hacking up a lung. i tried to stay away from her but i ended up getting her cold. 5 days later and i’m still sniffling and coughing and now C has it :(

  15. Cait February 2, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    I can’t even imagine trying to pack for a trip someplace warm with all the snow/ice outside. I’d feel so confused.

    Also, I love that song. Every time I hear it on the radio in my car, I turn the volume way, way up. :)

  16. Megan February 3, 2011 at 7:47 am #

    I just love Parenthood!

    Has it really been six months since your Master’s program?! Time is flying!

  17. Jessica February 3, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    Hope you’re doing okay in StL’s ice storm. The dogs and I couldn’t make it out, the wind here was just that bad. Oh and that Crate & Barrel catalog is amazing. I could spend hundred’s of dollars in there.

  18. terra February 4, 2011 at 7:22 am #

    You are so right about the Crate & Barrel Best Buys Catalogue. Every time it comes I sit there and try to rationalize purchasing 50 cute things I don’t really need.

  19. katelin February 7, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    i love that enrique song, although i’m not a fan of the actual version, a little too dirty for my simple taste, haha.

    also, yay to the reading bug! if you ever need any recommendations i’ve got plenty.

  20. Sarah Benge February 7, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    I love love loveeeee your blog! Please give me any tips to make mine as popular as yours! I would much appreciate it! :)

Leave a Reply

