DIY Wreath

15 Dec

As I mentioned yesterday, Saturday was one of my favorite holiday kick-off events of the season: wreathmaking.

This is a continuing/adult education through our local Botanical Gardens and generally sells out in August. Yes, it’s that popular. Women who attend bring in huge bags or boxes of ribbon, ornaments and other accoutriments to decorate their wreaths beyond the ribbon, pine cones, holly and blue spruce that is provided to us. Some women wear the “traditional” ugly Christmas sweater or sweatshirt, or bedeck themselves in holiday colors. We decided to join in the fun with holiday garland. I present to you Exhibit A:

We even let our feet join in on the fun this year (Darling on left; me on right):

Christmas music plays in the background while we work like little elves at the North Pole while the two instructors peruse our work, offering suggestions or “oohing,” and “aahing,” over our progress. Exhibit B, messy workstation:

Each year I wind up redoing my entire wreath a minimum of three times which really is quite a pain once you have wound the wire the required six or seven times around one bundle of ten branches. And once I’m done I go back through and trim excess  sprigs that are sticking out and ruining the lovely wreath shape.

(The process, in case you care is attach wire to the wreath frame. Cut branches about 10 inches in length. Symmetry is rather important in this instance. Bundle approximately ten branches together. Five inches from the end [to your right, if you are right-handed], start wrapping the wire tightly around the branches and the wreath frame. Repeat until you have gone all the way around the wreath frame. Tie off the wire, again onto the wreath frame and proceed to decorate as you wish. It’s really not hard but symmetry, tight wire-wrapping and paying attention to the length of the branches is really important to having a lovely wreath.)

I tend to be minimalistic when it comes to my wreath decorations: one boy, a sprig or two of holy and a bit of the blue spruce. Others prefer pine cones, ornaments, large ribbons, glitter decor and more.

After two hours of demo and work, laughs and giggles, sap-laden hands, and polite chat with your classmates and instructor, you’ll come out with an almost Christmas card like photo (well, if my brother had been there it would have been perfect):

So who’s coming with me to the class next year? What’s your favorite holiday tradition or DIY holiday decoration?

24 Responses to “DIY Wreath”

  1. Megan/SomewhatVoluble December 15, 2009 at 8:00 am #

    That sounds like so much fun! I still don’t have a wreath this Christmas. We were going to make one, but we never got to it.

  2. Emily Jane December 15, 2009 at 8:37 am #

    I’ll come!! That sounds like so much fun! I’m just starting to build holiday traditions, but so far they include making huge batches of Hot Butter Rum batter, listening to old 70’s Christmas songs while decorating the tree, and watching Love Actually over and over again :)

  3. kilax December 15, 2009 at 8:40 am #

    Wow! The finished product is beautiful. That sounds like a lot of fun… but not something I would be good at doing! ;)

  4. mandy December 15, 2009 at 9:02 am #

    That sounds like a great time, although I am sure I would have numerous cuts on my hand both from the branches and wires. I would require much wrapping and rewrapping of the branches around the wreath frame I am sure. The holiday garland in your hair was a nice touch. I bet you could photoshop your brother into that last picture and I agree, it would be the perfect Christmas card photo.

  5. SoMi's Nilsa December 15, 2009 at 9:21 am #

    Reading this post reminds me, it’s probably time to throw out the pumpkin and gourds we’ve had in our kitchen since Halloween. Hmmm… hahaha.

    That class sounds like a blast. I wonder if our local botanical gardens does something similar???

  6. Jennifer December 15, 2009 at 9:42 am #

    How cute that your mom wore boots with her jeans tucked in. So stylish for a mom!

  7. Kyla Roma December 15, 2009 at 11:07 am #

    I’m in! I even bought a horrible Christmas sweater to embarrass my family with, it would be perfect for this!

    I love your DIY-ness and minimalist stylings, as ever!

  8. Amber from Girl with the Red Hair December 15, 2009 at 3:22 pm #

    That looks like such a fun family outing and you are too cute. LOVE yours and Darling’s boots!

  9. Margarita December 15, 2009 at 3:36 pm #

    I would love to do that, it looks like so much fun. I have never made my own wreath, lol. Anyway, LOVE your boots, they’re so cute.

    I’ve given you an award on my blog!
    http://www.fabbrunette.com/2009/12/its-like-christmas-came-early.html

  10. Amy --- Just A Titch December 15, 2009 at 4:10 pm #

    So cute and fun—what a great family tradition!

  11. Kasey at Thrifty Little Blog December 15, 2009 at 4:12 pm #

    What a fun tradition! I’ve got to get in on wreath making for next year!!

  12. Lisa D December 15, 2009 at 9:28 pm #

    I would come, but only to keep you company because I am the LEAST crafty person. Seriously. Ask my mom. She’ll tell you.

    Love the wreaths! And the family photo! What a fun tradition!

    I used to love baking cookies w/ my mom around the holidays – or, err, watching her bake them. And decorate them.

  13. AuburnKat December 15, 2009 at 9:49 pm #

    That looks like soo much fun! I remember growing up my mother would always make homemade wreaths..we still have them.

  14. Matt December 16, 2009 at 8:45 am #

    My favorite holiday tradition is drinking alcoholic eggnog while wrapping presents until I get too drunk to continue and I pass out.

    its great.

  15. andhari December 16, 2009 at 12:14 pm #

    How cute are your boots? Lovely!

    And the project sounds so fun!:)

  16. ria December 16, 2009 at 2:29 pm #

    looks like so much fun. i’m thinking about buying stuff to make a (fake) wreath for next year when the stuff is half off :)

    love your boots!

  17. Habbala December 16, 2009 at 2:47 pm #

    Looks like fun! And I love that first picture of you!

  18. Jessica December 16, 2009 at 9:50 pm #

    Oh my gosh that sounds like a lot of fun! I love your wreath and the picture of you at the top of the post is adorable!!

  19. tabithablogs December 16, 2009 at 11:52 pm #

    Oh my goodness. I don’t think I’ve ever actually seen a wreath that wasn’t fake. I looove that you got to make your own, and I think you did a fantastic job.

  20. brookem December 17, 2009 at 11:38 am #

    the wreaths are really wonderful and all but OHMYGOD where did you get your stellar boots?!

  21. Becky Travels December 18, 2009 at 2:05 am #

    I’m so impressed!

  22. barbetti December 19, 2009 at 5:50 pm #

    I am impressed! I’m hands-down the least crafty, creative person ever. I mess up on the simplest directions and end up throwing glitter everywhere and yelling, “DONE!” It’s really embarrassing.

    And I am digging your boots!

  23. E.P. December 21, 2009 at 12:12 am #

    Aww, so fun! I love that you and your parents get to partake in fun Christmas activities like this!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Holiday Week: Wreath Making « Walking with Nora - December 6, 2010

    […] I’m kicking off Holiday Week with a recap about the wreath making class that Darling, my dad, Gram and me attended last Thursday night. This year it was drastically different in terms of methodology though still just as fun. The usual way that we make the wreaths involves a wreath frame, lots of pine, and wire so that we can keep the pine on the frame. (See last year’s recap here). […]

Leave a comment