Beaches

9 Feb

**** Before I share my Florida trip, I have a shameless plug for Becky’s fabulous husband, Ben! He has entered a contest that could really help his career and get his artwork in front of the right people. In Ben’s words: “The winner gets flown out to pretty much the biggest comic book convention and introduced to all the bigwigs in the comic book, video game, and toy/statue industry which will jump start my career in comics and everything else!  I am so freakin’ excited about this it’s not even funny!  The voting ends on the 14th so it’s a very limited time in which to decide the winner so everything has to be a concentrated effort.  Thank you so much for the support.” So how can you help? Go to this link. Click on “Support Ben,” via the Facebook button. The website will email you when to vote; both views and votes count! *****

So, Florida.

Apart from the chaos that ensued before we actually got there (in a nutshell: Knight’s flight getting canceled, him having to juggle to get on my flights out of StL, dealing with a flat tire in the ghetto of STL, arriving at 1am) and the fact that we got no sleep the night before (hooray for 24 hour amazing breakfast places to kick off the trip), our first vacation was totally ah-mazing.

There was nothing but hugs, love, laughs, holding babies (hers, not mine… duh!), drinking, eating our way through North Florida, laughing some more, watching ridiculous reality TV (hello, Jersey Shore. Nice to meet you, finally. And I may be hooked.)

There was not lovely weather by any means but it was still warmer then this stupid midwest. Like by a lot. And it rained, warm rain. The good kind of rain, you know?

I wore flip-flops and short sleeved shirts. I slept in. I cuddled with Knight and my niece. I sat with my childhood BFF (she needs a nickname, seriously) and laughed, smiled and cried over the pictures and memories of us from the last five years. We hung with my niece and had good life chats. We sat in silence at times and it was more than ok.

I put my toes in the sand despite the insane fog that was covering the Jacksonville beaches. I had to talk to a cop in order to get into the bar since I was a dunce and left my license at home (it worked). I took shots to celebrate my childhood BFF’s birthday, the attainment of my Masters, and friendship and love in general.

Future trips were planned. Tears were shed when it was time to leave. Bonds were strengthened. Knight and I spent five days and six nights together; the most in a row since we’ve met one another and were left hungry for more.

My soul is rejuvenated (again). My heart is soaring (still). There is a smile plastered to my face (like usual). I’m in love with Florida all over again. I fell more in love with myself, with Knight, with life.

When was the last time you fell in love with yourself, your life, your loved ones all over again?

13 Responses to “Beaches”

  1. Lisa from Lisa's Yarns February 9, 2011 at 6:34 am #

    Looks and sounds like an amazing vacation! Hooray for 5 days/6 nights w/ Knight! And how wonderful that you parted ways wanting even more time together – that’s the best sign ever!

    Vacations usually tend to sort of renew me like this one did for you. That was def the case with my Tucson and STL trips! I think getting away from life for a bit is good for a person every now and then!

  2. jen February 9, 2011 at 7:35 am #

    seriously so happy you had such a wonderful time!!

  3. Nilsa @ SoMi Speaks February 9, 2011 at 8:52 am #

    You, my dear, look so healthy, happy, glow-y! You claim Florida does you well. I claim it doesn’t matter where you are, it’s Knight and BFFs and parents and the other amazing people in your life who make it all so darn good!!!

    Oh and when was the last time I myself, my life, my loved ones? Every night when Sweets, Gavin, SoMi and I hang out on the couch. We are constantly telling each other how lucky we are and how amazing it is that we have this incredible little kid. When you’ve got good people (and pets) in your life, it’s hard not to appreciate them!

  4. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair February 9, 2011 at 9:10 am #

    Awesome recap! I am so happy you had such a wonderful time!! I find that weekend getaways like that really rejuvenate me too, there’s something about getting away from everyday life that does it!

    And how great that you and Knight got to spend so much time together on the trip!!

    Love your pictures :)

  5. Meredith February 9, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    Pretty sure I’m turning green looking at your photos right now! Looks like you had a great time – yay!

  6. Manderz February 9, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    You are radiating happiness in all those pictures. So beautiful. It sounds like you had a wonderful trip and I hope the effects stay with you.

  7. Maddy February 9, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    Loving the pictures! And you and Knight look awfully cute together :) With the hustle and bustle of every day life it’s easy to forget how lucky we are to be alive! I think the last time I had that A-HA moment was over the holidays. It was a great time and to just be surrounded by family and loved ones made the feeling all the more better :)

  8. laurwilk February 9, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    Me? Jealous? NEVER!

    So glad you had so much fun. Everything about this post was awesome!

  9. Suburban Sweetheart February 9, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    Oh, Nora, this makes my heart happy. I felt this way just a few weeks ago, while I was in Israel – I can’t remember the last time I was quite so happy. <3 I'm so glad you had this experience to rejuvenate & refresh.

  10. Stephany February 9, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    I love this post so much! It just radiates with happiness and light. :) And 5 days, and 6 nights with Knight? AMAZING!

  11. mandy February 9, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

    You look positively beautiful and look so very happy. I’m so glad that you and the Knight were able to get away for warmth, some relaxation, and catching up with childhood BFFs. Times spent with loved ones like that is priceless (as is feeling rejuvenated!).

    I sort of fall in love with my loved ones and my life on a regular basis.

  12. Cait February 9, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    It sounds like you had an amazing time. I love when life gives us opportunities to really love ourselves and those around us. I’ve had moments like that over the past month, but in bits and pieces all over the place. It’s a really wonderful feeling. :)

  13. ria February 10, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    yay for such an awesome time even though it had a rough start!

Leave a Reply

